I think Feminism is overrated: Rupali Ganguly on Feminism & womanhood

Rupali Ganguly, in an exclusive chat with India Forums some time back, mentioned that she finds feminism over rated. Read ahead to know why.

Aanchal Chowdhary Thumbnail

Aanchal Chowdhary

View Profile
Rupali Ganguly
Rupali Ganguly. Image Courtesy: Rupali Ganguly's Instagram.

Rupali Ganguly has captivated audiences with her portrayal of the titular character in Star Plus' highly successful show, Anupamaa. Not only does the series dominate the TRP charts every week, but Rupali's performance has also inspired countless women who are avid followers of the show.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Svql2EDzcsA&t=145s

Well, In an exclusive conversation with India Forums some time back, the actress spoke about Woman's day, the concept of feminism and more. When asked about her thoughts on womanhood and the concept of feminism, the actress said, ''Feminism I think is an overrated concept honestly. Ye jo jhanda lekar kahi auratein chalti hai stating that we are feminists, with due respect to them, I think every woman out there who is a mother, who is a housewife is a feminist. Because, it is not about constantly screaming and fighting for your rights. It is about endorsing your values in things that you do in your daily life and in things that you do. When a woman respects herself, that is feminism. When a woman loves herself, that is feminism. When a woman does not need validation from any man, when she validates her ownself, that is feminism and that is womanhood to me. The day a woman feels proud about just her being, it does not have to be her achievements, her husband, her position in life. The day she feels proud of herself in being what she is, her values and everything that is a proud moment for any woman. And this does not imply only on the women who are educated or the woman of today's world. I'm referring to women from small towns and villages who wear traditional clothing like Kashtas and sarees. These women often possess progressive thoughts and play a vital role in shaping the values of future generations. They instill important values in their children and set the foundation for their upbringing. These are the women I regard as feminists.''

Feminism I think is an overrated concept honestly. Ye jo jhanda lekar kahi auratein chalti hai stating that we are feminists, with due respect to them, I think every woman out there who is a mother, who is a housewife is a feminist. Because, it is not about constantly screaming and fighting for your rights. It is about endorsing your values in things that you do in your daily life and in things that you do.

- Rupali Ganguly

What do you think of Rupali's beliefs? Let us knwo in the comments below.

Your reaction

Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
Fail
Rupali Ganguly Thumbnail

Rupali Ganguly

Anupama poster

Anupama

Comments (8)

She plays the character of an oppressed woman , who enjoys being oppressed n loves her oppressors . 🤦🏼This show is running for five years now . 🙈

1 months ago

What a joke lol😍😍😍…..

1 months ago

No feminism is not overrated

1 months ago

She clearly doesn't understand the concept of feminism.

1 months ago

And obviously the heart reacts to this statement which calls the very thing it glorifies "overrated" are apt. Savitribai Phule in her "traditional clothes" got stoned because she was teaching women to read and write. That is "screaming for your rights" in "traditional clothes" while being a housewife. When Rambai wrote essays to denounce casteist patriarchy in her "traditional clothes", she was screaming for her rights and being a feminist icon. You can afford a PR, you can buy books. NCERT ki 8th standard ki Sanskrit book mein Ramabai par chapter hai. Sharda Commission shayad 12th ki
History book mein hai.

1 months ago

Idiotic statement by a fool.

1 months ago

which feminist theory has a rich saviour syndrome actor like Rupali Ganguly read where women are shamed for wearing the clothes they want or doing unpaid labour for their families? This woman and her employers had the audacity to do photo-op with a disabled woman for their own PR, and feminism pe lecture detin hain devi ji. When you, in your designer clothes, were infantalising a disabled woman on national TV for your own PR, did you think of that woman as your equal or respect what values she holds? Lol.
Every effing thing about this show and its associates is gross. Fans shaming characters for wearing sweaters and rich actors condescending women who fought for their rights to work. Behena, bina feminism ke age of consent 12 se 18 nahi hota aur aap bhi highest paid tv actor nahi hoti. Pick me behaviour from everyone lol.

1 months ago

Obvs babe, you think your bahu-slapper character is the saviour of women lol.

1 months ago

Latest Stories