Chapter 7 : Waves of Change
Neil entered the café and immediately noticed the handwritten board on the door:
Tonight’s Jam Session is cancelled. Sorry for the inconvenience caused.
He frowned and walked in, finding Alwyn behind the counter cleaning mugs.
“Hey, what’s with the board? Why’d you cancel the jam session?”

Alwyn looked up briefly. “I’m not keeping well. So I just… cancelled it.”
“Oh? That bad, huh?”
“Yeah,” he muttered, his voice tight.
But Neil could tell it wasn’t illness that kept him away. He’d seen that look before — the quiet slump of someone whose confidence had cracked. Ever since Bianca’s harsh words, Alwyn hadn’t been himself.
At the bar counter, his daughter Sarah sat staring at her untouched coffee. Alwyn noticed.
“Sarah, why haven’t you drank your coffee?”
“Because, Dad,” she said flatly, “you make terrible coffee. Uncle Neil makes it better.”
Neil chuckled. “Hey, hey, girl — respect.”

“What? It’s true!”
“Yeah, Pradhan,” Alwyn said with a dry laugh. “I don’t do anything right.”
He picked up the tray of coffee and walked into the kitchen without another word.

Neil sat down beside Sarah, resting his elbows on the counter. “You know, Sarah, I get that your hormones are changing since you’ve hit puberty…”

She frowned. “Puberty?”
“…but that doesn’t give you a license to mock your dad. You’ll regret it later.”
She crossed her arms. “Don’t be such a nag.”
“Oh, nag, huh?” Neil grinned. “You know, I only sound like this because I’ve grown a little wiser lately. I sound like a grown-up, not a nag.”
“Ah, grown-up,” she said, rolling her eyes.

“Don’t be crooked like your eyebrows.”
“What? I have crooked eyebrows?!” she gasped, running off toward the washroom to check.
Neil burst into laughter, shaking his head at her innocence. He stood, picked up the bits of trash on the counter, and took them outside.
When he emptied the bin, something caught his eye — a box of old cassettes near the back door. Alwyn was tossing them out. Neil picked one up carefully, brushing off the dust. They were still clean, still good.
He sighed quietly.
Has her words really hit him that hard?
The next day, Suvarna and Bianca are busy waiting for patients to show up
"Su, I really hope we get a patient today".
"Babe, we will now since you have given the coconut cakes am sure, by the next hour you will have a line of patients".
"I hope so".

After some few hours, the clock stuck 6 and Bianca is sitting in her cabin almost dozing off when suddenly she hears Suvarna's voice "Oh... welcome sir" when she welcomes a man who seemed like a patient to her.
"No thanks" and he heads straight inside the cabin and it turns out to be Neil.

"You still don't get it do you?"
"Why are you pestering me again?"
"You are pathetic, do you really think just by giving coconut cakes will solve the problem?"

"I don't know what happened?" she says and then adds in "Guess it didnt work out" when she notices his scoff knowing that the people really appreciate her giving the coconut cakes.

"Because you didnt do it from the heart, you must have just went by all reluctant and asked them to come-by like a bribe sort of cause I can picture it you must have done the same".

"So what?"
"Come with me?"
"Where?"
"You wouldn't let your office fail, wouldn't you?"
Neil brings her to the Uttan Zone Mantralaya and upon arriving there at the entrance of the gate she says "Seriously? Are you crazy why would you bring me here?"
"Ms.Dentist have you forgotten that you are resident here? And as a resident you should attend to neighbourhood meetings?"
"You know that...ah just forget it" when she was about to leave, Neil pulls her arm.
"So you will just keep avoiding people? if you can't undo the things that you said but at least do the bit of apologizing instead of avoiding people, when they are the ones that will come in need for your better stay in this place and run your clinic.Take charge for your mistakes and get to know your neighbors better".
"Anyways go in now, am busy
"Why aren't you coming in"
"I got some things to do, will catch up in some time".
She then stops him by this time she pulling his arm and says "Wait..", while still holding his arm she says "How can I go inside? when they are all yet strangers to me?" Neil notices the way she is yet holding on to him and smirks
"You want help? Say it then"
"Ofcourse not" and she removes her hand realizing it.
"Go get inside and if I see you still lottering around somewhere and not attending, I will hunt you down".
She again tries to grab his hand and he says "Do you need me by any chance?"
She says "No" but in her mind she knows she really requires his help.Bianca gatters herself and walks inside.
Inside the Mantralaya, the kids were busy colouring while Leon takes a stand and says "Did she really think that giving the coconut cakes were enough?"

