mints23 Thumbnail

Mints23

@mints23

Font:
Text Size:
Theme:
[MEMBERSONLY]

Chapter 33

Khushi entered a beautifully decorated Shantivan, along with the Sharmas. Her heart thundered at a frightening speed. She had donned, one of AR Design's suits for a change. Ananya Raizada had wished that her daughter-in-law would wear a dress gifted by them, during the roka. Payal kept on telling her how beautiful she looked and teased her saying, "Today, someone is going to lose his heart all over again, Khush." She could not help the red blush rising up her cheeks at the mere mention of the man, who could take her breath away by his scorching gaze. The last couple of weeks had gone by in a flurry of writing and in preparing for the engagement party. Arnav had been beside her in everything, managing his work and family efficiently. He worked hard throughout the day, planning things well in advance, so as to avoid any last minute issues cropping up. If she had loved the man earlier, she had a new-found respect for him now. He could so easily manage work and home, without letting anyone realise how stressful it was for him. She vowed to be there for him all their lives, helping him wherever she could and proudly standing by him in all his achievements.

The entire morning was a busy family affair. Arnav barely got time to spend with Khushi. They were either surrounded by family, or were being asked to perform one ritual after the other. He cringed at the thought of the never-ending wedding ceremonies. He thought to himself, kya kya karna pad raha hai, Khushi Kumari Gupta, tumhe ghar laane ke liye. As the panditji finished with the rituals, distributing prashad and blessing everyone, the famished Sumer asked urgently, "What is for lunch?? Khushi has been asking about it for the last hour." Khushi gaped at him in shock, as the entire family burst out laughing. Arnav spoke in Khushi's defense, "You mean, your constantly grumbling stomach has been asking you, right...? Because it can't be Khushi. She has been busy with me throughout." Ananya Raizada intervened and spoke calmly, "We know how hungry you feel all the time, Sumer. You don't have to put the blame on my daughter. I had already told HP to set up lunch in the back garden. Go check on it." The Sharmas felt really happy to see how much the Raizadas loved Khushi. They secretly hoped that their daughter too would find an equally loving family.

After a heavy lunch, everyone retired to their respective rooms for an afternoon nap. Payal and Anjali had banned Sumer and Arnav from venturing into the girls' room. The trio was busy with the parlor ladies, getting a manicure, pedicure and makeup done. Arnav had tried pleading, threatening and asking politely for some private time with Khushi. However, his sister had acted like a bodyguard, literally pushing the men out of the room. As Khushi settled down into a cozy chair, feeling like a celebrity with all the pampering, her phone beeped. She knew exactly who it was, before she looked at the message. "I miss you. I want to see you. I love you, angel - Arnav." Three simple statements that made her heart soar and swell with happiness. She quickly replied, "I miss you too. See you at five - Khushi." In an instant, there was another beep, it read... "And what about the reply to my I LOVE YOU?'" Khushi blushed at his craziness. How could someone be so romantic, she wondered. She surely was lucky that Arnav was in love with her. She was just about to respond, when Anjali snatched away the phone from her hands and threw it at Payal saying, "No texting, bhabhi. Just enjoy your me-time. You are going to go crazy meeting and greeting people in the evening." Khushi sulked at not being able to tell Arnav how much she loved him; on the other hand, Arnav was highly irritated, almost about to throw away his phone in anger.

Three hours later, Khushi stood in front of the mirror, gazing at her reflection. Who was this woman, she wondered. It was difficult to say that she was a simple girl, who had lived most of her life in an orphanage. She now stood, a beautiful confident woman, wearing designer clothes and adorned with exquisite jewellery. Her Maa had walked in a few minutes ago, handing over the Raizadas heirloom earrings and kangans. As instructed by Arnav, the necklace was supposed to be kept away. That is the time, Khushi had realized, that Arnav knew exactly what she would be wearing today. He had planned the entire look with Payal and here, she hadn't been able to even respond to his declaration of love. She had been slightly miffed at her two bodyguards, who were surprisingly nowhere in sight now. The door creaked open and she turned around to give a sound lashing to Anjie for snatching her phone away, when her eyes clashed with molten brown ones.

