Chapter 10

Chapter 10:
It was very late at night, by the time Khushi returned home. It wasn't the first time that she was working late, yet today, it had been for a different reason. After the wonderful lunch with Arnav, she had gone through a very chaotic and frustrating day. Usually, Khushi would finish her work on time and then stay back till late, working on her novel and scripts. It had become a habit to work on her ideas after office hours. Payal would return home late anyway. However today, she had not been able to concentrate inn her work at all. An article that would normally take her about a couple of hours to finish - today she had been struggling for the past four to five hours.
Her thoughts kept going back to, how Arnav had pretended to faint just so he could take her out to lunch; his touch during the Dhanno ride and their conversation over lunch. She had seen a side of Arnav, that did not match the one, which the newspapers and magazines wrote about. She was surprised, at how easily she was able to open up to him, and tell him about her life and her past. She never spoke much to people about her childhood and about growing up in Ashadaan. It was a part of her life that would make her as upset, as it would make her proud. Yet, Arnav had made her feel comfortable in every way that a person could. He had been chivalrous and genuinely interested in her life. Even his plans for the future of Ashadaan were fabulous. His presentation and preparation were impeccable, and gave her a glimpse of the successful business entrepreneur that he was. Every time she thought of his handsome face, a blush crept up her face. She could not help wondering why he was pursuing a simple girl like her, in the first place.
As her tired feet took her towards home, Khushi could hear some chattering coming from within. Ahhh! It was Akash and Payal chatting away merrily. With an exciting day like today, she had completely forgotten about Akash. He had said that he would be coming home for dinner today. She walked in quickly to be welcomed by the bright smiles, of the two people who were dearest to her in the entire world. "Hey Khush, you are here?" Akash spoke excitedly, as he got up from the sofa and walked towards her, engulfing her in a warm hug. Akash had a soft corner for Khushi since college days. He liked her and at one point of time, had wanted to be more than just friends. After a few months of observing Khushi's reactions to his advances, he had realized that she would be happier, being just friends with him. And so, he had left it at that, consoling his heart and mind, that maybe, with time, things might change.
"Khush, I have made bhindi fry, paneer mutter and rotis. Do you want anything else?" Payal asked Khushi lovingly. As Khushi bounced from Akash's arms to reach the piping hot serving bowls kept on the table, she picked up the lid and inhaled the delicious aroma of food. "This smells so delicious Payalia... I love you! This is just what I need after a tiring day. Let me just freshen up quickly and we can then eat. What would I have given, to have garma garam jalebis from Dariba after this dinner?" She smacked her lips at the mere thought of the famous jalebis of Chandni Chowk. Akash and Payal could only laugh at her expression, as she rushed to her room. Payal looked at Akash who had his eyes trained on the door, through which Khushi had just vanished. She nodded her head in disapproval. She had sensed his feelings for Khushi, but also knew what Khushi thought of him. This was never going to work out, and she really hoped Akash would soon find his perfect match.
Ten minutes... yes, in a record ten minutes, Khushi was all refreshed, changed into her comfortable Patiala and long t-shirt. She sat at the dining table serving herself spoonfuls of paneer mutter and some achaar to go along with it. The other two just gaped at her desperation to eat. With loving smiles on their faces, Payal and Akash too settled down to eat. Akash asked casually, "Khush, go slow. What is the rush to eat?" Khushi looked up with her mouth full of the crispy and delicious bhindi fry and said..."Hmm.. I...mmm...didn't really have proper lunch. Just ate a sandwich, so I am kind of starving." Akash frowned in displeasure. He knew how much Khushi loved eating and also the fact, that she felt hungry every two hours. He recollected her meeting some Arnav at lunch today, and wondered if he was the reason for her staying hungry. They had left the conversation incomplete yesterday, so he asked again, "Khush, you were supposed to meet some Arnav during lunch today right? Was it because of him that you did not have proper lunch?"