"I really thought she was nice at first , but she thinks my supermarket is a banya store and too she calls Uttan a village".
"That's utter nonsense, Uttan and the people of the East Indian Community are the original inhabitants of the state she calls her hometown in her interviews".Grandma Savita says
Grandma Cynthia says" Our East Indian community does have a long history dating way back to 1323 AD, along with having a freedom fighter belonging to our community Kaka Baptista.But there she is barely covered, am sure our ancestors souls must be furious seeing her not covering herself."

Anjali then says "Yes go ahead Aunty Cynthia and how dare she look down upon us like that? specially upon Alwyn?"
"Yeah okay but don't rub it upon me always".
"Yeah, you why don't you keep your hands to yourself why do you always have to nudge people so hardly whenever you talk to them?" Rosy says reprimanding her

"I didnt do hardly?"
"You did, didnt she Alwyn?" Rosy says
"Oh Lord Jesus, why are you guys always getting into verbal argument?", Grandma Flossy says
Suddenly Bianca comes inside and she greets them
"Hello everyone"
"Huh?" Rosy then continues to say "Dr.D'mello! I didn't expect you would attend the neighborhood meeting."

"Dr.sorry our community's neighbourhood meeting aren't up to your standards!". Jessica says by taking a dig at her.
Alwyn feels embarrassed that she is here, Anjali asks him to shift, suddenly Neil comes in with some cartoons and says "Oh it's heavy move..move" asking Bianca to step away while he places the cartoon on the table."This really gave my back a toll".

"Oh what is it?" says Anjali being curious.
"Am sorry for being late, actually I went to get some snacks for today's meeting".

"Snacks?", Rosy says.
"All thanks to Dr.D'mello, she had asked me for my help".
"What?" everyone echos at the same time,

Bianca and Neil steal a glance and Neil continued and said "Actually she was a bit edgy because she just moved and everything was new for her and she was guilty for unknowingly hurting everyone's sentiments so she wanted to apologize and she asked me to organize for some food. Jessica, I brought these from your store a while back and have left the bill for the same."

"Oh really?" she queals and then Neil says "Ofcourse, everyone please take whatever you feel like to have..."
Rosy indicates Bianca to come and sit beside her.

Neil continues and he says "There is Chakli, Aloo Bhajiya, Lays packets, Diet Chewda, Jeera soda, soft drinks, water and for those who have bad teeth...Dr.D'mello asked me to get Prajakta kaki's homemade puran poli and pipping hot bajias and fugias which were just delivered by her son and I have paid the bill for the same.Manav why don't you get up and help me? Leon? You too help in boys..."
![]()
"Gosh its really is heavy" Manav says while carrying the box and he and Leon take it to their seating area to unpack the items.
Alwyn nods his head to himself knowing that she is having a change of heart.
Neil helps the boys and giving everyone their preferences and they start to munch on and drink their preffered beverages.

"She really did buy alot", Rosy says.
When the clock struck 8pm, Naveen dispersed everyone after having a good discussion with fellow residents on how to make their gaothan better, a better livelihood and he also gives them a reminder about the Sunday beach cleanup drive where he informed everyone to be on time and to get their own tools and supplies whatever necessary apart from the buckets which will be provided by the Brihanmumbai Municipal Cooperation and the beach clean up drive t-shirts will day be provided a day prior on Saturday and he also that they have to collect their T-shirts from Neil, and that they make sure they all arrive at 7am in the morning and also they shouldn't worry breakfast as that will be provided at the venue so that they can start off the beach clean up drive by 8am.But before they all disperse he says,

"Why don't we all give a round of applause to Dr.D'mello for providing us the snacks.".
Everyone claps and appreciates her for the same while she was trying to soak it all in.
After they all disperse, Bianca and Neil are walking down the street to their respective houses and Bianca walks up to Neil and she says "Hey Neil, thank you for today, I didn't expect you to care so much". then he comes right in front of her and he asks her to give him her hand and she was surprised "What?" and he makes an eye contact with her indicating to give her his hand "May I have your hand?"

and she gives him her hand and he hands over the bill and she then opens and sees the amount of the Jessica's supermarket bill total added with the items purchased via Prajakta's family business which rounds off as 2000Rs. "2000Rs?"
"Yes that's the amount of the items that I have purchased.You know how to Gpay it to me right?".

