Chapter 108
"Batrey Bhaiyaaa", came a cheerful voice as soon as Arnav came down the stairs.
And then he felt himself engulfed in a tight hug. He closes his eyes to regain control and not lash out on his cousin.
"Hey Dhruv", said Arnav as he gently pushes Dhruv away from him.
"How are you? Aur kia ker rahey ho?", asked Dhruv excitedly looking at Arnav with admiration.
"I am fine Dhruv, as usual busy with AR", said Arnav.
"Still that akdoo workaholic hain ... you really don't know the meaning of fun", said Dhruv waving his hand in air.
Before Arnav could reply, he was hugged again by Dhruv's little sister Manisha, fondly called as Minnie."
"Hello Bhaiyaa ...", said 13 year old Minnie.
"Hey", Arnav patted her back a little and move away feeling awkward.
Anjali sensing his brother's mood, came near, "Dhruv, Minnie ... come, I will show you your rooms. You guys fresh up ... lunch is ready".
Arnav move ahead and greeted Shalini Massi, who was same like her sister Manorma in nature but more fluent in English as she was living in Canada since her marriage. She has 2 children ... Dhruv (19 yrs) and Manisha (13 yrs). They come to India once every year and mostly stays here.
"My handsome boy, its so good to see you finally settling down", Shalini patted his shoulder.
Arnav smile in return.
"Now I can't wait to see our Bahu Mano, who had tame our angry boy and win his heart ... she must be someone special ... hain na Arnav", said Shalini giving him a teasing smile.
"Very truez Shalo ... Our Khussi bitya ijj a diamond you know", said Mamiji.
"Arey Where is Bhushan Bhaisab?", asked Mamaji as he notice the absence of Shalini's husband.
"He had some work to take care of Bhai ji, he will be here on day of wedding", said Shalini making a sad face, "I told him to leave it but he said its important".
"Its ok Massi, I am sure it was really some important work or else he would never miss bhai's wedding", said Akash with a smile.
"Bitya you also go and fresh up and then join us for lunch", said Nani, "Manorma .. go take her to guest room".
"Yes yes ... comez Shalo", said Mami as she lead her sister upstairs.
There are total 4 guest rooms in Shantivan. 1 was opposite to Nani's room, taken by Rajat and Rohan. 1 was beside Arnav's room which was now occupied by Dhruv and other was between Mami's and Akash's room in the right wing of upper floor, given to Shalini and Minnie. 1 other guest room was on the 2nd floor adjacent to the store room, its small in size as compare to others.
Arnav had gone back to his room, as the renovations were done.
----------------------- Same time @ Buaji's Home
What's my name?
what's my name?
My name is Sheila, Sheila ki Jawani
I am too sexy for you
Main tere haath na aani
NK danced on the bed in lady like manner to the tunes of the song.
Khushi and Arush were on floor, beside bed, dancing along with NK.
No no no no Sheila, Sheila ki Jawani
I am too sexy for you
Main tere haath na aani
"Nach meri Sheila Nach", said Khushi cheerily as NK sway his hips giving pouting looks and batting his eyelashes.
Khushi laughed looking at his antics and Arush was exclaiming loudly jumping beside his Mama.
It was half way into the song when the door of Khushi's room burst open and Garima entered with Payal behind her.
Garima came there to call NK for lunch, Payal tried to stop her as she knew that her sister is up to one of her crazy antics but she had never imagined seeing NK like this.
Both their eyes and mouth opened in shocked seeing the scene in front of them.
"Hey bhagwan", said Garima
"Ahhh ...", NK jumped seeing Garima and Payal and stumble down from the bed. He tried to balance himself but fall on his butt as his legs got entangle with the saree he had draped around himself.
"What is happening here?", asked Garima baffled. Payal couldn't help and started laughing looking at NK who was trying to adjust his shirt, which he had rolled up like a blouse.
Garima looked at green saree around his waist and pink saree draped over upper body which he had quickly taken out. Before she could catch the makeup on his face, he dashed into the washroom with jet speed.
Khushi was trying to suppress her giggles. Garima understood that it was all her doing, she quickly move to her and twisted her ear.
"Ah ahh amma", Khushi tried to push her mother's hand.
"Don't you feel ashamed doing all this? You're getting married in few days and here you're still doing all your stupid crazy antics", Garima scolded Khushi.
"Ahh Amma my ear", said Khushi whining and Garima left her ear, "It was his fault that he didn't come here on my birthday ... now he has to do whatever I ask him to do".
"Arey didn't he took you to dinner yesterday ... then why all this now?", asked Garima annoyingly.
"Amma relax", said Payal holding her mother's shoulder, "I will talk to her".
"Put some sense into her brain bitya ... I am warning you", said Garima pointing a finger to Khushi.
"I will lay the table, bring bitwa for lunch", said Garima, "And shut that shameless song", and stormed out of room in anger.
Khushi quickly move ahead and shut down the song, playing on her laptop. Payal and Khushi both look at each other, before Payal could open her mouth ... Arush exclaimed, "Chila ... Chila ji aani (ki jawani)", and they burst out laughing.
"Khushi ... seriously you will never change", said Payal as her laughter subside.
"If I change then how will you all get entertainment in your life", said Khushi cheekily.
"Pagli", said Payal as she smack Khushi's head lightly, "I wonder how Arnavji is going to cope up with your craziness".
