Do Makers Hate Abhira?
🏏ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2026: M25: WI vs NEP at Mumbai🏏
🏏ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2026: M 26: USA vs NAM at Chennai🏏
🏏India Women tour of Australia 2026: 1st T20I in Sydney🏏
✧ Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai || Episode Discussion Thread #2 ✧
🏏ICC Men's T20 WC 2026: Group C, M 29: ENG vs ITA at Kolkata 🏏
🏏ICC Men's T20 W C 2026: Group D, M 28: AFG vs UAE at Delhi🏏
Originally posted by: samiksha1993
Thank you so much for writing back to me Abhilasha.I always wait to read your feedback.❤️
Hey Samiksha,
I have read the story in batches, and iitsw brilliant. Love how its flowing and how each character is moving towards their destinies.Thank you so much. I am glad you enjoyed the story.😊😳One thing i didn't get was, when did shivay start liking anika and got so involved with her.
Originally posted by: Guesswhat
😃 Waiting 😛😛
Originally posted by: abhilashasharma
U know what Samiksha (I like your name, FYI, so I will call u by your full name only) It doesnt feel like we are moving to the end may be because, everytime we proceed, you give us a lot of background to each step we take, may be you had done that to avoid any gaps in the narration. COmpletely accept it and thats what kept me glued to the story - cant even afford to skip a single line 😛. So difficult to believe (atleast for me) that the story is going to end. Its like "Oh my God, it is ending?!" Not like "Thank God! Its ending!" But however it is, I totally enjoy reading.
P.S: Last week and this coming week, was and is busy, so you had/have one person less for pinging you for your update😆
Chapter 66The Anika and The SSO factors.
Priyanka and Anika were sitting in the Doctor's lobby with many others scrutinizing them. Anika's cerebral temperature was rising by the minute.
"Prinku your brother flips sides even more frequently than an omelet on a pan. Just ask your bhaiya never to come near me again. She muttered under her breath to Priyanka sniffing the air with much more sound than necessary. She hated attention and that was precisely what she was getting now. Queer looks from everyone, even the matron nurse, everyone had a question. Priyanka's cover too was blown.
"Teri to aish hai beta, ab roz ek kahani sunana, mere chachi ke betey ki naukri, mere devar ke bhai ka kaam, uska ghar, iski dukan. Style marne ko khud ka sattar manzila office kam par gaya tha.
"You will enjoy it a lot now, every day a new tale, my aunti's son needs a job. My brother inlaw's brother needs a favor, his house, her shop. Was his seventy storied office small for all his tantrums and style"
"Sattar nahi Anika didi bas sattais
"Not Seventy only twenty seven"
"Accha badi cuteness ki dukan jaisi feeling aa rahi hai?
"Don't act like a store full of cuteness with me."
Anika chided her, frustrated and deprived of any source of energy, she found it difficult to get up.
"I think no one is holding you now, you can get up Dr. Ajinkya, who had remained quiet all this while passed his unfriendly remark finally as the crowd around had thinned. There was a spite in his tone. He represented that society which had a lot to themselves yet they complained and could never see anyone else rise. They nursed a grudge against everyone. Anika chose to ignore his spiteful comment. Her life had taught her to choose her friends wisely, she did not even have a handful. Don't get her wrong here she was excessively friendly but she did not nurture friendships easily. If she chose friends with the wisdom she chose her enemies even more wisely. So she had learned to navigate her way through jibes, sarcasm and abuses with her head held high and mind detached.
"Priyanka I am going to get some water, I am thirsty. She was feeling frequent cramps now and knew that dehydration was setting in so water was mandatory. She needed to speak with the Resident Doctors Association also. The first few who had started this protest would be in her boat as well. Lack of sugar could cause brain damage and that was definitely not the ultimate end of this protest.
"Priyanka lets go. My shift is over and I am not going to work now until this issue is resolved. I am going to RDA. Priyanka walked out with her.
"Anika had been right the early birds to this protest were now having a hard time. They needed to quit working especially the surgeons. Resident doctors going on work strike would mean the entire hospital shutting down and chaos for patients.
"I think a few of us should carry on with our hunger strike and stop working while let others call the strike off. Dr. Anand one of the most gentle and calm doctors, an immunologist spoke.
"That sounds like a plan, Anika said while the others in the association went ahead with getting the memo printed and posted on the notice board.
"Priyanka you are not joining us. We need people functioning properly in the hospital also. She spoke softly to her.