Even though Arnav had seen the designs Payal had mailed, or approved the fabric finalized for the saree, he was dumbfounded when he saw Khushi in all her glory. She looked stunning, sexy, saucy, sassy... words seemed to be inadequate to define her beauty. It was the first time he was seeing her in a saree, her bare slender arms beckoning to be touched. The black and red of the fabric complimented her milky white skin. Her light makeup with the striking red lipstick would definitely be the end of him, he mused. He wanted to ravage her and yet, he knew he had to control his urges so as to not spoil her look. His angel no more looked like an innocent nymph. She had transformed into a drop-dead gorgeous siren and all he wanted to do was keep her away from the prying eyes of the world. What a terrible situation he was stuck in, he wondered, as he walked leisurely towards her.

Khushi didn't know how to react. Her brain felt scattered with various thoughts, a lot of emotions making her feel flustered. She saw something shift in him, as his eyes turned two shades darker. His gaze roving over her entire form, made her tremble. He was looking debonair in his crisp black tux, with the deep red of his tie and waistcoat bringing to life, his exuberant persona. She should have known that they would be colour- coordinated, now that Payal was working for AR. Her best friend had befriended her fianc and now, they would definitely gang up against her. He stood at the door for a few moments, before locking it and walking slowly towards her. She felt like a weak target, as his predatory eyes threatened to devour her. She took a couple of steps backward, as he inched closer. Her back hit the wall and she felt rattled at his closeness. His strong masculine perfume engulfed her senses, while his nose skimmed her cheek. Her eyes shuttered close, knowing well what was to come ahead.

"You did not respond to my message, angel," he drawled huskily, close to her ear. His warm breath fanning her face, made her actually think for a few seconds about his question and as it made its way through her fuzzy brain, her eyes snapped open. She stuttered to respond, when she felt his hand going around her bare waist, his delightful fingers torturing her unhurriedly. "Woh... ummm... Anjie snatched my phone... ummm... Arnaaav." He heard her response and placed a lingering wet kiss on her cheek. She trembled in his arms as he pulled her closer to himself. Even a saint would not be able to resist this kind of temptation, and Arnav was no saint. He left a trail of delicious kisses across her jaw and then slid down the slope of her slender neck. The deep cut of the blouse gave him ample area to kiss, nip and suckle, driving both of them insane. His hands touched her bare midriff brazenly, searing her tender skin everywhere they touched. She could merely hold onto the lapels of his suit, moaning his name in this intimate frenzy.

There was a loud knock on the door that broke the two apart, their eyes still in a daze. "Arnav... Khush!! Everyone is waiting for you downstairs. Naniji send me to get you guys. Please hurry!!" they heard Payal's urgent voice. Khushi quickly moved away, touching her face and hair, straightening her draped saree. Arnav pulled her closer yet again, softly kissing the corner of her mouth and said, "I am still waiting for the reply, Khushi." She pushed him away and said, "You!! Shameless laad governor! What is everyone going to think? You shouldn't have come here..." He walked towards her and quickly kissed the other corner of her mouth and teased, "No?" She gaped at him and his boldness and replied, "No! Now, Payalia is going to ask me ten thousand questions and everyone is waiting for us... It's our engagement Arnav... let's go." He held her hand and walked towards the door saying, "I have already given you a ring... so technically, we are already engaged, Khushi. So just calm down and say it..."

Khushi looked at his loving eyes and could not stop the words that tumbled out of her mouth. "I love you so much, Arnav." Every time she said those words, Arnav felt a sudden rush of happiness within. He could never define this emotion and neither did he want to scrutinize it. He pulled her into a warm hug, murmuring words of love, before unlocking the door and leading his fianc downstairs, towards his family. There was an instant cheer of joy, where everyone gathered could only state, how perfect the couple looked. Ananya Raizada, put a tiny black mark under their ears to ward off any evil touching her children. The guests were yet to arrive, giving the families some private time to enjoy this joyous occasion.