"Don't worry Jiji ... I will make him just like me ... then there will be two crazy people", said Khushi, "Right Arush", Khushi raise her hand in high five gesture and Arush happily tap his hand on hers.
"Maama dancy dancy ...", Arush exclaimed tugging on Khushi's kurta.
"Lo he is too coming into your category", said Payal as she picked him up, "No dancy now ... come we will eat lunch first".
Payal went towards the door, "I am going to calm down Amman, you bring Nikhil, after cleaning up the mess here", as she went out of room.
Khushi quickly adjusted the bed and pillows. Just then washroom door open and NK peek out.
"Amma and jiji have gone back, you can come out now", said Khushi waving a hand at NK.
The door got closed and then opened after few seconds.
"Khushi, I swear if Payal Di make fun of me, I will not spare you", said NK as he dumped the sarees on bed. His face was clean and devoid of any trace of makeup.
"Arey Chill ... Amma won't let us say anything to her pyaree bitwa anyway", said Khushi as she typed something into her cell phone.
"Khushi ... don't you dare send any photo to Naina", said NK as he lunged forward to grab Khushi's cell.
Khushi quickly move away, "Arey I am not sending anything to Naina".
"Not even that Aashima and your gang Khushi", said NK as he again tried to take her cell and Khushi dash him away, "Arey I told you na, I am not sending your photo to any of our friends ... I am just saving it for myself.", said Khushi cheekily as she taps in to her cell phone.
NK pressed his lips in annoyance and folded hands over his front.
"Aww my gummy bear, relax na ... you did this for me right? ... so I need something to remember this day", said Khushi as she side hug NK.
"Arey stop sulking ... come Amma made your favourite cholley bhature, for her favorite bitwa", said Khushi and NK followed her towards dining room.
His mood got elevated when Garima warned both Payal and Khushi that no one will do any more stupid antics on him nor tease him or else she will punish them herself.
----------------------- Same time @ RM
"My exams went pretty well Mausa ji, I am hope full to get good marks. 2 years gone, now only 2 left of my bachelors", said Dhruv telling Mamaji about his final exams.
"Good good bitwa ... so what have you planned to do ahead?", asked Mamaji.
"I am thinking to apply for Harvard", Dhruv gave a quick answer and look at Arnav who also look at him with the mentioned of Harvard.
"Arey bhaisab don't get him started ... he wants to be like his Arnav bhaiya ... and follow his every footstep", said Shalini.
Arnav look over at Anjali who was giving him a warning look and then gesture towards Dhruv with her eyes.
"Ah that's nice Dhruv ... so you want to go into Business?", asked Arnav.
"Ofcourse batrey Bhaiya ... just like you that's my choose marketing for my bachelors... I want to be big and successful", said Dhruv excitedly.
"Its not an easy path Dhruv ... you have to be fully concentrated on your studies and instead of aiming for high marks you should aim for knowledge ... because in business and as well as in real life ... your knowledge helps you more than your marks", said Arnav in serious tone.
Dhruv was surprise that Arnav was saying all this to him. Not that he minds his words, not one bit, but because Arnav never indulge in conversation with him ... it was always him who had to coax Arnav into talking to him.
"Yes bhaiya ... I will make sure", said Dhruv with a genuine smile. Anjali smiles seeing his happy face and blink her eyes to Arnav.
"Arnav bitwa, if you can find time ... can you please help Dhruv about applying to Harvard and all the stuff", requested Shalini.
"Yes Massi I will ... huh ... just give me sometime", said Arnav.
"Massi, there are still 2 years left of his bachelors ... so don't worry about Harvard now.", said Akash and look at Dhruv, "First complete your bachelors with good grade ... then bhai will help with applying at Harvard".
"Akash is right ... first pass this hurdle then then think of another", said Mamaji and Dhruv nodded his head.
Just then Arnav's cell beeped, he picked his cell, lying beside his plate. He presses the green icon seeing Khushi's name.
There was a picture, blurred and a messaged attached to it.
"Look at my Sheila's sexy Jawani"
Who is Sheila? Why Khushi want to show him her sexiness?', thought Arnav with a frown
But next moment, his eyes widened in surprise as the picture got fully loaded and started playing ... it was a 6 second video. He saw NK dancing on bed, the song was playing ... Arnav's cell volume was not loud but he could hear the song.
Akash, who was sitting next to him, turned hearing song and before he could ask Arnav about it his mouth fell open seeing a rare sight.
Arnav pressed his lips but couldn't stop the laughter that bubbled inside him and his head fell back as he burst out laughing.
Everyone got quite around the table and look at him with shocked eyes ... seeing him laughing abundantly.
Spoon fell from the hands of Shalini ... Dhruv who had just taken a sip of water, his mouth opened like a fish and water dripped down. Hari Prakash had to hold on to the door of kitchen to stop himself from falling down ... he can't believe that his Arnav bhaiya is laughing.
Mamiji held onto Mamaji'a arm, "Bhat happened to Arnav bitwa?". Mamaji shakes her he in astonishment.
"Bhai ...", came Akash's astonished voice. Anjali, Rahul, Rajat and Rohan were also very shocked seeing him laugh like this. They had seen him smile, smirk and even chuckled ... but never saw a full fledge laugh coming from Arnav.
Arnav calm down after few seconds and look around the astounded faces of everyone and their stare on him. "Ah um sorry everyone", said Arnav as he tried to suppress his laughter, "Excuse me", he stood up from his chair and went towards stair messaging Khushi.
