AreYaar thumbnail

I read an article that they are now going to regulate/censor online streaming platforms in India like Netflix, Prime etc.

So what shows will they make now with government deciding everything?

-----------------------------------------

Netflix, Amazon Prime, other OTT platforms now under government regulation

SPECIAL CORRESPONDENTNEW DELHI , NOVEMBER 11, 2020 12:11 ISTUPDATED: NOVEMBER 11, 2020 17:49 IST

The Centre has brought films, audiovisuals, news and current affairs content on online platforms under the domain of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. Representational Image

Currently, there is no law or autonomous body governing digital content

In a move that will have a far-reaching impact, the Union government has brought Over The Top (OTT) platforms, or video streaming service providers such as Netflix, Amazon Prime and others, under the ambit of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.

Currently, there is no law or autonomous body governing digital content. In a gazette notification issued on Wednesday and signed by President Ram Nath Kovind, online films, digital news and current affairs content now come under the purview of the I&B Ministry headed by Prakash Javadekar.

This will give the government control over OTT platforms, which were unregulated till now. From time to time, the government had indicated the necessity to monitor these platforms. In October 2019, the government had indicated that it will issue “negative” list of don’ts for the video streaming services like Netflix and Hotstar. It also wanted the platforms to come up with a self-regulatory body on the lines of the News Broadcasters Standard Authority.

Also read: Explained | How will the government regulate online news and OTT platforms?

Anticipating the government’s intervention, in January 2019, eight video streaming services had signed a self-regulatory code that laid down a set of guiding principles for content on these platforms.

The code adopted by the OTTs prohibited five types of content. This includes content that deliberately and maliciously disrespects the national emblem or national flag, any visual or story line that promotes child po*nography, any content that “maliciously” intends to outrage religious sentiments, content that “deliberately and maliciously” promotes or encourages terrorism and, lastly, any content that has been banned for exhibition or distribution by law or court.

The government had refused to support this code.

At present, the Press Council of India regulates the print media, the News Broadcasters Association (NBA) represents the news channels, the Advertising Standards Council of India regulates advertising, while the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) monitors films.

Edited by AreYaar - 5 years ago
spidie thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: naadanmasakalli

Oye teh kya hua am so freaking lost all of a sudden epi 24 ke end main despite gulaal suggesting ke hum dushyant or motha bha ko pehle bhej ke bhaag lenge Vasant denies and then in epi 25 ka first part he is asking dushyant whether you are happy with our Lagan and seems like lagan ho vhi gaya hain? Am so lost yeh beech ka kahaan gaya ?

What episode are you on? I will try sending link of 10 episodes at a time from there😆

I have missed some bits in the initial episodes as I did not know how to find missing ones. But from your description seems like you missed episode or two in between. Gulaals marriage to Durgesh gets called off, as Gulaal knows about his secret. Dushyant tries to indirectly tell motabha to get him married to Gulaal. Motabha tells Gulaals worried father that if he doesn’t mind can they get Vasant and Gulaal married. Dushyant is absolutely livid because he thought Motabha will talk about his rishta.

That is also the main reason for Durgeshs anger as Gulaal rejects him, his father comes to know about his truth and gets a heart attack.

Edited by spidie - 5 years ago
spidie thumbnail

Originally posted by: naadanmasakalli

Oh abhi I have no idea who durgesh is but I take your word.i am actually enjoying woh sudha ki saas too I like the way she sunaooes and.vents her frustration nikaalti hai but usme bhi class hai like the way she told gulaal to.leave now that they found the water leave i mean it was rude but ghatiya nahi tha and kaafi hadh tak her anger is justified sach hi toh hai ke unki koi importance hai.nahi and koi unki feelings ko.kqdar as such karta nahi hai

Lol I forgot to add, Durgesh is the one whose marriage was fixed to Gulaal from childhood. Gulaals mom misunderstands panditjis prediction where he says his first husband will die and with the second one she will have a relationship of a lifetime. She assumes Durgesh to be the first.

I actually lol a lot during Jamunas venting😆 Its most of the time truth , that is why the show is so classy that you understand where each of them are coming from. Even the villagers you see are not one dimensional, there are all sets of people, the extremely rigid ones, practical ones, etc😆 Aajkal to main characters mein bhi layers ya common sense nahi dikhate🤣

The only character so far that leaves me in a meh just leave zone is woh daijaan that's the one am.not.warming upto idk exactly why

Daijaan is kind of filler, but thinking wise she is more progressive than others😆 Jamuna ko to wohi sunati hai😆

spidie thumbnail

Originally posted by: AreYaar

LOL😆....no, you aren't reading too much....yes they had a bit of a vibe going for a bit, especially from Sudha's side....she was really neglected as a wife around that phase so she had started developing a very soft corner for her brother-in-law Dushyant.....even later, once Gulaal rejects Dushyant again, Dushyant hangs around Sudha for a bit drowning in depression and drugs....ultimately he manages to overcome all his issues and by the time post-leap happens, his relationship with Sudha is back to being just BIL and SIL😆......post leap Sudha is only obsessed with Talli - her character changes a lot after the leap compared to how she is pre-leap.