"Actually none of the junior residents should join in. Another doctor spoke.
"I don't like it. Priyanka sulked while Anika pulled her aside,
"Look Prinku your brother is here and I know one thing very well that if you faint like I did today he will bring this hospital down single-handedly. Let's not make things more obvious. This made sense to Priyanka. Shivay could be a menace if something went wrong with Priyanka especially. Priyanka was his prettiest and dearest baby. Yes, Shivay was vain, as tacky as it sounds but that was him, he needed his food also to look better than taste better. He feasted with eyes. That was the reason his group had taken all sanitation drives very seriously and co-operated with the government to their maximum. A single tear in Priyanka's beautiful, huge eyes was enough to bring the great wall of Shivay Singh Oberoi down to his knees in seconds. Shivay was never shy in exhibiting his affection for the people he cared about, his actions were like a bolt of lightning, sparkly, bright, sporadic and visible to all. He was a man of very few words, though somehow Anika did make him talk a little more than normal. Anika's phone buzzed and it was Shivay calling.
"Tell him he is a devil.
"Ok, so I have to tell him he is a forever flipping omlete and a devil. You keep the adjectives coming Anika didi. I am recording them.
"Go eat something now and don't try to act cute with me. I am not going to dolly you around as your brothers do. Priyanka laughed at Anika imagining Shivay and Anika together made her ecstatic. She loved Shivay the most and knew how hard life had been for him. Probably Anika would be one of the sweetest things destiny was willing to accord Shivay.
"Boliye. She sounded contrite and Shivay chuckled.
"Speak"
"How are holding up doc?
"I am much better.
"Ate something already?
"No, I don't have a certain pest near me anymore so I am good. Shivay laughed out wholeheartedly. Her tone told him she actually meant what she said. She was all riled up and it entertained him to no limits.
"You are going without water also right?
"Hmm Her response was shorter. She had understood from the few interactions with Shivay that one could not ignore Shivay Singh Oberoi until he wanted to be ignored. The only way out of this loop was to make him bored of her. She knew she was different and had caught his interest like a new toy car that could crawl vertically on the wall. If the car could stop doing those antics this kid would lose interest in the car.
"Do you think you can sustain another day?
"I am far stronger than you give me credit Mr. Oberoi. Her tone was very formal and now Shivay was getting worked up.
"I give you a lot more credit, Doc than you assume I do. Anyways I was asking, not to humor you or patronize you, but to inform you that I have got an appointment with the secretary to the health minister for tomorrow early morning. I don't think we will get any concrete results without proper arm-twisting. So am looking into a proper plan to make the government step in. Will you be able to hold up at least until tomorrow evening Anika? You did not look good today.
"Mr. Oberoi Priyanaka is off the strike, actually all juniors are. You really don't need to do all this anymore. Only about fifteen senior residents are holding up right now, including me. There she went again trying to cut him off.
"I think I told you a little while ago you don't tell me what to do?...
"Kya hai, Mr. Oberoi aap ke mood ka kuch bahrosa to hai nahi. Aaj acche mood mein hai koi badi deal crack kari hogi, naya contract may be,
(The thing isMr. oberoi Today you are in a good mood, probably you have cracked a big deal, or a new contract may be.)
so you are feeling charitable but tomorrow you might be upset about my upbringing may be, maybe my class, maybe my appearance or maybe just the pathetic condition of the roads and your support would be gone as abruptly as it came. So don't give something that you will take back at your own sweet wish. We do accept charities because many need it but we don't accept humiliation. Had it been about me Mr. Oberoi I usually accept everything that comes my way without hesitation. Somethings teach me a lesson for a lifetime and others land me in a lifetime of debt or obligation. But, this is not about me this is about an entire fraternity of people. They have been wronged and they are capable enough to fight for themselves. They don't need to support their rightful demands on you and your generous efforts. It took a while for Shivay to absorb this, Anika, till now he had seen her pretty carefree and unassuming. He knew he had been very offhanded and whimsical in his dealings with her and he was determined to amend that. It looked like Anika had moved off limits now.
"Ho gaya? Ab pass on the phone to someone more sensible. Tumhara dimag aaj holiday pe hai.Chapter 67
The SSO style
The next morning Shivay met with the secretary to the health minister and gave him a properly prepared dossier, stating the lacunas of the administration and all the other government hospitals where the seventh pay commission was already implemented.