"Pinch me Minnie ... is that was really our bhaiya?", said Dhruv and Minnie who was sitting next to him, pinch his arms.
"Oww", said Dhruv, "It was not a dream ... Diii (Dhruv look at Anjali) was there something in his food?
Anjali shakes her head, thinking to check if Arnav is alright or the stress of wedding gone to his head. Rahul had a knowing smile on his face; he could guess that it was Khushi who had made him laugh. Akash look at him and understood the same. He smiles as he got back to his food, feeling happy for his arrogant and introvert brother. His life will surely be filled with happiness.
----------------------- In Evening -- Around 7.30
"One more", Khushi shouted as she slammed the tiny glass down on the surface.
"No more", said NK in stern tone, "You already have 4 shots".
"I want more ... more ... moooreee", said Khushi as she move her head with the beat of the music.
They had come to some club as Khushi wanted to dance and enjoy the music with some drinks. But instead of going for her usual cranberry mocktail, she had taken vodka shots ... making NK shocked.
"Khushi you never drank vodka before ... then why now?", asked NK.
"Because I want to get drunk, I am celebrating my bachelorhood ... after few days I will lose the title na", said Khushi as the vodka getting onto her head.
"I thought bride have bachelors night with all her girlfriends", said NK.
"Yes ... yes ... I am practicing for that ... my sweet gummy bear", said Khushi as she pinch his cheek a little hard.
"Owww", NK rubbed his cheek.
"I want to dance now ... nowww", said Khushi as she grabs his arm and pull him on to the dance floor.
Khushi pouted at NK, "I don't like this song ... there is no dhumka shumka in it".
"Hmm wait here", said NK and run up to the DJ, Khushi excitedly followed him and stood few feet away. NK said something to DJ and then pointed towards Khushi, who excitedly waved at the DJ, who smile back at Khushi and then showed a thumbs up sign to NK.
NK run back to Khushi and take her on the dance floor.
The music stopped and everybody stopped grooving. Many people looked around and at DJ, who spoke into the mike, "Hey guys there is special request of song dedicated to a beautiful girl here Khushi by her best friend"
"That's me ... me", shouted Khushi jumping up and down like a kid and NK chuckled seeing her excitement.
"So Khushi here you go darling", said DJ and he pressed few buttons.
Soon the music starts and Khushi exclaimed, "yeahhh Bhunduuu".
[Song "Tum hi ho Bhanduu" from movie "Cocktail"]
Yaara tere sadke
Ishq sikha
Main toh aayi jug tuj ke
Ishq sikha
Main toh yaara tere sadke
Ishq sikha
Main toh aayi jug tuj ke
Ishq sikha
NK and Khushi both started to dance, matching their steps. Few people cheered and few look at them as they have gone crazy.
Jab yaar kare parwaah meri
Mujhe kya parwaah iss duniya ki
Jug mujhpe lagaye pabandi
Main hoon hi nahi iss duniya ki
Tumhi din chadhey
Tumhi din dhaley
Tumhi ho bandhu
Sakha tumhi
Khushi and NK dance the steps from the original songs and added some of their own. They both were obviously to their surrounding and were just dancing. Some people started to dance with them and some made fun of them but NK and Khushi didn't pay any heed to it and just danced.
Tumhi din chadhey
Tumhi din dhaley
Tumhi ho bandhu
Sakha tumhi
NK twirl her back to him and held her both hands, shakings their hips on the beats together.
The way they were dancing close, many assumed them to be a couple and one of them was Rohan. Who was shocked to see Khushi dancing abundantly like that, with a guy who is not Arnav.
Coincidently he came to the same club to meet his very good friend, to discuss about saving his Dad's company. His ears picked the name Khushi' called by DJ and his eyes went to dance floor when he heard Khushi shouting "me ... me". And then next, he just stood there watching her dance with NK.
"Damn ... She is beautiful man", he heard his friend. Rohan look to his side and saw his friend looking at Khushi admiringly, "And dance so well too"
"She is engaged Vishal", said Rohan sternly in loud voice.
"You know her?", Vishal, his friend, asked.
Rohan nodded his head, "She is Arnav's fianc'"
"Arnav's?", Vishal frowned ... thinking, "Oh you mean that Arnav ... your sister's ...", he left the sentence incomplete seeing Rohan nod his head.
"Really? Then why she is dancing like this with that guy", asked Vishal. That's what Rohan was thinking too. Khushi doesn't seem to be a modern type girl to him or maybe he had assumed her to be a traditional one.
Does Arnav know about the guy?, thought Rohan
"Does she knows about you?", Vishal asked, seeing his serious expression. Vishal could feel that his friend is not liking the way that girl is dancing with that guy.
"Yeah she does", said Rohan
After 2-3 minutes the song got over and DJ played another party song. Khushi grabs NK's hand and move towards the bar, "I need another drink".
"Oh no ... you are not drinking any more", said NK.
"Why not ... I want one", said Khushi
"I will see you later ok", said Rohan to his friend and move in direction of Khushi.
"Not even one", said NK sternly, "We need to reach your home for dinner, do you want your Buaji to use her belan on you".
Khushi pouted at him and give him her puppy dog look.
"Oh no ...not even that will work", said NK and then look at the bar man, "Hey one lime water please".
"NK you're such a mood killer ... nothing will happen if I drink one or two more", said Khushi irritatingly.
