Chapter 8
Part-8
Sanyukta...he shouted running towards the kitchen...but she could not listen...
He immediately jumped and pulled her into his arms and jumped out of kitchen falling on the ground in the hall but in the meantime she lit the match stick...and the explosion occurred...sending flames even out of kitchen in the hall...and they were not lucky enough to be safe...
Randhir slowly opened his eyes and found Sanyukta unconscious in his arms with her face digged on his chest...he slowly picked her face and his eyes widened with shock...
The explosion was quite strong to burn the kitchen to ashes... A shiver passed through his spine thinking what if he would not have pulled her in time, she would have been a part of ashes... Thinking, he hugged he rtight...no Sanyu, nothing can happen to you, till I am alive...
Within few seconds, building people had reached as well as firebrigade...as flames could be seen out of building...ambulance was called and Randhir and unconscious Sanyukta were taken to hospital...
Sanyukta was taken to ICU immediately while Randhir was given first aid as his burns were quite less as compared to Sanyukta.
Anyone from Sanyukta Aggarwal's family? Nurse came there and asked...
I...I don't know anyone... Randhir thought to himself and should I inform Kaustu and yoyo or should I wait?
Its...its me...he spoke slowly...
Ok...nurse came to him, please sign these documents...she forwarded her hand...
Randhir held with shaking hands... is she fine sister?
Looks so, but burns are quite deep... let's see... she replied, meanwhile Randhir signed documents...
Your relation with the patient? She looked at him suspiciously...only family members can sign, not friends...
Hus...husband...he spoke hesitatingly... I am her husband...
Ok...saying nurse went from there...
Tears rolled over Randhir's face remembering Sanyukta in his arms... her face was completely wounded with burns... her hands and a lot hair from her head had burnt...tears rolled over his face then he checked himself...his own arms were burnt...which have been dressed now, a few bruises on his face...
Why God? Why with her? He whispered...you could give me that much pain but not to her...she is such a pure soul... How will she take it?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kaustuki had called him again but he replied a bit saying he is out and Sanyukta is fine, he had reached in time he didn't want them to disturb...but was unsure even will he be able to hide the truth?
Two hours passed like this and he was sitting like a statue in front of ICU just waiting for doctor to give him one hope...
Mr. Randhir... Doctor tapped his shoulder...
Doctor, how is she? She is fine na? He stood up immediately...
She is fine, conscious now... Doctor sighed...but...
But? He looked at doctor with questioning eyes...
We need to talk, come to my cabin...saying doctor left while Randhir followed him...
Yes Doctor... Randhir asked sitting in front of doctor in his cabin...
Mr. Randhir, I can see, your wife must be a beautiful woman before this accident...he sighed...but now it may not be same... Forever...
Randhir looked at him in shock...
The fire has burnt her face's skin quite badly in patches, her arms as well as her hair...the wounds are not so deep, and those will heal in few days...but the burnt skin... It may not grow again...and her hair...which are burnt from scalp will not grow ever...Doctor sighed...
For a second, Randhir's ground slipped under his feet...but he composed of himself...
Any...solution...any solution doctor? Here or somewhere else? Anywhere in world...
Ya, plastic surgery... its one solution...Doctor replied...but that too cannot be done till the internal wound are healed...
But till when that can be done doctor? Randhir got a little hope...
May be after fifteen days or so...once wound are healed, then we may go for plastic surgery... and it may take months to reconstruction of the face... but even after that surgery a bit scars will be left on face forever...
Doesn't matter doctor, but she must be completely fine...now may I see her? If possible... Randhir sighed...
Ya sure Mr. Randhir, she has been shifted to room number 211...but one more suggestion...at this time, her face is completely covered with dressing as its not in the condition to watch...so you will have to be strong... Strong enough for yourself and as well as for her to support her...emotionally...
Of course doctor...thanks...saying Randhir left from there to room...
He slowly went inside and tear rolled over his face...Sanyukta was laying on the bed with number of bandages on her face ...as well as her hand covered with bandages...
Randhir slowly moved closer and whispered with smile ... Sanyukta...
Randhir...she looked towards him...thanks...for saving me...
Randhir just smiled...is it hurting?
No...not so much just feeling irritated with these bandages...is my face badly burnt?
No, who said so? Randhir spoke looking into her eyes... Just small scars...two or three...
To itni itching kyon ho rhi hai? She spoke slowly...I am feeling like ...like ugly...
It's nothing so Sanyukta...Wo to ab skin burn huyi hai...that why...moreover doctor told you will be discharged in two days...and scars will be removed with a small cosmetic surgery later on... that's all...he somehow managed to smile...when his phone rang...
Randhir looked ta Sanyukta...Kaustuki...