Khushi choked on her food, at the mention of Arnav's name. She kept coughing as both Akash and Payal sprang from their seats to go towards her, one rubbing her back while the other gave her a glass of water. As they settled back into their places to eat again, Khushi decided to change the subject all together. She did not want to venture near the dangerous topic of Arnav Singh Raizada. At the moment, she was unsure of her feelings for him and also wasn't sure of what he wanted. He could possibly just want to be friends and work on the project of Ashadaan. But Payal and Akash knew her very well, and they were sure to immediately catch her innermost feelings. She knew she would not be able to mask her excitement at meeting Arnav. So, she conveniently changed the topic to Akash's visit to Mumbai.
As Khushi and Payal washed the dishes and cleaned the kitchen, Akash entered with a packet in his hand. Khushi swirled around as she smelled the aroma of her favourite jalebis. She squealed in excitement and grabbed the parcel from his hands and opened it immediately. Payal's stern voice interrupted her, "Khush, don't make me go all motherly on you. Be patient and serve it in three plates. God! I feel Akash and I have really pampered and spoilt you." Khushi sulked as she served the jalebis in three plates and the trio walked out to settle themselves on the sofa. Khushi spoke, talking in-between relishing the jalebis and licking her fingers, "Hmmm...yummm...Thank you AR! You are the best... these jalebis are delicious. I could easil..." Her words were cut off abruptly by the loud ring of her phone. She was startled for a moment, wondering who could be calling her this late at night. And as she looked at her mobile screen, her eyes widened with surprise. 'Laad Governor Calling'...
She did not realize that she had left the plate of jalebis on the sofa, and left a stunned Akash and Payal in the hall, as she walked into her room to take the call. She could hear her thudding heart, as she clicked the receive button. She heard his husky voice on the other end, "Hey, Khushi?" His voice itself was doing dangerous things to her. Her mind went into overdrive and she wondered what had made him call her now. She answered softly, "Hi Arnav, why are you calling so late in the night?" There was a few seconds silence before she heard him answer, "Oh! I am so sorry... I did not realize it was this late Khushi. Am I disturbing you? I am really sorry. I think I should hang up. I will call you tom..." Before he could complete his monologue, Khushi cut in, "Its fine, Arnav, I wasn't asleep and you are not disturbing me. I was just surprised to receive your call. That's it." She could imagine him sighing with relief, as tiny butterflies started fluttering in her stomach.
"Hmm... Well actually, I called up... umm... to say that I had a nice time at lunch today. It was really nice talking to you. And I umm..." She heard Arnav speak. She had never heard him fumbling so much. She waited with bated breath to see where this conversation was heading. He spoke again, "Well, I just wanted to ask you out, for a casual dinner. It's just that, I like spending time with you and would really like to know you a little more." Khushi's heart was beating rapidly and she could not think straight. Was he actually asking her out on a date? What was she to do now? Did she want to go? YES! Oh yes!... her heart screamed. However, her mind was still unsure. This was not the first time a guy had asked her out, yet this was the first time she really wanted to go. She did not realize that she had been quiet all along, while her mind kept thinking about what to say. She heard his unsure voice, "Khushi... hmmm... you there??" All she could manage to respond was an 'hmmm'. She suddenly felt tongue-tied. Someone had finally managed to silence Khushi Kumari Gupta.
She heard him clear his throat again and say, "Hmm... Khushi, you don't have to answer immediately. Take your time, as I would like to take you out on a Saturday. So you have a couple of days to think. Please don't make me wait too long for your reply. I am actually kind of a little nervous." She could not help but smile at his genuine confession. He really was very cute. CUTE!! She admonished herself... so now she had started finding Arnav Singh Raizada cute... She managed to reply with, "I will let you know, Arnav. Good night" and quickly cut the call. Khushi held the phone to her wildly beating heart and tried to calm herself down. As her breathing steadied, she realized that she would have to deal with her two bodyguards once she went out. As she walked out to the hall, she made up her mind to tell them the truth.