"Yeah I know your one or two ... it usually gets to three or four", said NK tapping his fingers on the bar counter.
Before Khushi could retort they heard a voice, "Hey Khushi, its surprise seeing you here".
Khushi and NK both look to their side and saw Rohan standing there.
"Rohanji? Is that you?", asked Khushi squinting her eyes a bit, with on and off colorful lights of the club.
"Khushi you know him?", asked NK as he move closer to Khushi, his protective instincts on alert ... which didn't go un-notice by Rohan.
"Yes ... he is Rohanji", said Khushi pointing towards Rohan, "And this is NK ... my bestest friend", said Khushi side hugging NK, whose eyes were fixed on Rohan.
Seeing the questioning look in NK's eyes, Rohan said, "I am Arush's Mamu".
"What?", said NK as he look at Khushi and then back at Rohan back at Khushi, "That Rohan?".
Khushi bopped her head up and down. She hasn't talked much about Rohan with NK, just told him little bit when she came to Dehli with Arush on request of Anjali.
"Oh hi man", said NK as he extended his hand, "I am NK, um I mean Nikhil Khurrana ... my friends call me NK".
Rohan shakes his hand, surprise at knowing that Khushi has a guy as best friend. He had only seen her interacting with Aman, Akash and Rahul and she was not that close to them as she seems to be with NK.
"Here is you Lime water Sir", came Bartender's voice.
NK turned and grab the glass, "Here drink it up".
"No I won't ... I want shots", said Khushi stomping her foot.
"Khushi ... don't make me force this down your throat", said NK in scolding tone.
"He is not letting me drink shot, he thinks that I am little girl, who can't handle it", said Khushi looking at Rohan as if complain about NK to him.
"Yes ... you shouldn't drink much ... its not good", said Rohan ... he wanted to straight way mock her about it but the presence of NK stopped him.
He had this image of Khushi who is cultured, good and highly traditional girl ... and seeing her like this ... he wasn't happy.
"You too ... go I am katti ... I will not talk to you and you too", said Khushi pointing a finger to NK and then move ahead.
NK quickly stopped her, "Khushi ... drink this fast .. or else".
"Or else what?", said Khushi.
"Or else ... or else ... I will call ASR and will tell him that you are drunk ... do you want him to get angry?", said NK trying to threaten her.
"Acha ... let me help you with it", said Khushi and fish out her cell phone from her sleeveless jeans jacket's pocket and press the speed dial button.

(Khushi's dress)
NK look at her in bewilderment ... he was not at all expecting that Khushi will call up ASR.
"Arnavji ... I am drunk ... you don't mind do you?", said Khushi as soon as Arnav pick up the call.
"What? You're drunk? Where are you?", Arnav stood up quickly ... worry creeping inside him.
NK quickly took her cell phone and hear Arnav's voice, "Khushi dammit where are you?".
"uh Hi ASR ... its me NK", said NK trying to sound calm.
"NK? You are with Khushi? Is she drunk? What was she saying?", asked Arnav quickly as he stormed out of his room, ready to go out if needed.
"Hey ASR, relax man ... me and Khushi came here to club as madam wanted to dance", said NK giving stern look to Khushi who was giving him a teasing looks.
"Is she alright? Tell me the address ... I am coming there", said Arnav hurriedly.
"She is fine ... just a little bit drunk", said NK and told him about her demand of going to club, and her drinking vodka shots and how he was threatening her to drink lime water.
"I will take her to home right now ... anyways you both can't meet right ... so just chill .. I will take care of her ... I promise", said NK assuring Arnav.
"Ok ... give her the phone", said Arnav.
"Arnavjiii ... You tell NK na that you don't mind me getting drunk ... right ... right?", said Khushi.
"Khushi do what NK is saying ... drink the lime water and go home", said Arnav.
"You too ... I am katti with you too ... I am katii with everyone", said Khushi getting annoyed.
"Khushi ...", Arnav said her name in warning tone.
"I am not a child that you think of me to be... if you remember I showed it to you that night when we ...", Khushi was saying when NK quickly shut her mouth ... not wanting to spill in front of Rohan that she had met Arnav ... When they were not supposed to meet.
"Khushi ... I very well know that you are not a kid but a seductress", said Arnav softly and huskily, "Right now ... I want you to go home with NK ... don't tempt me to come there and carry you on my shoulder ... I don't care what our family will think".
"Haww you besharam", said Khushi and was about to retort when NK took her phone again as he doesn't want her to say any ahem something in front of Rohan ... who was still standing there ... astonished at the scene unfolding ... the ease with which NK talked to Arnav and now how Khushi talked to him ... it seems that Arnav know about NK and doesn't mind Khushi being with him ... it was a highly surprised thing for him ... as he knew how possessive Arnav is about Khushi.
"ASR I am taking her home ok ... I will call you when we reach there ... you don't worry ok", said NK.
"Ok NK ... let me know if my presence is needed", said Arnav ... he trust NK with Khushi because he had seen their bond and knows how much they care for each other.
NK cut the call and put her phone in his pant pocket and grabs Khushi's hand, "Khushi ... my sweetu ... my shona ... mera cutoo baby ... drink this please", NK try to make her agree to drink the lime water.
"I am not your baby ... I am Arnavji's baby", said Khushi.
NK's eyes widened and he look at Rohan who also seems to be shocked at her open statement.