Lol there were so many scenes I felt that in future she might marry Dushyant. Sudha does feel a pull towards him, especially because of a douche of a husband😵 For Dushyant she is the only one he pours his heart out . Talli has entered the show😆 with the raas leela episodes going on😆 These are fun episodes finally a breather, but Revas issue is stretching on the side.

Gulaal- Dushyant scene was so unexpected, he really went to the lowest possible level, but you see how the turn around happens. That was such an intense scene too and they make it so believable. I cannot ever imagine that I could empathize with a character like him but again the strong writing followed by acting elevates it so much!!

spidie thumbnail

[QUOTE=

Yeah, they showed Shiv telling Krishna that he knows what will happen with this boon that he's giving him and Krishna's like yes I know but we all have to follow the course of destiny or something like that....so they both knew that this child will be a problem but they still had to move forward. Yeah, I read about what Saambh will ultimately do but remains to be seen how much in detail the makers show those sides of Saambh's kaands....the descriptions I read of what all Saambh does - sleeping with Krishna's wives and all....don't know if the show will go into that level of detail since right now they seem more interested in making this an RK related issue than Saambh being evil in general.....yahaan toh aur hi sidetrack chal raha hai with Saambh's resentment of RK's relationship.....lol....so they will likely weave his end around that only....how much do you want to bet ki marte marte RK will manage to forgive Saambh and give him "mukti" just like Krishna gives "mukti" to every asur in this storysmiley36

There is this joke, where it says Shiva being known as bholenath gives boon to everyone and Krishna has to take avataar to negate the impact of the boon😆 Eww.. I hope they don’t show that part of Sambh. Just stick to the rishi part😆 I am sure Krishna will forgive him saying it was the curse that made you do it or something 😆

Lol, he was not neglectful thats what Sambh thought he was. Krishna only tried to guide him and teach him some values, as he could see what others could not. They should stop expecting makers are going to go by the book, that is why there is a big disclaimer in the beginningsmiley36 I need to visit the forum now smiley36

You can't reason with people who take this story so literally....they already hate the Krishna being shown in this story cuz the makers aren't following the puraans literally....so now that has extended to why is Saambh not being shown like in the puraans blah blah....to me it's sad that all this pointless whining misses out the fact that the story is still trying to show a positive message about love. Instead people are fixated on stupid shit like show THIS evil thing that Saambh did in the puraan and how dare you show him talking about Radha and Krishna just cuz puraan mein nahin likhaa.....narrative ka basis hi nahin samajhna logon ko. smh

I read the comments in the forum😵 In the beginning I was not happy with the show either because I felt they are changing even the most basic facts. But the thing is they have kept the most important part intact, good over evil, looking inwards, etc. My point is why would you watch a show for 2 years, just to keep arguing about this is what is written in the book and then going all out giving names. You could just stop watching it🤔

The most hilarious was arguing about Karma🤣 Star will pay for it, show will end and no one will ever watch anything on it🤣 Arrey , the show lasted for 2 years is no mean feat, ab khatam bhi ho to it has outlived already, how is that karma🤣

As you said they are just taking everything literally, try understanding the essence of those holy books and that they have done in a beautiful manner! Technically RK never met after he leaves Vrindavan, so they should have known and stopped watching right then, instead if arguing about the same thing nonstop😆

naadanmasakalli thumbnail

LOL yes, that girl's name is Madhura Naik I think....she's literally popped up in every other show in the last 10 years....isko bahut regularly vamp ka role milta hi rehta hai.....Tumhari Paakhi mein bhi thi yeh and Ruksaar was there too😆

Ruksaar initially had a good role in that Dhoop Kinaare remake with Mohnish Behl too but that show fizzled out very quickly. I vaguely recall her being in that Mariam wala show 2-3 years back too....man, aajkal toh shows aate jaate bhi more quickly hain, kuch khaas yaad nahin rehta😆

Haan I remember woh Ayan kid of anshuman being her team-mate in paakhi and hatching plans with her to nikalo psalmist before he started liking her😆 ph8r she came in IPK too and I think yeh dMG main bhi aayi thi. At some point lol isi piye toh bola kahin bhi tapak padti thi and mostly to irritate

I read an article that they are now going to regulate/censor online streaming platforms in India like Netflix, Prime etc.