"Mr. Barara it is very embarrassing that the ministry has failed to give the doctors their rightful salary here in the hub of Indian Politics. Most of the other Medical colleges and centers here are done with implementing the 7th pay commission already. Such discrimination against your own leading medical school!
"Have you taken interest in this to get back to us, because of that restricted list?
Shivay couldn't stop himself from snickering at that idea.
"You really think a restriction on import can stop me from achieving what I want. You need to look into my profile better. Anyways just so that you know Priyanka Singh Oberoi a junior resident is the daughter of the Chairman of Oberoi Group of industries.
"Tej Singh Oberoi.
"The very same Tej Singh Oberoi.
"She is in this, institute!
"Why is it so surprising? It is one of the leading institutes of this country. I hope you understand our interest in this, is very very personal not at all professional. The media is lying low and not reporting it but if a single doctor their dies this will snowball, majorly. The opposition will be all over it. If you recall there was a time when a government was brought down because of student protest within eleven months. I don't think our premier would want student blood that too the life saver's blood on their hands. I would appreciate if we are able to take some action by today evening.
"It is a Sunday Mr. Oberoi.
"I have attached the medicals of the doctors that are fasting, three of them are in deteriorating condition. One of them is a woman, an orphan, and also is associated with one and only serious cancer research being conducted in India. He breathed twice before uttering his next sentence, "If you let her die fasting for her due salary, you hand a perfectly iced cake over to the opposition. Before you even think of using force of any kind in the premise. I always work on Sundays, make it work Mr. Barara.
"We will not be blackmailed. You are trying to threaten us.
"I am not trying to threaten you. I am trying to make you see reason. You make this crisis work for you or for the opposition is your choice. I would suggest do appraise the PM about this situation. The restricted list does not affect me. Let him know we will still complete the project in 29 months as I had promised and with sufficient cash to spare. I will wait for your call Shivay said rising up leaving behind a stunned Mr. Barara. Once out he took a deep breath and sent a prayer upwards to let Anika and everyone else involved, come out of this unscathed. His phone beeped again and it was a message from Bhavya.
Call me it is urgent.
"Yes, Bhavya. Thank you, for finding out about Anika, but is that all? I was not looking to find out about her childhood?
"I am sending you some pictures. These are frozen shots from the CCTV footage which I was able to get discreetly from court documents. The man with her is Samaksh Khurana. She had got an injunction (restraining order when a civil suit is already in progress) against Samaksh and Daksh Khurana last week. Samaksh Khurana has just completed his seven years of sentence in Rigorous Imprisonment for assaulting and attempt of rape of a minor. That case was in camera and I am unable to retrieve the names of the victims and the witnesses as none of the public documents, like judgments have their real names. All the other documents are in the custody of the court sealed. Once off the phone, Shivay looked at the pictures. He could not recognize Samaksh because he had never seen him before. The pictures infuriated him to no limits. The shots had Anika cornered to a wall and an imposing man with a long curly hair pointing his index finger at her as if threatening her. In the next shot she was alone huddled up to the wall, the last shot was even more hurting. She had fallen to the ground and was probably sobbing, her knees clutched to her chest. His heart went out to her. For a second he felt unparallel rage course through his mind. Om's face flashed in his thoughts. This was no comparison to how Om might have found Gauri. Shivay had known Anika for a very short time and there was no way he could bring himself to bear what he had seen in the pics. Her resilience, her commitment to the common welfare, her unconventional beauty, her chirpiness had all sucked him in. For the first time, he could connect with Om's instincts towards Gauri. He had been intentionally distant from Om since these past few weeks, and Om had endured his avoidance without a word. Shivay felt guilty, how could he ignore Om, whose only recourse was Shivay. He did what he did to keep someone special safe. He was always considered as soft and nave by all in his family. Probably he had wanted this special someone not to form that kind of opinion about him. He picked up his phone to call Om.
"Kahan hai tu? His voice trembled.
"Where are you?"
"Kya hua Shivay sab theek hai you look disturbed?
"What happened Shivay, is everything alright you look disturbed"
Om could feel his shakiness from so far away. Shivay had only uttered three words and he had picked up on his restlessness instantly. In retrospect, Shivay recalled Om had changed tremendously in the past year and a half. He had become far more responsible, far more assertive and far less volatile. It was his fault he never looked deeper into all these signs.
"Gauri Theek hai?
"Is Gauri alright?"
