Yo Mr. DJ

Music Review - Prince

The movie certainly has a good storage of melodious music, composing 7 originals and...

Published: Wednesday,Mar 31, 2010 12:24 PM GMT-06:00
facebook twitter whatsapp
Film: Prince
Music: Sachin Gupta
Lyrics: Sameer
Singers: Atif Aslam, Shreya Goshal, Garima Jhingon, Alisha Chinoy, Hard Kaur, Monali Thakur and Sachin Gupta

The movie certainly has a good storage of melodious music, composing 7 originals and 9 remixes. Meanwhile Atif Aslam, seems to have made quite an impact on music director Sachin Gupta who has handed over a number of tracks to the talented singer.

The soundtrack opens with 'O Mere Khuda', sung by Atif Aslam and Garima Jhingon behind microphone. The song certainly has a beat that would attract anyone towards it. The song starts with a bang and has a powerful impact making it the best soundtrack in the album.

However, the dance mix version of 'Oh Mere Khuda' is quite similar to the original song and has nothing new to offer.

Next in the album is Shreya Goshal and Atif Aslam's 'Tere liye' which is a fast paced romantic song. The lyrics are hardly impressive but it has been hummed beautifully. Atif and Shreya have surely done justice to the song and will mostly attract youngsters. 

'Tere Liye' has three more versions including a dance mix, a hip hop mix and an unplugged. The first two versions repeat the same singers whereas the final version is sung by composer Sachin Gupta.

Meanwhile, 'Kaun Hoon Main' will leave you in daze. This beautiful soundtrack Sung by Atif Aslam has powerful lyrics and memorable music. Again, the song has two remixes ' a dance mix and a lounge mix, which unfortunately fail to impress in comparison to the original.

Atif Aslam's 'Aa Bhi Jaa Sanam' is a good song but fails to hold our interest. The lyrics seem to repeat itself and the tune is unimpressive. 'Aa Bhi Jaa Sanam' has a dance mix which is suited for DJ lovers.
Next in the album brings, 'Jiyara Jiyaya' by Alisha Chinoy and Hard Kaur. It's a punjabi dance number which starts well with the music and rap, yet soon falls below our expectations. 'Jiyara Jiyara' also has a bhangra mix which is better than the original version.

Next comes 'Ishq Mein' sung by Monali Thakur. The song is quite different from the rest of the soundtracks.  However, despite the powerful music, this song is unlikely to attract many listeners.

Last but not the least, there is the instrumental theme song of the film which is quite impressive.

Overall the album has an overdose of remixes song; however the songs do leave good impact to some extent.
BollyCurry ratings: ***

Featured Video

Nandana Sen Sameer Vivek Oberoi Sanjay Kapoor Alisha Chinai Shreya Ghoshal Atif Aslam Monali Thakur Hard Kaur Aruna Shields Niroo Singh Prince 

Comments (12)

View all
up-open TOP