So what shows will they make now with government deciding everything?

-----------------------------------------

Netflix, Amazon Prime, other OTT platforms now under government regulation

SPECIAL CORRESPONDENTNEW DELHI , NOVEMBER 11, 2020 12:11 ISTUPDATED: NOVEMBER 11, 2020 17:49 IST

The Centre has brought films, audiovisuals, news and current affairs content on online platforms under the domain of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. Representational Image

Currently, there is no law or autonomous body governing digital content

In a move that will have a far-reaching impact, the Union government has brought Over The Top (OTT) platforms, or video streaming service providers such as Netflix, Amazon Prime and others, under the ambit of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.

Currently, there is no law or autonomous body governing digital content. In a gazette notification issued on Wednesday and signed by President Ram Nath Kovind, online films, digital news and current affairs content now come under the purview of the I&B Ministry headed by Prakash Javadekar.

This will give the government control over OTT platforms, which were unregulated till now. From time to time, the government had indicated the necessity to monitor these platforms. In October 2019, the government had indicated that it will issue “negative” list of don’ts for the video streaming services like Netflix and Hotstar. It also wanted the platforms to come up with a self-regulatory body on the lines of the News Broadcasters Standard Authority.

Also read: Explained | How will the government regulate online news and OTT platforms?

Anticipating the government’s intervention, in January 2019, eight video streaming services had signed a self-regulatory code that laid down a set of guiding principles for content on these platforms.

The code adopted by the OTTs prohibited five types of content. This includes content that deliberately and maliciously disrespects the national emblem or national flag, any visual or story line that promotes child po*nography, any content that “maliciously” intends to outrage religious sentiments, content that “deliberately and maliciously” promotes or encourages terrorism and, lastly, any content that has been banned for exhibition or distribution by law or court.

The government had refused to support this code.

At present, the Press Council of India regulates the print media, the News Broadcasters Association (NBA) represents the news channels, the Advertising Standards Council of India regulates advertising, while the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) monitors films.

I read that and I went 🤔 so much for our having creative freedom. Kaafi logon ko takleef thi that they were not making the same one dimensional saas bahu shows and her show main logon ko issue dikhte thay and by log I mean boycott brigade ab unhe shyad sukoon aa jaaye though Idk the content will definately go down now caz again so much they won't be able to show but at 5he same time I guess ab ek limit hogi on how much abuse and making out can be shown lol* i am looking at you ekta.and balaji.

Originally posted by: spidie

What episode are you on? I will try sending link of 10 episodes at a time from there😆

I have missed some bits in the initial episodes as I did not know how to find missing ones. But from your description seems like you missed episode or two in between. Gulaals marriage to Durgesh gets called off, as Gulaal knows about his secret. Dushyant tries to indirectly tell motabha to get him married to Gulaal. Motabha tells Gulaals worried father that if he doesn’t mind can they get Vasant and Gulaal married. Dushyant is absolutely livid because he thought Motabha will talk about his rishta.

That is also the main reason for Durgeshs anger as Gulaal rejects him, his father comes to know about his truth and gets a heart attack.

Thanks for the updates I later managed to find these from.the middle toh I caught up hehe now am on 33 or something gulaal apne maayke se waapis aa gayi hai and raat main.woh dushyant held her hand and said I love you and she went all huh

On the side gharwale are trying to get him fixed with woh durgesh ki behan.

Kesar was so adorbs in the shaadi and post shaadi phase tight wali jhappis dene ko mann karta hai abhi he learned to overcome his fear of darkness with the help of gulaal awww

Oh really ka issue is unclear to.me faz w9h part was missing so basically I know woh shaadi main her fiance tried to molest her and then idk do the gharwalas know? Caz later he tried calling reva and gulaal answered for her and said whatever he did he should be ashamed and he blamed reva but reva on the side seemed pretty chill and normal so I am confused

AreYaar thumbnail

Lol there were so many scenes I felt that in future she might marry Dushyant. Sudha does feel a pull towards him, especially because of a douche of a husband😵 For Dushyant she is the only one he pours his heart out . Talli has entered the show😆 with the raas leela episodes going on😆 These are fun episodes finally a breather, but Revas issue is stretching on the side.

Gulaal- Dushyant scene was so unexpected, he really went to the lowest possible level, but you see how the turn around happens. That was such an intense scene too and they make it so believable. I cannot ever imagine that I could empathize with a character like him but again the strong writing followed by acting elevates it so much!!