"Why should I do the billing when I didnt ask you do it for me?"
"Didn't you wanted my help?"
"But money related? Where the consent?"

"You should work upon how to say thanks "
"Neighbourhood meeting wasn't where I wanted myself to be in, and next time please don't invite me into these stuff.It's really not cool".

Neil walks off by telling her "Gpay me by mid-night okay?Bye".
"I gave you a warning".
He smirks while walking away "Then am guessed am warned".
Bianca stood there, shaking her head. “What the hell just happened?” she muttered, sighing.

“Never mind…”
She turned down the road toward her cottage, the night wind carrying the faint sound of Neil’s laughter behind her.
The next morning, Bianca was fast asleep, curled up beside Suvarna on the same bed—even though her little two-bedroom cottage had enough space for both. Suvarna had dozed off mid-conversation the previous night, and Bianca hadn’t bothered to wake her.
Meanwhile, down by the beach, the entire gaothan had gathered for the big Sunday event—the beach cleanup drive. The air was festive despite the mission. Paper cups clinked, snack boxes rustled, and the salty breeze carried the aroma of samosas and batata wadas freshly catered by Valencia Caterers, courtesy of Rosy’s husband, Naveen.
It was Naveen who had taken the lead—roping in the BMC, arranging neon vests, gloves, and garbage baskets for every volunteer. Even the grandmas had shown up, wrapped in their old worn-out lugras but proudly wearing the bright printed t-shirts Naveen had ordered the day before. They grabbed their snack boxes and refreshments before the work began, chatting and laughing like it was a picnic.
Leon stood nearby, munching from his snack box, while his wife Jessica swatted at his hand.

“I told you I shouldn’t have come,” he grumbled, looking at her round belly.

“Oh hush, Leon. I’m pregnant, not dying,” she said, shoving a samosa into his mouth before he could argue.
Rosy scanned the crowd and frowned. “Where’s Dr. Bianca? Don’t tell me she’s sleeping through this!”
Determined, she made her way through the narrow lanes to Bianca’s cottage. Inside, Bianca stirred as the doorbell rang, groaning and burying her face into the pillow.
“Whoever that is, Suvarna, please tell them to go away,” she mumbled.
But when the bell didn’t stop, Bianca sat up, half-dazed and made her way to the door.
Rosy stood at the doorstep, still in her cleanup tee, cheeks flushed from the walk.
“Bianca! Everyone’s down by the beach. Didn’t you hear about the drive?”
Bianca rubbed her eyes and offered a tired smile. “Rosy, I just shifted, and with setting up the clinic and the house, I really need this Sunday nap. I promise I’ll join every cleanup after this one.”
Rosy chuckled knowingly. “Alright, doctor. Rest while you can. Next time, no excuses.”
“Deal,” Bianca said, already halfway back to bed.
Barely ten minutes later, the bell rang again—this time louder, sharper, and persistent.
“Oh god, for heaven’s sake please let me sleep Ms.Rosy,” Bianca muttered, pulling the blanket over her head.
"It's Pradhan Pereira! girl, can't you make out the manly voice screaming?" Suvarna says while still in her sleep.
But the ringing continued, followed by Neil's booming voice.
“Dr. Bianca D’Mello, I know you’re inside! Open the door!”
Suvarna groaned and gave Bianca a shove. “Get up, or he’s not leaving.”
Bianca dragged herself to the door, rubbing her eyes, and opened it to find Pradhan Pereira standing there with a neon vest slung over his shoulder—and Neil beside him, arms crossed.

“You’re still sleeping?” Pereira asked, half scandalized.
Bianca coughed weakly. “Actually, I’m a little under the weather.”
Neil didn’t buy it. He pulled out his thermometer and held it up like a weapon.
“Let’s check, shall we?”
Beep.

“Perfectly normal,” he said, unimpressed. “You’ve got five minutes. Wear this.”
He thrust a beach cleanup t-shirt into her hands and walked off.
By the time Bianca arrived at the beach, everyone was already at work—collecting bottles, sorting trash, laughing between tasks. She stood awkwardly for a moment before taking a basket and working alone near the far end, her hair tied up in a messy bun and her expression pure resignation.