"Ok meri maa ... you're Arnavji's baby ... darling ... fiance and soon-to-be wife ... everything ... now please drink or else what I will tell the world that my best friend doesn't care about me", said NK.
Khushi turn her head away and folded her hands over her front.
"If you drink this ... then I will do whatever you ask me to do", said NK trying the last trick ... which always work with Khushi.
"Really? Anything?", asked Khushi with devilish look.
"Yes anything", said NK quickly.
"Will you let me do your makeup?", asked Khushi.
"Yes meri ma ... you can do my make and I will wear whatever you want ... now drink this up", said NK.
"Yeah ... I will doll you up", said Khushi pinching his cheek lovingly and take the glass from NK ... who sighed in relief seeing her emptying the glass.
"Good girl", said NK, "Now let's go home".
"Yes yes ... home ... then I will doll you up", said Khushi as she move ahead supported by NK.
"Sorry dude ... I have to take her ... we will talk some other time", said NK looking at Rohan.
"Yeah ... sure", said Rohan as he watched NK hold Khushi close ... his arm around her waist.
Khushi rested her head on NK's shoulder as he takes her out of the club.
When Khushi didn't answer about Rohan's offer of being friends ... he thought that maybe she is not comfortable being friends like that ... apart from the reason regarding Arnav... and since the time he was here, he had only seen Khushi interacting with Akash and Rahul mostly. With Rahul she is like a sister and with Akash just a casual chit chat ... she only seems close with Arnav in his eyes. But now seeing her with NK ... he was feeling envious.
If she had no problem in being close friends with a guy then why she didn't agree on being friends with him?, thought Rohan feeling little jealous of NK.
------------------------------------------------------
"Thanks NK", said Arnav and cut his call. He shakes his head smiling; NK just told him that he had dropped Khushi at her home. As usual she slept in the car on way home, which was a good thing or else she would probably be getting a bad scolding from her parents and Buaji.
He remembers the last time when he had carried Khushi like that ... sleeping in his arms ... it was when they had returned from Khushi's birthday celebration. That night was indeed a memorable one for both of them.
Just as he made that night memorable for her ... she had done the same yesterday night.
The makeover of the penthouse, their dinner and special thing of that night was her seductive dance ... not to forget the stripping and her boldly intimate touches and kisses.
He had been cleaned bowled by her yesterday. She had been true to her words ... she had shocked him like never before. He had a hard time sleeping that night. Her touches still lingering on his body, his heart craving for her warmth ... he just wanted to hug her close and lay on bed for long hours.
"It feels really good to see you like this ... smiling", Anjali's voice came from behind.
Arnav turned and saw his sister standing at his room's door.
"Di? What happened? Everything alright? You need something?", asked Arnav hurriedly.
Anjali shakes her head at the series of his question, "That's what I was meaning to ask you since lunch time", said Anjali as she came inside, "What happened to you at lunch?", Her eyes expectant at him.
"Uhh Di, it was nothing ... just some joke by Khushi", said Arnav as he try not to remember NK's getup.
"Hmm ... I had the idea that it must have been Khushi ... her presence in your life is really making a huge change in you", said Anjali fondly.
"Yeah I know ... she is something", said Arnav as he look down on his laptop, on which he was working before receiving Khushi's call.
"But one thing is not seem to change", said Anjali frowning, "You and your laptop ... even now you're glued to it".
"Di ... you can't expect me to sit idle ... and I can't watch those stupid TV dramas or movies ... its my time pass ... like you have yours", said Arnav shrugging his shoulders.
"Chottey, you are such a bore", said Anjali, "Half the day you spent in office and then other half in this boring room ... why don't you go out with Akash or Aman".
Arnav look up at his sister who was giving him irritated looks ... just then Khushi's words about his room ring in his ears.
"Di, you too think that my room is boring?", asked Arnav looking at Anjali.
"Huh?", Anjali look at him surprised ... here what is she asking him and what he got out from her sentence.
"My room Di ... is it really boring", said Arnav as he stood up, "Khushi too said the same".
"ohh ...", Anjali now understood what is going in his mind.
"Well ... don't mind Chottey but yes Khushi is right ... your room is boring ... just look at no color except back, white and grey", said Anjali.
Arnav look at his recliner and was about to open his mouth when Anjali cut in, "Oh no ... don't count that in color ... such a dull color".
"Have you seen Akash's room? Different shades of blue and then green ... at least that is better than this", said Anjali.
When she had seen his room after the renovation, she was highly disappointed. She was expecting new wall paint and some changes in the room ... but only change she found was the walk-in closet and now closed pool side.
"So should I change it?", asked Arnav unsure.
"Well you can or you can let Khushi do it", said Anjali.
His mind conjured up the images of colorful penthouse and he quickly shakes his head, "No ... no Khushi".
Anjali give him a questioning look, "Why not?".
"Uh ... because ... um yeah I want to surprise her", said Arnav, "I will do the changes" then he thought for some time, "But what color should I go for? I don't want it blue ... it would be then same as Akash's".
Anjali thought for some seconds and then suggested, "Well you can go for warm colors ... like off white or cream color for walls, brown furniture, maroon curtains and orange vases etc".
Arnav look around his room, keeping the colors in mind ... yeah that can work, "Hmm alright Di, I will think on it".
"I can help you with it Chottey ... I will", Anjali was saying excitedly when Arnav cut her, "oh no Di ... you don't worry I will do it", as he pick up his cell.