She walked out to be bombarded with questions from both Akash and Payal simultaneously. 'Why did you leave like that?' 'Who had called up so late?' 'Did you actually leave the jalebis to take a call?' 'Khush, what is going on?' And to answer all of their questions, she simply said "Arnav Singh Raizada just asked me out to dinner." Payal looked stunned at this statement and Akash looked really angry. He was the first one to get over the shock and asked Khushi, "How much have I missed in these three weeks, Khush? How do you know him and how has it progressed so much to him being able to ask you out on a date?" Before Khushi could answer that question, Payal spoke "Refuse him Khush. You know what he is famous for. We have seen his pictures with various models and celebrities every week in the newspapers." Khushi went numb, with the two most important people in her life, not really trying to understand her current predicament.
Akash and Payal both looked at her in silence, as she walked towards the couch silently and plonked herself on it. She picked up the plate of unfinished jalebis, and picked one to munch on it greedily. She needed to calm her tensed nerves to be able to reply to the numerous questions asked by her friends. She looked up at Akash who looked like he could burst into flames, and then looked pleadingly at Payal for some help. Payal moved towards Akash, and rested a firm hand on his shoulder telling him to calm down. Khushi then recited about how she had first met Arnav at Ashadaan, and then everything that followed. Payal was surprised to know a lot of new developments, herself. Khushi would always tell everything to her, so why had she held back so many details about Arnav? As Khushi stopped talking, there was pin-drop silence in the room...each of them, in deep thought.
Akash looked at her, his face devoid of emotion and asked, "What do you want to do, Khushi? Do you want to go out with him?" She flinched when he called her Khushi. Akash had for years now, called her Khush'. In fact, he was the reason that the whole college knew her by that name. She somehow managed to say softly, "I want to go, AR. He really is a nice gu..." Before she could finish, Akash had risen from his seat and was walking towards the entrance. "Then the decision is made Khushi. Where do we have an option, to give our opinion?" saying that, he stormed out of their home.
In another part of Delhi, the other AR... namely Arnav Singh Raizada, lay on his comfortable bed in great unease. What had that one gorgeous girl done to him? After meeting with her, he had a very difficult time, focusing on his work. The meetings and discussions had gone by in a blur. All he remembered was her cute face in the helmet, the bumpy ride on her scooter and her non-stop chatter at the cafe. This new feeling was driving him insane and all he wanted to do was spend time with her. By the time Arnav reached home, he had made up his mind that he would call her again. He was missing Khushi already. He quickly finished his dinner and called it a night, surprising his family. Usually he would sit and discuss business developments with his father, and then spend some time chatting with Anjie. But today, as soon as he had closed his bedroom doors, he had pulled out his cell phone and speedily dialed her number.
With extreme desperation bubbling up inside him, Arnav was the first one to speak. And then he heard her apprehensive voice that immediately sent him into panic mode. He had not even bothered to look at the time while calling up. But she had reprimanded him and asked him the reason for calling. That was the moment Arnav wondered, why he had not thought through everything before calling up. He did not know what to say, or how to say it. He fumbled with words to form the right sentences... to ask her out on a date. It was soon... too soon. Yet, something about it felt just right. And then she had remained silent. A tortured silence, which was actually stabbing at Arnav. He was for the first time in life, unsure of something, scared of rejection and nervous about the outcome. He quickly tried to do damage control by giving her some time to think about it... prolonging the process of her response. He was not ready yet to face her refusal. Her quick 'Good Night' had left him restless and he could not wait till the next morning to simply remind her that he was waiting for her reply.
Neele neele ambar par chaand jab aaye, pyar barsaye humko tarsaye
Aisa koyi saathi ho aisa koyi premi ho, pyaas dil ki bujha jaye
Unche unche parvat jab chumate hain ambar ko
Pyasa pyasa ambar jab chumata hai sagar ko
Pyar se kasne ko baaho me basne ko
Dil meraa lalchaye koyee toh aa jaye
Aisa koyi saathi ho aisa koyi premi ho, pyaas dil ki bujha jaye
Neele neele ambar par chaand jab aaye, pyar barsaye humko tarsaye
As the song drifted through the music system, Khushi stood at the window of her room. The always busy Dilerganj road seemed quiet and serene at the moment. Unlike her mind, that was in complete chaos. Akash had been upset with her and walked out. Payal had refused to speak to her much and Arnav... She sighed, thinking about him. He was someone, whom she could not stop thinking about. However, there was no point in building new relationships by hurting the old ones. She made up her mind to call him in the morning and tell him clearly the reason for refusing to go out with him. She hoped he would understand.