After the initial excitement fizzled, Khushi noticed her surroundings. The entire house had been transformed into a fairyland. She wondered how in merely four hours, the house had been transformed into a rich banquet venue. The twinkling fairy lights that hung across the hall, added their special glow to the place. Bouquets of peach and red roses accentuated the shimmering white drapes. As Arnav led her to the backside of the house, she was surprised to see the children from Ashadaan flocking her. Kriya ran up to her, enveloping her in a warm hug, "Khushi Di... you look so beautiful." The girl kissed Khushi's cheek noisily as Khushi picked Kriya up in her arms. "And what about me, princess?" Arnav asked her teasingly. "Just like always... laad governor!" Kriya's response was instant. Khushi broke into peals of laughter, as Arnav stared at the crazy duo. Kriya had picked up the term laad governor' from Khushi. Even after numerous attempts by the entire family, to tell her that she should not be calling Arnav by that name, she insisted on it. Arnav was kind of getting used to this fact and reveled in anything that brought laughter and happiness to his Khushi.

The garden area had been cleared, for the kids to play games. A host had been appointed to keep the children entertained. Small stalls of candy-floss, chocolates and chaats had already been set up. It was one of Khushi's brilliant ideas, which had been readily accepted by all. Arnav pulled Khushi back into the main hall, directly leading her to the main door. "Khushi, the media has been given the front garden space, so that they can photograph, and interview anyone in that area. Their refreshments and seating arrangement has already been made. We will need to go out once the engagement is over, to formally introduce you and announce our relationship." Understanding her anxiousness and hesitation, he continued, "I know... everything is just too much for you, Khushi...but I promise I will be there with you in every step. It's just a matter of one evening and then you can go back into your simple kurtis and me to my beloved shorts... Finally...I can claim you as my fianc in front of everyone. No woman would dare to flirt with me and no man would dare to eye you." He added the last part with an edge in his voice, that Khushi completely missed.

Hiding from the media's eyes, he quickly showed her the entrance that was now decorated with a dazzling rangoli made out of diyas. The sight took Khushi's breath away, as she tightened her hold on his hand and whispered, "It is stunning, Arnav. I can't believe how beautifully you have planned everything." He looked over at her with love that threatened to consume him and asked, "Are you sure, angel, this is how you had dreamt your engagement day to be?" She shook her head in the negative, making him a little anxious for a few seconds, before putting him out of misery and said, "This is more...so much more." He dropped a kiss on her forehead and led her into their home, to be surrounded by family and friends once again.

The next few hours were a blur of activity. Khushi was simply dragged from one corner to another. Her head was spinning, with the number of introductions that happened. All the guests glittered in diamonds and looked extremely sophisticated. It was a crowd that Khushi was very rarely acquainted with. The air kissing and the hoards of compliments she got had actually tired her out. Arnav had been by her side, controlling anyone who tried to act over friendly. A lot of hot women were giving her dirty looks, clearly jealous of the fact, that she was soon going to be the Raizada daughter-in-law. Khushi was getting a peek into Arnav's world that would soon be her world too. She looked at Ananya Raizada mingling with the crowd and rationally told herself, that if Maa could mix with this kind of crowd, without losing her essence, so could she.

The engagement took place with loud applause from everyone gathered. Khushi was indifferent to her surroundings, since she had caught the look in his eyes. His gaze was focused on her face, her smile, her happiness... and she had never been happier in her entire life. The rings were exchanged and soon the Raizadas made their way to meet the media. "Khushi, there will be a lot of cameras flashing. Just ignore them... focus on me and smile. I love you, okay?" Arnav tried to quickly talk to her before the media hogged them. She simply nodded before being blinded by the constant flashing of the paparazzi. Ajay Raizada announced the happy news of his son's engagement and how lucky they were to welcome Khushi into their family. Answering a few basic questions, the Raizadas headed back to the party. It was going to be sensational news and the tabloids for the next few days were definitely going to be filled with gossip and conjecture.