He knows if he give this thing in his Di's hand it will surely become something else ... with girls mentality not sticking with one thing.
"Chottey ...", Anjali called his name seeing him going to pool side.
"Later Di, let me contact the interior decorators", said Arnav as he dials Mr. Ashok's number.
Anjali clicked her tongue and then said in loud voice, "Ok then come down for dinner after your call is over". With that she moves out of his room, feeling happy that her brother is indeed taking steps towards new life with new changes.
Next Day Sunday ---- KulDevi Puja Ritual - Around 11 am
Arnav climb down the stairs talking to Aman on phone, "So the cottage is ready?".
"Yes ASR, it is rented for 1 night and 1 day. I have passed on your instructions to the owner directly. He was happy that THE ASR is renting his place", said Aman teasingly.
"Shut up Aman ... if anything goes wrong ... you will not be spared", said Arnav in stern tone as he saw his family gathered around the dining table.
"You don't need to say it ASR, I very well know that if anything goes wrong regarding your work, it's my fault always ... you have said this 300 times already", said Aman making a face.
"Good, make it 301 today", said Arnav, "And listen ... I don't want anyone to know about it ok".
"Are you sure? Di won't be happy when she gets to know the sudden change in plan", said Aman and Arnav look up to found the said person already standing in front of him.
"Yeah I am sure ... I know the person who can handle the situation in my absence", said Arnav gesture Anjali to wait a minute as he on call.
But Anjali had enough of his ignorance today. She had been trying to make him agree to come with them to temple to attend the pooja but he was dodging his sister on the pretext of work. So Anjali quickly snatch the phone from his hand and put it against her ear.
"Ok ASR, as you say ... Is there anything else?", asked Aman.
"Yes Aman ... didn't I ask you to clear his schedule for next 2 weeks then what he is doing on his phone since the time he woke up?", said Anjali annoyed with both workaholic men.
"Di ... y..es yes you said and I did the same", said Aman.
"Di ... come on ... give it back", said Arnav as he extend his hand to take his cell phone, but Anjali move back.
"Yes but still you both won't behave ever ... will you? I am fed up with you two ... all the time busy with work, work and work", said Anjali sternly.
"Di ...", Arnav gave a warning look to his sister who didn't pay any heed to it.
Aman rolls his eyes, only if he can tell her what work her dear brother has.
"Aman don't call Arnav for the rest of the day ... anyway I will be keeping his phone with me", said Anjali and Arnav quickly move ahead to take his cell phone but Anjali quickly run away from there.
"And you suppose to go to farm house to check on the preparations", said Anjali hurriedly as she jogged to dinning area.
"Yes Di ... Lavanya told me ... I am just going to her place", said Aman.
"Ok then bye", Anjali quickly cut the call seeing Arnav angrily strode towards her, "What's this rubbish, give it back".
"Only if you come to temple with us", said Anjali.
"Di you know ... I don't like that stuff", said Arnav.
"That stuff is for your wedding Chottey", said Arnav sternly putting her hand on hips.
"Whatever Di ... just give me my phone back ... I have other work to take care of", said Arnav as he tried to take his cell but Anjali move her hand, holding his cell, behind her.
"What can be more important than your wedding Chottey?", said Anjali.
"My wedding is of utmost prirority now ... that's why I need my cell phone back", said Arnav irritatingly.
"Anjali bitya ... Chottey, why you two are arguing?", asked Nani looking at both siblings, she just came out of the kitchen with Hari Prakash behind her, carrying the 2 basket of fruits.
"Nani he is not coming to temple" ... "She isn't giving my cell phone back".
Both said at the same time.
Nani shakes her head, "Anjali bitya we should leave now, we will get late". Its no use saying anthing to Arnav because she knew he will never step foot in temple.
"Do you want to disappoint Khushi? She will be expecting you to come", Anjali tried the last trick.
"She won't", said Arnav folding his hand over his front, "Because she knows well that I don't like or believe in that stuff".
"Fine then, you're not getting your cell phone back", said Anjali angrily, "If you want it, come to temple and get it", saying that Anjali move away from there.
Arnav fisted his hand in anger, controlling not to burst. His Di knows that he never participates in any pooja except for one, held for their parents' barsi, then why she is coaxing him like this. Khushi didn't even once asked or told him to come to temple or participate in any pooja stuff related to their wedding ... because she knows his opinions about it. And he really appreciated it.
He felt a touch on his shoulder ... he look to side and found his Nani smiling at him.
"Don't be angry Chottey, she just want you to participate in everything related to your wedding", said Nani. Arnav nodded and then went towards his room.
"Hari Prakashiji, put the basket in the car and then get the sweet boxes as well", said Nani and move in direction of where Anjali went.
"Where are you going dad?", asked Rohan as he watched his father combing his hair, ready in his new and neat Kurta Pajama. Rohan had an idea where his father might be going but he wanted to confirm it.
"To the pooja or where else", replied Rajat as he wear perfume and sit on bed to wear his shoes.
"That pooja is for Arnav's wedding, with only family members and he does not consider us a family", said Rohan in anger, "Why do you want to insult yourself by going there?".
"You are forgetting that the pooja is for Khushi as well. And she had invited me to come.", said Rajat as he wears his shoes and stood up.
