Even today, the sanctum sanctorum (garbhagriha) is treated as the bedroom of the god (except for maybe in case of Shiv mandirs, I'm not sure of that).
Still feel that comparing temple with house or bedroom is absurd?
Bigg Boss 19: Daily Discussion Thread - 2nd Oct 2025
HEY JINDAGI 2.10
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai Oct 2, 2025 Episode Discussion Thread
Mannat Har Khushi Paane Ki: Episode Discussion Thread - 29
Gen 5 News article Mila
Bingo Blitz - The Ultimate Showdown (Sign-up)
SRK Enters Billionaire Club
Sonam Kapoor is in her family way ? (2nd baby)
Sunny Sanskari Ki Tulsi Kumari opens well!!
🏏India vs West Indies, 1st Test: N M Stadium, Ahmedabad🏏
🎉 New Fun Quizzes Are Live on India Forums! 🎉
Abhishek Seeks Legal Action On Salman Ash AI Generated Videos
The Manuscript Marauders Bingo Challenge Thread
Literary Looters 💰🤑 Book Bingo Discussions | October 2025 BTRC
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai Oct 3, 2025 Episode Discussion Thread
What do you folks think about this???
The Literary Looters 💰 | Book Talk Reading Challenge October 2025
To everyone disliking Amaal, Baseer, et al…
How saiyara became hit
Originally posted by: return_to_hades
Thanks for clearing that up Mister. K. So does it translate as literally too - house of God.
Originally posted by: return_to_hades
Can a devalaya be compared to a human abode?
Guess google was down...... 😆Originally posted by: return_to_hades
Thanks for clearing that up Mister. K. So does it translate as literally too - house of God. Can a devalaya be compared to a human abode and broken down into bedroom etc?
I'll accept your diplomatic answer of staying out of this too. 😆
Originally posted by: Mister.K.
well, houses are for humans, igloos are for eskimos and alayas are for gods. they are all residences in a way but who is residing where takes prominence.
not unless you are talking about my abode. 😊
^^ It was a rhetoric statement!.
I could write so many things ... but ... still would write "it is perhaps the freedom of anarchy practiced by some groups/individuals which drives souls into forbidding other souls to worship or express their respect/regard or fulfill their curiosity - on the basis of gender, background and religion ... somethings through force, sometimes through words".Originally posted by: return_to_hades
This is atrocious. I thought we were more civilized now and were done with old practices like barring lower castes, other religions and other races. The people who run that temple should be imprisoned for racial discrimination and then sued by Hindus for religious misrepresentation and defamation.
Religion and religious rites have always been closely tied with power and social status. Discrimination whether against women or minorities is mostly the result of one group asserting dominion over another and pushing them to a lesser status. It is also the result of organized religion at its worst establishing a very rigid power hierarchy. While many religions and sects have reformed such archaic and clearly discriminatory practices, some prevails in the garb of tradition.
Mosques do not allow women. Many Hindu temples do not allow women. There are still many Hindu rites and rituals that are forbidden for women and priests in certain sects refuse to interact with women. Even Buddhist monks keep women separated. Most religions have restrictions on female priests and preachers. It is unfortunate that we allow these practices to continue.
In a democratic country any institution that discriminates or bars people should be unconstitutional and shut down. One may argue that religion is private, but it is private for personal practice. Once it is publicly practiced it is opened up. A Wal-Mart or a mom and pop shop cannot legally bar any race, religion or group from shopping even though they are private establishments on private property.
On a positive note many religions and sects have reformed. Temples that were once forbidden to many people are open to everyone. Many subsects are open to female preachers, priests and religious heads. You could be anyone and most civilized practitioners will openly welcome you to share their beliefs and traditions.
Trump just declared India and Pakistan agree to a ceasefire. Do you think it will last?