LOL yes, in any other cliched show, they might have gotten Sudha-Dushyant together....but Dushyant's arc was more compelling precisely because he didn't end up with Sudha. Good or Evil, it was only Gulaal he was besotted with.....he could never think of anyone else.

The scene you're mentioning with Dushyant finally going too far with Gulaal....that really was an epic one.....we all used to joke about Gulaal's God complex, but on the flip side, she really had this divine Goddess vibe to her.....the show wove it in subtly but the point was made nevertheless....there was "magic" in her ability to find water....and then moments like these when someone tried to assault her with evil intentions and she rebuffed him simply with the strength of her courage and honor....like she was too pure for Dushyant to touch and ultimately it was that moment of fierce divine energy from her that finally cowed down Dushyant into retreating from her. The other reason I always got this Goddess vibe from Gulaal was also cuz of the way Kesar worshipped her and literally put her on a pedestal in his life...they really built this aura of her character that impacted so many lives in different ways.

Dushyant's journey will now get very interesting after this point....you will see him overcoming his demons and looking for repentance....and the way Gulaal finally manages to make her peace with him is also nicely done...it's hard to imagine after this scene, right? But still they showed it so well.....and then ofcourse, in another twist of fate, it is this very amicability between Gulaal-Dushyant that will end up causing MUs between her and Kesar later too....lol I still marvel to this day that a character that started off doing so many horrible things played such an interesting part in Gulaal and Kesar's life in the long term. In many critical moments in the story, it is Dushyant who ends up being a catalyst for the way GK's relationship evolves.

Edited by AreYaar - 5 years ago
AreYaar thumbnail

I read the comments in the forum😵 In the beginning I was not happy with the show either because I felt they are changing even the most basic facts. But the thing is they have kept the most important part intact, good over evil, looking inwards, etc. My point is why would you watch a show for 2 years, just to keep arguing about this is what is written in the book and then going all out giving names. You could just stop watching it🤔

The most hilarious was arguing about Karma🤣 Star will pay for it, show will end and no one will ever watch anything on it🤣 Arrey , the show lasted for 2 years is no mean feat, ab khatam bhi ho to it has outlived already, how is that karma🤣

As you said they are just taking everything literally, try understanding the essence of those holy books and that they have done in a beautiful manner! Technically RK never met after he leaves Vrindavan, so they should have known and stopped watching right then, instead if arguing about the same thing nonstop😆

LOL I think it's worth noting that out of all the epics, RK's story is one of the most vague😆.....so there is a lot of room to fill up the gaps with storylines.....matlab all people know from the epics is that they were together in Vrindavan, did raas leela together and she fed him maakhan, then he left and went to Mathura and never came back......bas itna hi😆.....ab obviously agar show banaana hai toh they have to use their imaginations.

I think this needs to be looked at from the intent of a storyteller.....what is the intent of the writers here? The intent is to depict why did RK become such icons of love....why do they personify love in its purest form, how can they teach love to the world in these cynical times. So when you understand that basic point of the storytelling, then you can see that the show is still sticking to its parameters. This story is not about copy/pasting the 2-3 line story from the epics about two characters....the writers are attempting a spiritual interpretation of RK's journey and that does leave room for interpreting various attempts in their lives from a different lens.

When I initially started watching the show, I thought it would just be about their angst in trying to break the curse and then reunite in Golok....but I'm realizing now on a rewatch that the show always had room to expand beyond that since the basic premise is so elastic in a sense.....because the show chooses such a spiritual interpretation of love about a relationship that isn't restricted by any norms or timelines, they have much more room to play with....and that is what they are doing with weaving in Radha wherever they want to....lol cuz the point isn't about whether Radha should have been there in the MB phase or the Dwarka phase....the point they are trying to make is that RK's relationship was so transcendent and timeless that it could not have been restricted by a change of phase in Krishna's life.....cuz again, if the concept is that RK are the epitome of love, then who says that love can only be "valid" if they never met again after Barsana? It can be just as valid seeing them navigate a society and time which can't really recognize their relationship, but their love still flows with the same purity regardless.

Ofcourse they are adding in some TV masala, but the overall point remains that they are simply trying to show that RK ka love is ANANT as Krishna says😆....and if it really is endless and timeless, then who gets to decide where it should end? lol as for people crying about Karma.....lol that again makes me wonder if even an iota of Krishna's teachings penetrate people's minds....itna sab hone ke baad bhi, logon ki soch Ayan mode mein hi rehti hai....tuchhh😆. Yeah, I really don't get why they keep watching it if they are SO upset with it....lol it's funny hate watching in a sense😆