"Since the time Tania left this world, it's the first time that I am feeling of belonging to a place, to people", said Rajat his voice held admiration, "And Khushi made me feel this, with her behavior, kindness and the way she calls me as Arush's Nanu ... Not for once she showed dislike towards me of being Tania's father or showed uneasiness due to my presence around Arush. She make sure that I take part is family evening time ... the way she respects me and the way she talks to me .. that ... that I am not some stranger but a part of family ... her family.", Rajat's voice choked at the end.
Rohan look at his father in surprise at the way he is praising Khushi and his admiration towards her.
"I am fed of this loneliness beta ... this sadness glooming over our life. No one can take Tania's place, she will be in my heart and mind forever ... but she cannot come back in our life. And I think its high time that we stop living in past, holding on to things that cannot be changed and start living in present and think of future. I don't know how much time I have left ... but I do know that I want to spend my remaining life with my own people, with Arush. And I suggest you do the same Rohan", said Rajat as he move near Rohan and patted his shoulder, "You are young ... you have your whole life ahead ... try to focus on that rather on your hate for Arnav". Rajat left the room praying that his son pay heed to his advice.
Rohan stood there, thinking on his father's word about Khushi and then remembered her dancing with NK in that club, her closeness with Arnav and his family, her bond with Arush.
She can be friendly with everyone around, even his father , but she can't be friends with him, thought Rohan irritatingly.
He couldn't help but feel jealous of Arnav for getting everything ... success ... family ... son and now a girl like Khushi. Why can't he have all the things? He had success, his own hotel business, but no family or someone to call his own.
He sits on the bed and look around the empty room. He could hear the voices coming from living room. He felt lonely ... even living in the house of people who once was his sister's family and he consider them as his own as well at one time ... but everything changed after his sister's death. Only Anjali and Nani talks to him normally. Akash keep his distance from him, Rahul talk only when he addresses him, Mamaji and Mamiji don't interact much with him because they don't want Arnav to feel bad and Arnav ... he doesn't even spare him a glance now. And Arush ... he does play with him but still hesitate to be close to him.
He too wants to be a part of family, but he doesn't know how to do it when no one is ready to take a step towards him.
--------------------------------------------------------
Khushi look at her favorite deity, folded her hands as she closed her eyes and prayed silently, "Devi Maiya ... you know na how Arnavji is ... he doesn't believe in all this stuff. He is badly affected by his past's wrong doings. Please don't get angry on him. I will do his part too. I promise you one day he will stand before you with me like this ... with his belief return in you. Just give me and him some time. Please take care of him, keep him healthy, happy and successful. Take care of my Arush too ... make him a healthy growing boy. Make Arnavji come close to his son. Save them from every evil eye Devi Maiya ... I love them very much ... I won't be able to bare it something happen to any one of them"
Khushi opens her eyes and smile at her Devi Maiya. She turned and saw Anjali standing before her with a middle aged lady.
"Khushi ... meet my Massi Shalini Datta", said Anjali as Khushi came near them, "She is Mamiji's sister ... so me and Chottey call her massi too".
Khushi nodded her head and smile at Shalini as she bend and touch her feet.
"Arey don't ...", said Shalini as she make Khushi stand straight, "Jeeti Raho". She gives a once over to Khushi and look at Anjali, "Arnav's choice is very beautiful Anjali".
"Indeed it is Massi", said Anjali.
"Arey Di .. introduce us too ... we are waiting here", said Dhruv coming near to them with Minnie in tow.
"Haan baba", said Anjali shaking her head, "Khushi ... this is Dhruv, Massi's elder son".
"Hi batre bhaiya's to be wife", said Dhruv with a grin extending his hand.
"Hello", said Khushi politely as she shakes hand with Dhruv.
"And this is our Minnie ... her name is Manisha but we all call her Minnie", said Anjali.
"Hello Minnie", said Khushi as she shakes hand with an excited girl.
"you're beautiful", said Minnie little shyingly, "and you have long hair too ... just like princess's".
"Oh thank you sweety ... and you are no less then a princess too", said Khushi and Minnie give a shy smile.
"Khushi ...", her mother called, "Come beta ... sit now. Pooja is starting".
"Coming Amma", said Khushi and went to her mother, who was already sitting on the carpeted floor. Khushi introduces Shalini and her children to her family.
Khushi sit beside her mother on carpeted floor. Pandit was sitting opposite to her, with havan kund in between. Her Dadi, Buaji, Baba and Payal sat behind her. Arush was in Payal's lap. And her both Chacha and Chachis sit behind them with only Mehga present, rest of her cousins were in Hotel.
Nani, Mamaji, Mamiji, Shalini and Rajat were sitting to her left side. Anjali, Rahul, Akash, Dhruv and Minnie were sitting towards her right side.
Anjali look towards the entrance of Mandir with disappointment written all over her face. Rahul move his arm around her shoulder and squeeze it, "Don't be sad. Just be happy that he is getting married".
"Yeah Di ... just chill", said Dhruv from behind, "Bhaiya is getting married is in itself is a big miracle ... I still finding it hard to believe".
"Uffo Dhruv", Minnie smacked his arm, "Just stop it now ... why it's hard to believe ... I always knew one day he will find his princess and will live happily".
Anjali smile at her statement and look over at Khushi who had her hands folded and attention on the pandit, who was telling her something.
Yeah he finally got her princess, thought Anjali with a smile and folded her hands.
After sometime the pooja got over, they all stood up. Pandit went inside the room at corner of mandir to bring the holy water. Nani asked Akash to give Prasad to everyone.
