Chapter 2
Inside Doctor’s Chamber
“She is perfectly fine Mrs Sharma,” the doctor told Kanchan closing Anokhi’s test report file.
Kanchan thanked the doctor while Anokhi sobered herself after her ultrasound test.
“She is out of her danger period now. Congratulations.” The doctor smiled. “She needs to collect her USG and blood report from the hospital after 3 days.
“Don’t worry Anokhi, I will send someone to collect it on your behalf.” Kanchan chirped in excitement.
“It’s okay Kanchan Di, I will collect it. My house is nearby so that won’t be a problem.” Anokhi said touching her tummy unconsciously. It was indeed the biggest decision of her life. Being unmarried and carrying a baby, people were bound to call her names. But she didn’t care. Because for her, her father’s wellbeing was more important.
“Congratulations Miss Bhalla, you are going to be a mother very soon. So, take care of your health. Takes medicines on time. We will see you on the next scheduled date.
“Thank you so much, doctor. I am very excited.” She truly was. ‘Becoming a mother feels good, she thought.
“I need a minute of yours, Anokhi. Do you mind if I drop you home?” Anjali enquired.
“My bike is parked here Kanchan Di,” Anokhi said worrying her lips.
“Don’t worry about that. I will ask someone to drop it at your home. You just give me the details.”
Anokhi handed her the key and gave her the description of her bike before leaving the hospital with Kanchan.
Kanchan took out the cash that Shaurya has given her and handed it over to Anokhi. “I hate to do this, but as per the contract, here is your first instalment cash. My, brother, has trust issues. That is the reason he wanted part payment. I am sorry Anokhi.” Kanchan said sadly.
“I understand Mrs Sharma. I don’t blame your brother. This world is filled with opportunists. It's not entirely his fault that he has a trust issue. I am doing this only because of baba, my father. He took care of me and treated me like an angel. He could have got married but he chose not to because of the thought what if my stepmother doesn’t accept me. Now it's time to return his dedication. Even though it cannot be compared. But, still, I want his well-being and if I can take him out of his state I can go to any extent. His treatment is going to be costly and whatever savings we had everything has gone for my education and his operation fees. This is the reason I agreed to do this.” Anokhi said caressing her tummy. She has no idea what she will feel when she has to give away her blood, the baby, which she had to carry for the next 7 months.
“I am so proud of you girl. I wish God gives you all the happiness that you deserve.” Kanchan handed her the copy of the contract. “Please go through it whenever you can and sign on it.
Anokhi took out the pen from her bag and was about to sign on it when Kanchan stopped her. “What are you doing Anokhi. You should read the papers before you sign.
“I don’t need to check it, Kanchan Ji. I have given you my word to give away the baby once he/she is born and I am a girl of my words. I would rather die if I can’t keep it. And I need the money desperately and I trust you.” Anokhi put her signature across the papers.
Kanchan took the papers from her hand and cupped her face. “Anokhi, if you need anything please ask freely without hesitating. Apart from the contractual amount if you need cash or anything, please tell me.”
While keeping the cash inside her bag she felt bad. The thought of selling her child killed her from inside. But then she thought, this is not going to be a love child. She knows the arrangement before she even conceived.
Kanchan dropped her in front of her house and with heavy legs, Anokhi walked inside.
At Sabharwal Mansion
Kanchan hugged Shaurya from behind startling him in the process. “I am so so happy Shaurya. My baby brother is soon becoming a dad.” Shaurya turned to see an over-excited Kanchan. “She is 3 months pregnant baby bro.
“Did she sign on the papers?”Shaurya asked worriedly.”Did she say anything? Does she have any problem with the clause?”
Kanchan slapped her brother playfully and said, “Here I am giving you good news and you are talking about the contract?”
Shaurya signed and turned towards his laptop to resume his work. “For me, it’s on a deal Di and every deal has a contract. Until she signs I am not going to transfer anything in her account no matter how many months she is pregnant. What if she is a fraud?