Shivay asked trying to keep calm. "Is she ready to go tomorrow for the Narco analysis or do we need to take time. Om was thrown off guard by his concern. The first thing that came to his mind was that Shivay must have learned about some threat to Gauri.
"Why are you asking like that? Did you learn about some threat to her?
"No, look Om I think we should take the next date for her. I don't think you should go alone. Wait for me to come back. Did Rudy talk to Saumya?
"He did not get back to me on that.
"Is Tia there?
"She came yesterday night. We had sargi in the morning.
"Mom, how did she react?
"She tried her best.
"Gauri is fasting?
"Something is wrong Shivay? Why are you asking about Gauri?
"What is so abnormal in it? I am the meddlesome fool who happens to be concerned about everyone back home. You people have started to find it tiring that is a different thing.
"Shivay! It is not so, you know it. I was just asking because you don't get along with Gauri.
"You don't get along with bade papa, does that mean you won't be concerned about him?
"Galti ho gayi papaji! I didn't expect it. That is all, I am not blaming you. I know you are upset that I had not taken you into confidence when all this was happening. Trust me Shivay I was too baffled myself. It all looked so unreal, so much was going on. I needed you the most at that time but could not call you, I was not sure if you would understand what was going on in my mind. I am so sorry.
"Om I am not upset with you or your decision. I understand, believe me, I do.
"You sound like you really do understand. Shivay I am getting this feeling that something is not so right, but I am sure you will set it right. There was no point in harping that same question, Shivay would only tell when he would be ready to.
"We need to keep an eye on Rudy. Saumya had his phone as a replacement.
"When?
"Till Friday. I have it now. I don't have anything against Saumya but I don't think her elder sister would agree to anything serious. I wouldn't want Rudy playing up with Saumya or for that matter with anyone else now.
"When are you coming Shivay?
"Tonite.
"You were about to come back tomorrow
"I don't want Tia to think in between lines.
"Any information on Saraswati Steels?
"Working on it.
"I have started working on the design. We got a fax from Scord. They have sent an update on the cost of establishing recharging stations. They look to be about five percent less than what they had previously quoted but still a lot more form Rudy's analysis.
"How much is the difference?
"About 35 percent. They are still stuck at older style recharging stations.
"We are not signing up with them Om. That is final. See you at night.
"Hmm I will speak to Ashu about Gauri.
"Yeah Bye.
Shivay felt a sense relief wash over him. These past few days the untold strain between Om and him had been choking him. Om was his respite, he was like that balm that soothed away his perpetually ruffled feathers. He could breathe freely thanks to Anika. Now he was all set to look into this brute that had the audacity to come near Anika. She did have a guard the other day then how did this happen. Shivay's mind was working at a very fast pace. He needed to know all about Anika. She is far too connected to be a stray orphan. Samar, Daksh, bade papa, Samaksh, possibly bade papa had answers to all the questions but he is keeping quiet. Every time he learned something about her he took a step back in solving this puzzle that Anika was.
Chapter 68
Resolutions and Complications
It was not even noon when he reached Hospital again. He called Priyanka, she was on rounds. He called The RDA president and asked her to let him know if she got any call from the health ministry. He called Anika but she did not answer it. Tried calling her again to no avail, he went to the main building of the hospital. In the heavily crowded entrance hall in one corner sat a bunch of doctors looking really tired. This was their third day of the fast. He cursed that person who invented this kind of self-annihilatory protest. He located Anika sitting at reception. She was busy reading something on her phone.
"Avoiding me, my dear?
"Dr. Harneet Singh usually is found in the pediatrics department, not here.
"Why are you so annoyed with me? He tried to hold her hand, her picture crumbled to the floor still fresh in his mind.
"Stop Mr. Oberoi. Pulling her hand away, she got down from that high wooden stool that she was perched on and thankfully came down to his level. A glance at his upturned and anxious face made Anika go weak. Her determination to ask him to maintain a respectable distance between them was forgotten. She herself wanted to reach out and wipe away that distraught look on his face. His eyes looked too gray and opaque, she was not sure but she felt like they had moisture in them.
"Are you alright? She asked concerned.
"You look sick. It is Ok if the meeting at the ministry did not go well. She tried to laugh but her voice cracked. She thought about him when she herself was in distress, not only this silly distress of strike but there were some things much deeper. He wished he knew and he could help. She walked towards the exit and he followed.