Akash bend down to take the thal and froze on the same spot as his eyes look over at the entrance of the mandir.
"Akash what happened?", asked Payal who was standing beside him
"Bhai?", said Akash in disbelieving tone.
Payal look at the entrance and got surprised seeing Arnav, climbing the last step. Khushi told her that Arnav won't be coming today as he never goes to temple nor believe in this stuff.

"Batre Bhaiya", Dhruv hiccuped to see Arnav taking his sunglasses and shoes off. He couldn't believe his eyes. His cousin brother, who never bother to appear in family poojas or going to Mandir, is really here.
Raizadas turned and gasped with shock to see Arnav Singh Raizada coming inside the Mandir.
"Akash k papa", said Mami in shocked tone, grabbing his arm, "Is diis really ourz Arnav bitwa?".
Khushi and Anjali had their mouth opened as Arnav came near Khushi.
"Hi", said Arnav puting his sun glasses in coat's pocket.
"Hh hi iii...", Khushi stammered unsure if it really was Arnav standing before her ... she raise her hand and poke Arnav on his chest, with her finger. Arnav give her an amusing look, seeing her astonished expression.
Khushi's Dadi was not happy when she got to know that Arnav is not attending the pooja. She looks annoyingly at Arnav, why he had come now when the pooja is over and said the same to Buaji, standing next to her.
"Leave it Maji, Arnav bitwa is not fond of these things", said Buaji.
"Huh ... no surprise here. He doesn't respects elder and neither our traditions ... what sort of man Khushi has chosen", said Dadi.
Buaji look over to her brother and gesture towards her mother. Shashi shakes her head, gesturing that leave the matter as of now.
"Chottey ...", came Nani's astonished voice.
"Hello hi bye bye, Arnav bitwa ... are you feeling alright?", said Mami coming near, "First laughing and then comingz here in Mandir?".
"I promised to fulfill all the rituals Nani, right. You know I don't believe in this stuff ... so there was no use sitting in pooja when your heart is not into it. But I respect her beliefs (he looks at Khushi) so I will stand by Khushi to complete this ritual", said Arnav casually surprising everyone more.
"I don't want anyone to remark later that I haven't participate in this or that ritual", his eyes went to Khushi's Dadi and her both Chachas and Chachis.
Arnav was saved from answering more questions by Pandit who just came there, with a small pot of holy water.
"He is my to-be husband", said Khushi pointing towards Arnav.
Pandit extends the spoon of water, expecting Arnav to extend his hands. Arnav looks questioningly at the spoon and then at Pandit.
"Bring your hands forward beta", said Pandit.
Arnav brought one hand forward. Khushi quickly took his other hand and place it above the first one. Her other hand on his arm.

Pandit pours the water on his hand and then pours on Khushi's hand.
Arnav look at Khushi and followed her movements and drink the water from his palm and run his hand over his head.

Nani, Buaji, Garima and Shashi smiles seeing the scene. Anjali and Rahul look at each other, there was a big smile on Anjali's face. Akash and Dhruv were still astonished, seeing Arnav here in Mandir.
"So ... we have to pray at the end of pooja right?", said Arnav and Khushi just nods her head dazedly.
Arnav look at her for a second and then turn towards Devi Maiya and folded his hands.
Khushi mouth opened second time today; she couldn't believe her eyes.
"What? Come on pray now ... don't you want to complete this ritual?", said Arnav raising an eyebrow at Khushi
Khushi quickly turn to Devi Maiya and folded her hands, Arnav look at her smiling face and then smile too and close his eyes, "You know too that I don't believe in you but Khushi does, so for her, I will pray that just fulfill her every wish", prayed Arnav silently.

"Hey Devi Maiya, I just said today that one day Arnavji will stand by side before you and see the miracle ... he is here", said Khushi in her heart and look towards Arnav, whose eyes were close and face serious.
Khushi then look at Devi Maiya and smile wide, "Don't be too happy ok ... he is here for me.", Khushi close her eyes and pray, "Please keep Arnavji happy, healthy and prosperous always".
Both Khushi and Arnav open their eyes at the same time and look at each other with smile on their faces.
"Done?", asked Arnav and Khushi nodded.
"Come", said Arnav as he takes her hand and went to entrance of Mandir.
"Arnavji, what are you doing?", said Khushi and look back at their family. The Raizadas were smiling ... her Dadi was not happy. Her Buaji and parents were looking at them curiously and her sister had a teasing smile on her face.
"I just want some minutes with you", said Arnav as they both climb down the stairs.
"Arnavji ... Naniji, Buaji, Amma what they will say?", said Khushi worriedly.
"They won't say anything Khushi because they know we have only few minutes to talk ... they will be coming down soon", said Arnav and stop at the last step.
They both stood there, looking at each other ... getting their fill. Their one hand was clasped together.
"4 and half day more", said Arnav as he tugs her close.
"Then we will be together forever", said Khushi.
TO BE CONTINUED -------------------------------
Do leave your comments/reviews and likes about this chapter. 😳
I haven't included Mehndi Teaser Scene here, as while writing and googling i realize that there is a Kul Devi Pooja ritual too, so have to add that here.
Next chapter -- > Arshi's Mehndi and Sangeet
Extra Characters, Arshi's cousins and relatives, are till the wedding only.
Your reaction
Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
219 Comments