“Stop it Shaurya,” Kanchan said angrily. “Har kisi pe shakh karna bandh karo. Sab ek jaise nahi hote hai. And for your kind information, she did sign on the papers. And yes, she didn’t bother to look at the papers despite I being insistent. She said for her trust is the most important things and that she trusts me.
“Oh come on Di, she is getting a hefty amount for this. She should not have any problem. She is only concerned about the amount she is getting. It is not easy to sell her child you know.”
“This is the last time you are talking like this about the girl who is carrying your child. If you continue to disrespect her then mujhse bura aur koi nahi hoga.” Kanchan ignored Shaurya’s apology and left the room heartbroken.
At Bhalla’s
Anokhi entered her father’s room and hugged her father. She kept her head on his lap as tears rolled down her cheeks. “I am pregnant Baba.”
The duo cried silently for some time understanding each other’s pain when Anokhi’s father said while caressing her hair, “You are going to be a mother, Anokhi and it is going to be the best feeling in the world. I was so happy with your mother conceived you. I always wanted a baby girl and I am happy that I am blessed with one. I used to pamper her so much. I promised Rama that I am not going to let anything touch you when you are born. Par dekho, aaj mein apni bin behayi beti ko apni aulad ko kisi aur ke paas dene ke liye mujboor kiya hai. Koi kami mat chodna apne bache ke liye. Tumko yeh mauka zada in nahi milegi.”
Anokhi looked sadly towards her father, “I said I am pregnant. I didn’t say that I am becoming a mother. The baby is not mine baba, I can never hear maa from his/her mouth.” She burst out in tears hugging her father tightening her hold.
Sabharwal Mansion
After completing their respective dinners and before retiring to bed Kanchan said, “I want you to be there tomorrow in the house. I have arranged a havan for the baby. I want you to be there.
“I have a very important meeting tomorrow Di. I can’t postpone it. Moreover, I don’t believe in God you very well know that. And what will that female be present in the house as well? That’s ridiculous Di. You cannot possibly invite her.”
“Too bad kido, I have already invited her and she will be there. You are forgetting that she is going to be the mother of your baby.”
“No Di, you are forgetting, she is not going to be the mother. She is the one who is only going to carry this baby. She is not the mother of my kid.”
“you have become ruthless Shaurya and shayad meri hi parwarish ki koi kami hai.” Kanchan sniffed.
“On come on Di, stop with you rona dhona”, Shaurya side hugged her “Fine, I will be here tomorrow. Now don’t stress yourself.”
“Agar tum Shaurya Sabahrwal ho to meye bhi tumhara hi behen do. Thoda crocodile tears to chalta hi hai na.” Kanchan burst out laughing leaving a perplexed Shaurya.
‘Girls I tell you, he muttered to himself.
Next-Day
“Anokhi Beta, please cover your head with the pallu.” Anokhi complied and took the flower from the pandit.
Kanchan detailed Shaurya’s number wonder where he was. “Pata nahi ab ta kaya kyun nahi.”
“Baby bro, where are you?” Kanchan scolded her brother.
“Sorry Di, I was stuck in a meeting. I promise I will be there in a maximum of five minutes.”
“Beta, close your eyes and fold your hands and chant along with me.” Pandit Ji told Anokhi.
Loosening his tie he entered the mansion. The haven arrangement was right in the middle of the big hall. The overbearing smell of ghee and smoke made him sneeze instantly. He looked at the girl who was facing her back towards him. She was petite he thought. Silently he folded his sleeves while Kanchan asked her to come and sit beside the girl who was wearing an ice blue salwar kameez. Pandit offered uttariya to Shaurya and he made himself comfortable besides that girl.
“Both of you, put your hands forward.” Pandit took Anokhi’s hand and kept it over Shaurya’s. That very moment their eyes collided.
“Tum?” Shaurya shouted.
“Tum?” Anokhi shouted back.
Shaurya retreated his hand from Anokhis while she got up from the ashana.
Shaurya couldn’t believe his eyes. Anokhi is going to be the mother of his child? Correcting Shaurya Sabharwal, she is just going to give birth to his child.”
“No way”, Shaurya said those words loud making Anokhi’s eyes go wide.
Your reaction
Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
Post Your Comment