The buffet was opened up for everyone, as Arnav and Khushi stood on a small podium, greeting the people gathered. The crowd was divided into two... one half rushed to feed on the delicious spread and the other half lingered around, chatting with friends and acquaintances. Khushi mutely smiled and nodded at being introduced to Arnav's friends, business associates and family. She was not going to remember anyone's name anyway. Arnav kept on feeding her some snacks or made her drink some juice to keep her hydrated. Sumer was a great help in popping up with a dish, every half hour. For once, Arnav appreciated his and Khushi's mutual love for food. Arnav noticed an excited Anjie talking to a solemn looking Akash. He had noticed his baby sister getting friendly with him, much to his dislike. It was an uneasy feeling, yet he let it be, for the time being. They had a bigger challenge at hand with the entry of the Diwans and the Jhas.

Shyam Manohar Jha, walked in slimily towards the enchanting couple, eying the beautiful fianc of Arnav Singh Raizada. He had always detested Arnav, considering how close he was to his cousin. Arnav met the Diwans and Jhas warmly and the elders blessed the couple. As Shyam stood in front of him, his features hardened. "Congrats, ASR. How did you manage to come across the gorgeous Miss Khushi Kumari Gupta?" Arnav clenched his fists tightly, to rein in his anger. This was not the time to get back at Shyam, especially with their families close by. He looked on mutely, as Shyam turned to Khushi and said, "...and congrats, Khushi. I am sure you remember me, from our college days." He extended his hand for a handshake, while Khushi politely folded her hands in a namaste gesture, and thanked him. A stunned and annoyed Shyam left the podium fuming, while Arnav looked on surprised at Khushi's behavior. She had behaved perfectly civil towards everyone else. For that matter, she had even been polite to all the desperate girls, who had tried to cling onto him, while getting a photograph clicked. Did she have an inkling to what Shyam had done with Payal, he thought. "What? I hate that guy... since college days. There is just something about him that does not give me good vibes. He was Payalia's friend and that is the only reason, I was nice to him. By the way, how do you know him? And what was he doing here with Sumer's parents?" Arnav was a little relieved at this information and promised to answer Khushi's questions later.

Sumer was a little edgy since the time; his parents and Shyam had entered the party. He had dragged a tired Payal towards the poolside, citing the need for some fresh air. "PG... you look so tired. You haven't eaten anything since afternoon. You have been simply running around, managing things. Wait, let me get you a plate of something to eat along with a refreshing drink," Sumer said with concern. She looked at him gingerly and said, "Only if you stop calling me PG, Sumer... I am not a Payal Gundi (goon) ok? When have I bullied you into doing something?" Her threatening tone itself made him laugh, as he kissed her on the cheek and said, "See what I mean?? You are always bullying me. Not that I am complaining, but I like calling you PG." Sumer pulled her cheeks and rushed towards the main hall to get some delicious food for his ladylove. As soon as he was out of sight, she heard that one voice which she had never wanted to hear again, in her entire life. His vile sniggering made the horrible past, flash in front of her eyes as he spoke, "Well, well, well. What do we have here? Payal Sharma fooling around with my foolish cousin!! Now, that is something I never thought would be possible... would it be, darling?" Payal turned around to look Shyam Manohar Jha in the eye... after four long years.

Chapter 34

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Hey guys,

🤗

I hope you enjoyed this update as well.
I am going to be kind of tied up for the next five days, as we get Ganpati at home. So I may not be able to respond to comments. However, the next chapter is half done and would be put up sometime next week. See you'll then!

mints232014-09-06 10:42:02

Your reaction

Nice Nice
Awesome Awesome
Loved Loved
Lol LOL
Omg OMG
cry Cry

68 Comments

Stay Connected with IndiaForums!

Be the first to know about the latest news, updates, and exclusive content.

Add to Home Screen!

Install this web app on your iPhone for the best experience. It's easy, just tap and then "Add to Home Screen".