"You really like him, don't you?" Payal's sudden question had broken her reverie. She hadn't realized when Payal had come and stood behind her. She turned around instantly to look at her best friend in surprise and confusion. Was she that obvious? Of course, she was! Khushi had never been good at hiding her emotions... especially in front of Payal. So she decided to be honest and said, "I don't know Payal, what exactly I feel for him. Yes! I like him... I like spending time with him. The way he looks at me unnerves me, yet I feel comfortable being around him. Arrrgh! It's all such a chaos right now. That is why I wanted to go out with him, so I could try and understand all these crazy emotions." "Woah!!" Payal screamed excitedly. "This is more serious than I thought it would be. Khush, tu toh gayi..." and she burst out laughing, tickling Khushi to make her laugh along with her, dissolving some of the tension that had built up in the past hour.
As both the girls lay down on their bed giggling with laughter, Payal spoke "Khush, I think you should go. I am a little worried for you, but I didn't find ASR to be that bad, in the party. I just hope he is nowhere close to his annoying friend, Sumer! But please be careful... don't just lay your heart in front of him like you do in front of SRK." Khushi giggled some more at Payal's statement and hugged her sideways, "Payalia, you are the best! But what about AR? I don't know why he got so angry with me." Payal frowned at that and said, "Don't worry Khush, I will speak to him. Anyways I have been wanting to knock some sense into his thick head for a while now. Tu tension mat le... Jaa Khushi, jee le apni zindagi." Payal said the last part mimicking Amrish Puri from DDLJ knowing very well that it was Khushi's favourite movie and it would surely brighten up her somber mood. The two girls kept chatting till they fell asleep.
Khushi had made up her mind in the night itself, that she would message Arnav first thing in the morning. As her eyes fluttered open, with the sunrays hitting her face, she heard a beep on the cell phone. Yawning and stretching, she checked the phone and her eyes rounded in surprise. There was an unread message from Laad Governor. All her drowsiness vanished, as she sat upright in her bed. As she read the message, a huge smile bloomed on her beautiful face. It read... 'Inteha ho gayi intezaar ki... aayi na kuch khabar mere yaar ki...' She shook her head lovingly at his filmy message and quickly replied back, 'Yes!' She contentedly lay back on her bed, smiling to herself.
PRECAP: The First Date
She looked gorgeous. Did she have any clue how beautiful she was? The black of her flowing dress, made a stunning contrast to her pinkish, white skin. Her long, lustrous hair was left loose, just the way he liked it. As she walked towards him with a grace that made his heart soar up to his throat, he smiled at her. That was all he could do, as she had left him tongue-tied. He wanted to cancel all his plans of a public outing... No movie... No dinner. He did not want to share her with the rest of the world. He wanted to know her, all of her. Keep her to himself. As she came and stood in front of him, he started noticing the small details on her angelic face.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey guys, I am back!! Hope you have enjoyed the update... and it was worth the wait...
Thank you everyone for such wonderful comments on the last chapter.
You guys are the best!
So this update is dedicated to all of you'll who love Peek-a-boo! 🤗
And a special HAPPY BIRTHDAY wish to Charu!! Have fun girl! 🥳
Special mention to Vandana and Chitra as always, because they are my driving force...
Every time I get laidback to write... they are the ones to kick my ass and motivate me to write...
They listen to my rants and frustrations and they finally say CHUP!' 😉
Please do like the story and leave a comment.
Note: Add me to your Buddy list if you want a PM for updates for my other stories.
Your reaction
Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
62 Comments