Don't; tell her please, otherwise they will come back...she pleaded...
Then talk to her...saying Randhir turned speaker on...
Hey Kaustu...kaisa chal rha ha tera pre wedding honeymoon...Sanyukta tried to sound normal...
Phle tu bta, fine na? Kaustuki was worried...we were afraid...
Yes I am fine...Randhir saved me in time...ab main Randhir ke sath bahar hun dinner pe...will call later...tear rolled over Sanyukta's face...
Ok...take care Sanyu...saying Kaustuki cut call...
As Randhir cut the call...Sanyukta saw bandage on his arm... Randhir, you too got burns?
It's nothing Sanyukta...but now you should keep white and sleep...saying he gave her smile and settled on the couch nearby...
After few minutes, Sanyukta forward her hand...
Kuch chahiye kya? Ranhdir asked her...
Water. She replied...
Randhir immediately picked glass, made her sit and fed her water...
When dinner was served by the staff boy for Sanyukta, it was soup and fruits for her...
Randhir slowly made her sit and fed her soup as well as fruits...
Thanks...Sanyukta managed to smile...
No need to say thanks...waise...i didn't have any number of your family, so could not inform...you can give me number, so that I can call them here...he spoke feeding her...
For a second Sanyukta paused...Randhir looked at her face, he could see pain in her eyes...
My parents died in an accident two years ago...she whispered...
Oh...I'm sorry...he whispered...
No need to be Randhir...EK bhai hai, jo mujhe yhan chod ke Australia chla gya...so on one is there in my family whom I want to inform...she sighed...
Why do you say you don't have family...you have your besties like Kaustuki, yoyo... and...Parth...he spoke with difficulty...
Sanyukta lowered her eyes...
I...I didn't inform Parth even now...i may if you want me to...
He is also in Delhi today with his parents...will be back on Sunday...
Humm...enough of talks now, have medicines and sleep...Randhir fed her medicines and made her sleep...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Two days passed like this, Sanyukta's bandages were being changed and she was to be discharges form hospital on Sunday evening...as doctor had asked Randhir to change dressings at home itself... Randhir had asked contractor for renovation of Sanyukta and kaustuki's flat...
So Randhir decided to take her to yoyo's flat till Parth comes back...he was collecting her medicines and reports etc,, while nurse was changing Sanyukta's dressing...
I must say madam, your husband is so much loving and caring...nurse smiled at Sanyukta...
Sanyukta was surprised, she looked at Randhir who looked away...
As nurse left...Randhir looked at Sanyukta...i..i am sorry, form was to be signed by any family member. So I had to...
Its all right Randhir...Sanyukta smiled...and thanks...
When Parth entered in the room worriedly... Sanyu...and he stood shocked for a moment...ye sab...ye sab kya..tumhara chehera...he stopped midway
Hey Parth... Randhir moved forward...before Parth could speak anything...Randhir covered him whispering ...she needs your support...
Ya I know, and I am always with her...Parth spoke...
Sanyukta, I am on reception clearing due of hospital...saying Randhir left from there giving them privacy...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
After about fifteen minutes, Randhir came back and saw Parth leaving...
I am taking her to yoyo's flat... ...Randhir sighed...
Fine, I will see her soon... Saying Parth left and Randhir went inside to find a broken Sanyukta with tears in her eyes...
He didn't speak a single word and just gathered everything taking her to their flat.
As they reached at yoyo's flat, Randhir settled her in bedroom placing all her medicines on side table...Sanyu, you have rest, I will prepare soup for you...you must be hungry na...he smiled...
As they had their dinner, Randhir gave her medicines... Ok, let me change your dressing Sanyukta... He opened all her dressings, cleaned the face and was about to apply ointment...
Randhir, Can you give me mirror first? She spoke hesitatingly...
Sanyukta...wo...Randhir hesitated...
Randhir I want to know... tears were flowing through her yes continuously...
But Sanyukta...he tried to protest...
Randhir please...she shouted crying badly...
Finally Randhir handed her mirror and for a moment she paused seeing her face burnt everywhere with deep wounds.
She broke down crying loudly...I look so much ugly...
Randhir slowly moved closer to her...he took her bandaged hands in his hands sitting closer to her...
Sanyu...you know, there is no definition of ugly and beauty...
No Randhir, now I have just one definition... UGLY...she cried...
Randhir slowly cupped her face into his hands softly taking care not to hurt her wounds...
It is said beauty of a person lies in the eyes of beholder... For one person you may be ugly but for another person, you must be beautiful...if you see with some outsider's eyes, it may be ugly...but if you see with my eyes... you are still the same...most beautiful girl on the earth...and will always be...saying he placed a soft kiss on her forehead wiping away her tears...
Your reaction

62 Comments