SS 52 Gain & Loss--A Menopausal Sosy - Page 87

To bequeath time

He was on calls mostly all morning, she worked for a couple hours until Sitaram called her on the intercom asking her to help her make modak
She had helped Amma out frequently so it wasnt a big deal for her, she went down to help after a shower,
she wore a Kanjeevaram in mango yellow with a parrot green border with gold parrot motifs all over.

She set everything up, after making a trip to Malai Mandir to get a clay Ganpati and flowers and garlands
Played hymns in the ground floor surround sound, which promptly brought Ranjan and R&B down

"I am not really sure how to do this, please dont laugh" she ordered

R&B, well... he just ogled... it was his day job, if he was in town... when he was done with his day job
She wore a ton of flowers in her hair.

"It doesnt feel like a Punjabi house any more puttar" Ranjan inhaled audibly  "I love the scent of jasmine"

"Umm well u are not alone" II mumbled
She knew of ONE MORE person that loved it

"Kulicheya?" she ordered hubby (did u take a shower)

He nodded...

He wore random clothes, never "dressing" up
He wore coffee colored cargos and a curling on the edges cotton tee from BR

"Veshti kattiko" she whispered

He half smiled

"really?" he asked helping her string jasmine around the wall by the idols
Ranjan sat in a corner looking up Ganpati pooja rituals "Iyer style"

The pandit looked at R&B curiously

"Ivara kalyanam pannindela?" (did u marry him?)

II nodded sheepishly

"UP karala, Punjabi ya?" (Up ites or Punjabis?) the pandit was curious

"Punjabi" Ii whispered

"Viswanatha Iyer ponna? Ooore pesithe Februrary la kalyanam, adu neenge daana?"
(Oh u are son and so's daughter? The whole Iyer community talked (oor means TOWN which was clearly an exaggeration on part of the pandit)
about ur wedding" the pandit swallowed as if he just saw a boa constrictor

II didnt respond, just handed him the "silver pooja stuff" Amma had given her during wedding

"College aa office aa?" (was it a college romance or office)

WHY DO U CARE?
MIND UR OWN BEEZ WAX MAMA (Iyer girls address any adult male as Mama)
NEITHER
BTW

"Paiyan jora irukan, pesuvaano?" (boy looks handsome, but does he talk?)

"No" said II smugly

"Hmmm" Pandit sighed

They were asked to sit down, R&B wasnt around... he returned in a veshti and a pearl dress button down shirt

Ranjan was quite taken aback

"Good good" he mumbled satisfied, as if his son had asked for his opinion

He himself wore a crimson kurta a pearl color chudidar in silk

He looked tall and aristocratic, like the millionaire that he was

They sat down for the mantras and chantings
It went on for an hour, the whole time the pandit assuming R&B cant speak

When it was time to accept the holy water, he gesticulated to cup his palm
"Just mine or hers too" R&B asked

The pandit dropped the spoon with a clatter in the silver tumbler
Staring at II, terrified "Pesarare?" (he talks?)

"Aama, neenga enna nenaichel?" ( what did u think) II chuckled mischievously

SERVES YOU RIGHT FOR BEING NOSY
DONT TELL MY AMMA BTW
SHE WILL KILL ME

R&B and Ranjan both reached into their pocket when it was time to pay, the pandit was over joyed.
The pandit asked R&B and II to obtain Ranjan's blessings.

Ii did her Iyer namaskaram, R&B bend down politely, and momentarily, his finger tips from his right hand grazed Ranjan's toes.
He felt a rustle, he pulled out what was a Rs.1000 bill thinking there were two, he handed the one to II, she reluctantly unfurled her closed hand.
There was only one... Ranjan looked around, the moment was precious... he couldnt let them get away
His darling adorable son stood inches away from him, their skin had touched for a fleeting second
Ranjan would pat both his pockets..
"Na betaji na..." he had whispered unable to bring himself to say anything else when his son bowed

Ranjan felt his left wrist, unlatched his 50 year old limited edition gold Rolex, and placed it on the back of his son's hand

R&B immediately took his hand down... as the cold metal touched him  "Umm... I dont think" he mumbled

"AREY!! NA NAHI KEHTE PUTTARJI" Ranjan gushed blowing air kisses...
II stood frozen, thinking it was all a dream
Ranjan held his son's right wrist turned his hand over, and placed it on R&B's palm and shut his fingers over it protectively.

