Q and A with Neena Kulkarni(Baisaa)

•  
  • Page of 1 Go
  •  
Posted: 18 years ago

NEENA KULKARNI

Uttarayan won the National Award this year for Best Marathi Film. Were you expecting the honour?
(Laughs) No, actually I was pleasantly surprised. The honour was far beyond my modest expections. Uttarayan won a lot of awards this year including seven at the prestigious Alpha Marathi Gaurav 2005.

How challenging was the role?
Challenge is not a word I would associate with Uttarayan. It was not a difficult character to portray because it was so true-to-life without any dramatics whatsoever. Such roles don't come so easily and I consider myself fortunate to have been given the opportunity.
What was it like reuniting with Shivaji Satam with whom you have worked frequently in the past too?
It was a fabulous experience. Shivaji Satam and I have been working together from the last 25 years. We enjoyed a great comfort level on the set having done theatre earlier. It was great to work with a perfectionist like him who brings out the best in you.
Which was your most difficult scene?
(Smiling). I think it was the last scene when Shivaji proposes to me and I don't know what to say to him. It was a very natural scene and Bipin Nadkarni who has written, produced and directed the film told us to go with the flow. It was a great advice.
Shwaas won the National Award last year and was India's entry for the Oscar. Uttarayan too has been critically acclaimed while Sachin's Navra Maza Navsacha celebrated a jubliee run. Is Marathi cinema slowly getting back to its glory days?
I don't know much about Sachin's film because I haven't seen it yet but yes, Marathi cinema is on an upswing. Touchwood, it will continue to charm and bring glory to our industry.
Among the new films you have on hand which role satisfies the actress in you?
Every role is a challenge. I have some interesting films on hand like Sari Var Sari, Nisar with Sumitra Bhave that is almost complete and film that is still unnamed.
Is there any Hindi film you're equally excited about?
I have done many Hindi movies and played some good roles. There was Yashraj's Mere Yaar Ki Shaadi Hai in which I played a glamorous mother to a young daughter, Tulip. In Nayak I was Anil Kapoor's mother. That was an emotional role. Hungama was more comic. But I have to admit that none of these roles were as exciting as Uttarayan. The character was as sensitive as I am.
One still remembers your insurance ad. What are your memories of it?
I don't remember much about this ad because it was shot so many years ago. Soon after the ad went off the air I lost my husband and they started screening it again because it had become more real.
Are you doing more such ads?
No, no more ads like this, atleast not in the near future.
You've done your share of serials too like Heena. What do you prefer more: television or films?
Television is just a job. A film is a bonus.
How do you feel about the saas-bahu sagas seen on the small screen today. Would you be interested in playing a Tulsi or a Parvati?
(Chuckling) You are flattering me! Both Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi and Kahaani Ghar Ghar Kii sound good but I am twice the age of Tulsi or Parvati so I don't think I'd even be in the running for such lead roles. Currently, I am doing Saarthi with Star Plus in which I play the head of the family. Then there's Addhuri in which I played a typical khalnayikaa which is different from what I've been doing all these years.

You were on the Screen Awards jury last year. What was the experience like?
It was really exciting. We got to see some really nice films.

Thanks Barbie........I heard Uttarayana was one of options for oscar nomination....
thanks for the article... 👏 oscar nomination!! that's just good...