"Anika, why are you so riled up? She waited to respond till they were in a secluded spot. This was Anika's favorite spot. She had spent most of her initial years during MBBS studying in this spot. In the daytime, this place remained sunny and bright. Having nowhere to go during holidays, she mostly stayed back and spends her days here, chatting with her books.
"Riled Up?
"Miffed, irritated.
Anika laughed in understanding.
"No, I am not riled up. She had wanted to say that she did not have that kind of luxury where she could throw tantrums at someone. There was no one to whom her irritation would matter, but she kept it simple. Feeling her withdrawal, he reached out. She pulled back, it took a lot of strength on her part to compose herself but she had to do this. There was no other way.
"Mr. Oberoi, I actually wanted to talk to you. The deadpan look on her face told Shivay that something was bothering her, he wanted to listen to her but just then Bhavya called again.
"Bhavya can we talk later.
"Shivay I have to leave for an assignment to Maldives tonite. I was able to find the name of the victim of Samaksha Khurana's assault. Her name was Jalaja Chaturvedi. She lived in a vegetative state in the hospital where Anika and Priyanka are. She died just recently. Your Uncle and aunty used to visit the girl. I am trying to find out more about the girl. I am pretty sure there is no uncalled for relationship between your uncle Tej Singh Oberoi and Dr. Anika. I will let you know if I find out anything else.
Shivay looked behind him and saw Anika sitting on a rock nearby staring at the ground so he walked a little away from her.
"Bhavya there has to be more to it. Some kind of a case is still going on because without that a request for an injunction would not have been granted by the court.
"I know Shivay but that is in camera. Only the lawyers involved can reveal something here. Getting the lawyers to speak is not easy. I will be back in a week will look into it then.
"Thank you Bhavya. After disconnecting the call Shivay went back to where Anika was sitting.
"I am sorry it was important. What were you saying? I am listening now.
"Whose call was that?
"A friend. Shivay was alarmed at her question.
"Tia?
"No Bhavya.
"I had met her at that function, she is Assistant Director Enforcement Directorate, a cop. I remember.
"Hmm, she is the one. Shivay could sense something had gone terribly wrong. What could it be?
"I will try to be polite and please until I am done keep your hands to yourself. Sometimes you are kind to me, sometimes very cruel like when you had questioned my upbringing, knowing that I never had one. That was not cruel though. Sometimes you become so charitable at heart that you give me your number, and freedom to call you, but when I call, you show me my place very nicely. That was also not cruel. The only place that I cherish as mine because here I am known for who I am, not judged for my birth or my background. You know why? Because people who come to me are on death row. All they want is to live. You come here and try to flaunt your authority not only in general but on me too.
"Ani...Anika listen to me. He once again tried to grab her hand but she resisted furiously.
"I am not yet done. You come here and try to flaunt your greatness, wow Shivay Singh Oberoi cares for a poor orphan girl like, what?Who is this poor girl to him? In those few moments gone was the hard work of years and years. I am reduced to a toy fit for your entertainment.
"Anika meri baat suno."
"Anika stop and listen to me."
It's not what you are making it out to be A corpse would have rolled in its grave on this accusation. It was a mere Shivay Singh Oberoi.
"That was also not cruel Mr. Shivay Singh Oberoi. You go ahead and trail me using a senior police officer, pretty acceptable at least you followed the law, she was a female. Why did you do that? Oh! I was having an affair with your uncle. You showed me the mirror that I was trying to escape all this while. That was also not cruel. In case if you are wondering how I know it. Your speaker was on. You did not stop at this, you wanted to know about a victim of the crime as heinous as rape, what right did you have? Your uncle and I had put in years of effort to keep her identity secret so that she may die and rest in peace. You trashed our efforts mercilessly. That was cruel Mr. Oberoi. From now on you and I will never cross paths. Goodbye Mr. Oberoi Shivay was too stunned to utter a single word. He felt as if his heart was sinking
His phone buzzed, it was a call from Barara.
"Shivay Ji we have come up with a solution. We will be releasing the revised pay for the next three months but the arrears will time to release. There is a lot of paperwork to be done.
"Give the doctors an undertaking in writing that this issue will be permanently resolved in three months. Provide them with this month's revised salary check. He tried to speak with clarity but everything was blurred to him. He still followed her diminishing figure, sitting down on the rock where she sat, he closed his eyes in utter despair. Like Anika, he too never had the luxury to nurse his wounds, to let them heal. Most of them were still as raw as the day they were inflicted.
"It will be evening by the time that is done.
"I am here, will leave once it is done.