Neil eventually came over, pointing toward a patch near the rocks.
“That side’s worse. Come clean there.”
Bianca didn’t even look up. “Neil, please. Let me just clean my own side in peace.”
He grinned faintly. “Fine, doctor. Just don’t pretend to faint halfway through.”
She rolled her eyes but couldn’t help a tired smile.
The next morning, the clinic had its usual quiet hum. Bianca sat behind her desk, absently flipping through a magazine while Suvarna wiped the already spotless counter for the third time. Both of them had been waiting, hopeful, but the door hadn’t opened for two whole days.
Just as Bianca let out a sigh and leaned back, the door creaked open. A man in his thirties stepped in, adjusting his shirt collar nervously. Both Bianca and Suvarna looked up at once, startled and curious—half-expecting it to be a delivery man rather than an actual patient.

“Uh… good morning,” the man said, smiling politely. “I’m here for a check-up.”
Suvarna blinked before breaking into a wide grin. “Of course! Please, sit. I’ll get the form.”
As she handed him the registration sheet, she tried not to show how thrilled she was. “Full name?”
“Manav,” he replied while filling the form carefully. “Manav Sailesh Patil.”
Bianca stepped forward, her professional tone masking the excitement bubbling inside. “Alright, Mr. Patil, please come in.”

But before she could guide him to the examination room, the doorbell jingled again—two more people entered, an elderly woman and her teenage granddaughter. Suvarna and Bianca exchanged wide-eyed glances, both fighting the urge to squeal.
Within minutes, the empty waiting room had come to life. Bianca’s stethoscope was finally being used, and Suvarna was darting between files, forms, and smiles.
A few hours later, after his check-up, Manav stepped out looking visibly relieved. He pulled out his phone and dialed a number.
“Neil! You were right, yaar. She’s really good. Knows her job well—and her fees are so reasonable. Thanks for recommending her.”

On the other end, Neil’s voice sounded warm and easy. “Glad to hear that, Manav. I’ll see you around, then.” He hung up and looked up from behind the counter of Alwyn’s Café, where the aroma of freshly brewed coffee filled the air.
Just then, Alwyn walked in, brushing his hands on a towel. The café was empty—no customers yet.
“Sorry, Neil. Had to step out for a bit,” Alwyn said, sounding apologetic. “Didn’t mean to dump the café on you.”
Neil waved it off. “You’re the boss, Alwyn. Besides, you pay me to watch over the place, remember?”
Alwyn chuckled, shaking his head. “Some people might think I underpay you, especially since you never let me raise your fee. That really baffles me sometimes.”
Neil smiled faintly, pouring another shot of espresso. “I like it the way it is. Some things shouldn’t be changed.”
Alwyn leaned against the counter. “Then why not go fishing while it’s quiet?”

Neil shrugged. “Once I finish brewing this. Oh, by the way—on your laptop, there’s a file on the desktop.”
“What file?”
“Your second album,” Neil said without looking up. “I found the old cassettes you’d thrown in the storeroom. Transferred them. You don’t need a cassette player anymore.”
Alwyn froze, taken aback. “You… did that?”
Neil gave a small nod, still stirring milk into a cup. “Didn’t seem right to throw them away.”
Alwyn’s voice softened. “You care too much, Neil. But I’m done chasing music dreams. I can’t make it big now. I just want to run this café, support my daughter, and live quietly.”

Neil turned, meeting his eyes. “Alwyn—”
But Alwyn raised his hand, cutting him off. “No regrets. Life moves on. Now,” he smiled, “since you’re such a perfectionist, how about you teach me how to make a proper cup of coffee? I can’t keep running a café without learning to brew.”
Neil laughed. “Deal. But I’m warning you—I won’t go easy on you. I’ll treat you like a rookie.”
Alwyn chuckled. “Sounds good to me. I don’t even drink my own coffee anyway.”
The two burst into laughter, the sound mingling with the soft hiss of the coffee machine.
At the clinic, Suvarna was collecting payment from the last patient of the day, still smiling ear to ear. The waiting area had been packed, and now it finally stood empty except for a faint scent of antiseptic and eucalyptus oil.

“What a day,” Suvarna sighed, handing the cash box to Bianca.

Bianca laughed, brushing a stray hair off her forehead. “I know! And even though I was on my feet all day, I don’t feel tired at all. It’s the good kind of exhaustion.”
Suvarna squealed. “This is just the beginning, Doctor Madam! But how did we suddenly get so lucky, huh? Maybe it was my Instagram post! Or maybe those silly rumours about you finally died down.”
Bianca smiled faintly but didn’t respond. Deep down, she had a feeling there was another reason.
Later, while Suvarna tallied the accounts, Bianca sat in her cabin, lost thinking about what Neil had to said her couple a days ago."Life isn’t so fair for all of us. Some spend their whole lives trying to climb the ladder; some climb fast and fall down.” .Her eyes fell on the old cassette that Alwyn had given her the other day. She smiled, slid it into her portable player, and listened.