What could Ranjan give R&B... he didn't want Ranjan's wealth...

Ranjan cleared his throat multiple times, stepping back from the altar.

The pandit... walked away with thousands for a hour long prayer ceremony.

Wonder how much Sam agreed to pay him, over and above

Sitaraman fed them on a banana leaf, took pictures of them at the shrine and while eating

"Iyer ponnu jaam jaam nu kondadina teriya vendaamo" (Iyer girl rocked it!!, people should know)

II smiled shyly  "My first Mama" she mumbled

"Kozhandaya?' (is it a baby?) Sitaraman asked as if he was clairvoyant

II blushed... nodded, shook her head... nodded... and said "Aduvum when it happens it will be the first" she somehow lied to get out of it

Ranjan and R&B exchanged a "lying comes so easily to her. What happened now?" look

"Padinaarum pethu peru vazhvu vazha porey" (May u have 16 and may you live the long great life) he blessed

II translated

Ranjan nodded choked up

"yes yes" he said hoarsely

They all ate with their fingers, Iyer style... Amma came  after she returned from school and II returned from work at 7
She went into work wearing the grand saree, ditching the flowers

Amma was very impressed when she offered her the traditional dal kheer

"DID U MAKE IT?" Amma's jaw dropped II began to nod but stopped as R&B walked out to the lounge carrying water bottles to take upstairs

"Umm... no ma, Sitaraman" II shared pictures from the morning

"She looks like an Iyer girl" Amma smiled overawed

R&B nodded, gently...

"Her father will be very happy" Amma was moved

"I bet he will be" R&B thought

Edited by Nisha0604 - 8 years ago
Hey Nisha looks like work is keeping you busyโค๏ธ.

And SoSy land had an unusual sighting - O- lots to read enjoy!

Sri enjoy your Icecreams and buy some silk and cotton wear? Any recommendations ladies? Send some fresh air to Singapore the forest fire continues to rage. Today we can feel the smoke in the air. ๐Ÿ˜ญ
Ranjan felt his left wrist,
unlatched his 50 year old
limited edition gold Rolex, and
placed it on the back of his son's
hand
R&B immediately took his hand
down... as the cold metal
touched him "Umm... I dont
think" he mumbled
"AREY!! NA NAHI KEHTE PUTTARJI"
Ranjan gushed blowing air
kisses...
II stood frozen, thinking it was
all a dream
Ranjan held his son's right wrist
turned his hand over, and
placed it on R&B's palm and
shut his fingers over it
protectively."

something to balance that news in page no. 8...
R&B, well... he just ogled... it
was his day job, if he was in
town... when he was done with
his day job

๐Ÿ˜Š
jasmine,mysore sandal,ponds,kajal,noserings,jhumkas,choora,flip flops,kanjeevaram,BR tees,cargos,...
everything is fgetting enough attention...๐Ÿ˜ณ
R&B in a veshti...tat is enuf
Our Dude in Vesti...
What can we ask for more...
Loving it โค๏ธ

Clients are around I can type only this much...Edited by putti77 - 8 years ago
Looks like you posted when I was typing out Nisha.

Sweet family scene. And loved II sari I ogled at her too ๐Ÿ˜‰
๐Ÿ‘
This II and her little lies. She's like a school going kid hiding her adventures from parents๐Ÿคฃ
I bet the naughty twin is going to be just like her!

To bequeath time
Such apt titles you come up with Nisha. There isn't a material thing in this world that Ranjan can give R&B which the latter lacks. However, that watch was somehow so symbolic to me. All Ranjan can actually give his son is time- time to process in the fact that father's love here is unconditional, time to probably realize that there are two sides to every coin and so will it be for the scandal, time to experience fatherhood himself and maybe understand his Dad a little, and most importantly, time to forgive if not forget. 

I wish there was a way for the scandal's truth to be revealed. At least they can really move on then and not just be in limbo.
But I'll be happy with lots and lots more romance and laughter before we get there, or if we get there.๐Ÿ˜‰
R&B wasnt around... he returned
in a veshti and a pearl dress
button down shirt"

this was for us to ogle ๐Ÿ˜ณ
and

"Just mine or hers too" R&B
asked
The pandit dropped the spoon
with a clatter in the silver
tumbler
Staring at II, terrified