The music was raw but full of soul—nostalgic, comforting, like something that had been waiting to be heard again.
When the last song ended, Bianca stood up, grabbed her tote, and called out, “Suvarna, I might be late today. Start cutting the vegetables and keep the ingredients ready. I’ll come and finish the cooking when I’m back.”
Suvarna looked up. “Where are you going?”
“Just an errand,” Bianca said, already stepping out.
She walked down the narrow lane toward the main road, the sea breeze brushing against her face. As she passed Alwyn’s Café, she saw him stepping out for a smoke. He froze the moment he saw her, awkwardly trying to turn the other way.
“Alwyn!” she called out.
He turned reluctantly, exhaling a faint puff of smoke. “Doctor. Evening.”

“I listened to your album,” Bianca said and then she continued. “One song didn’t quite hit the mark though.”

Alwyn winced. “I knew you’d say that,” he sighed, half-smiling, half-embarrassed.

“But,” she added, tilting her head, “the other one—the slow one—it really connected with me. The lyrics… felt like they were written from the heart.”
Alwyn’s eyes softened, the tension melting away. “So you like the slow songs, huh?”
“Maybe that’s just my style,” she said with a small laugh.
As she adjusted her bag on her shoulder, she added, “By the way, do you know where Pradhan Pereira is?”
He raised an eyebrow. “You mean Neil?”
“Yeah.”
“He’s probably by the sea,” Alwyn replied. “That’s where he goes when he’s not brewing.”
Bianca nodded thoughtfully, thanked him, and walked off down the road as Alwyn watched her disappear toward the sound of the waves.
After Bianca left, Alwyn stood outside his café for a long minute, staring at the faint trail of smoke curling upward from his half-finished cigarette. Her words echoed in his mind — “The other song… it really connected to me.”
Something about the sincerity in her voice had stirred a part of him that he thought had long gone quiet. With a thoughtful sigh, he crushed the cigarette beneath his shoe and murmured to himself,
“Maybe it’s time to quit for good.”
He stepped back into the café, the doorbell giving its soft chime as he entered. The late evening light slanted through the glass window, turning the air golden. On impulse, he walked toward his laptop, clicked open the desktop folder Neil had created, and found the song Bianca had mentioned.
The familiar notes filled the quiet café. Alwyn leaned against the counter, eyes closed, letting the melody wash over him — a mix of nostalgia and something new, something hopeful.
By the sea, the tide was calm and the rocks glistened under the warm sunset glow. Bianca walked carefully along the uneven stones, her light heels clicking against the surface. The wind teased her hair, blowing a few strands across her face as she spotted Neil sitting higher up, near the edge, sketching something in a small notebook.
“Neil!” she called out.
No response. The waves drowned her voice. She tried again, louder this time. “Neil!”

He turned his head finally, squinting down at her. “Doctor? What are you doing here?”
“I had something to tell you,” she said, steadying herself against a rock.
He gestured for her to go on. “Then tell me!”
She smiled faintly. “The clinic had a good number of clients today. I think I have you to thank for that. And… I thought about what you said earlier. You weren’t completely right, but—”
Neil cupped a hand over his ear. “What?”
“I said you weren’t fully right but—”
“I can’t hear you from down there! Come up here.”

“I can’t!” she shouted back. “I’m wearing heels.”

Neil gave an exasperated grin. “Ahh, your heels again. Always causing trouble.”

He stood up, brushed the sand off his jeans, and climbed down toward her, extending a hand. “Come on. Give me your hand.”
Bianca hesitated for a moment, glancing at his outstretched palm. The waves crashed below them, and the air was filled with salt and the faint hum of cicadas. Slowly, she reached out — her fingers brushing his.
The instant she gripped his hand, he pulled her up with a firm tug. But her heel slipped against the wet rock, and she stumbled forward with a startled gasp. Neil instinctively caught her by the waist, steadying her before she could fall.
For a moment, neither of them spoke.
Their faces were close — closer than either had expected — and the sound of the sea seemed to fade into the background. Bianca’s breath hitched softly, her hand still gripping his arm for balance. Neil’s eyes, calm and steady as the tide, held hers without wavering.
It was a moment suspended in time — a quiet stillness between two people who didn’t yet realize how much they were beginning to mean to each other.
Your reaction
Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
5 Comments