Yeh kya hai? Is Sanki Shiva back? 😆 He is moved on to the next level, using the sickle now, knives have become boring for him😆
Who is at the receiving end, Mami, Anita, Rishita, Janardhan or somebody new😆
Yeh kya hai? Is Sanki Shiva back? 😆 He is moved on to the next level, using the sickle now, knives have become boring for him😆
Who is at the receiving end, Mami, Anita, Rishita, Janardhan or somebody new😆
Originally posted by: Raingoddess
I think one of the biggest issues right now is the timeline. It’s only been a week but watching the show makes it seems like it’s been weeks. Dev & Raavi behaving so normally around each other just seems off. I understand they grew up together but what happened at the mandap was no joke. I even understand Raavi trying to move on but it’s happening too quickly (as per show timeline). I think that is also affecting ShiVi, almost making their love story too easy and convenient (for the sake of family, for the sake of Dhara, etc...)
I know we can’t discuss other shows so I’ll give vague examples. There are two shows from the ones I’ve watched where the FL gets married to the ML despite having something spark with a bro or cousin. In the first case, it was pretty clear only the bro liked her. The FL just saw him as a friend and all her anger, hatred and emotions were for the ML. So once they got married, there was no moving on to do (except for the bro who did so gracefully).
The second example showed the FL having feelings for the ML’s cousin. She met him first and they dated for a short period of time. She did believe herself to feel something similar to love for him but there was no intensity. They were to be married and things changed the last minute. She was hurt but there was a process to her moving on. Throughout, it became clear that she didn’t truly love him. There was no question of loving the ML during that journey and they didn’t share much nok jhoks. The ML was more of a friend & silent lover.
But in the case of PS, Raavi has had feelings for Dev for 10 years. Yes we may call it infatuation, mild obsession, etc... but for her it was strong enough where she wanted to marry him. And strong enough where she completely overlooked the sparks between her & Shiva all these years. In the pre-wedding scenes, we see only Shiva being affected (mostly). All this was very real for Raavi.
Therefore, the moving on process will take time. Healing will take time. And I’m sure even on the show, she has a long way to go. They just wanted to snap her out of her pity which is understandable. The problem is her and Dev not coming face to face & the scenes following her realization. I wish they showed Raavi faltering at times and trying to catch herself. For her to feel awkward and to recall old memories. There was the brief ointment scene but that’s it. Instead the two are present in family scenes & are expected to behave normally. The days are dragging on and by the time they address all this, will it even matter? The tension post the wedding & kidnap drama is coming down. And it’s only been a week in their time. The more they normalize their relationship, the less impactful a future confrontation or even conversation will be.
Coming to ShiVi, there are a few external factors that add complexity to their relationship. One being Raavi’s feelings for Dev. By making it appear as if it was never that important in the first place, they are stripping a layer & discarding it when it could have added so much substance & emotion to the story. Like that small scene of Shiva looking at the gift meant for Dev. It was so so beautiful Timing is super important and if they keep dragging, by the time they bring all this back, it really won’t matter as much (at least to us).
Another layer of complexity is Maami. Yes, she just came to the haveli but they need to bring her and Shiva face to face. Raavi’s association with Maami impacts her equation with Shiva & evokes strong emotions from him. I feel like a part of him feels guilty for having such strong feelings for MaamiKiBehenKiBeti. Feelings that don’t go away. Case in point, that scene where he hugs Dhara and feels bad he couldn’t protect her. His emotions were intensified post seeing Raavi. The longer they wait and drag, the more chances they miss.
Of course the meatiest part of their story is their childhood and I strongly believe Shiva has had feelings for Raavi since a very long time. If they settle for the two falling in love just because they are married with little or no reference to the past, the writers will be losing one hell of a story, one with immense potential.
Super long post but I honestly feel like the spark between ShiVi (as mentioned by other members as well) is losing its strength and while the actors have chemistry, it’s not being fully utilized on screen. Covid has affected so much but I see no reason for not writing a better story (given the wonderful cast and location). The tension and electrifying energy between the two is coming down and it’s very evident. Tbh, I don’t want them to fall in love anytime soon. There are so many other emotions to explore. I know most of this was already discussed but I wanted to put forth some recent observations. Once that tension and intensity is gone, it honestly doesn’t come back no matter how much the writers and actors try. It’ll be a shame if that’s what happens here. Anyway not a very well articulated post since it’s super early here & I’m super tired 😆 haha but hope it makes sense. ❤️
Damn! Where is thy Holy Charan!!! 😲
You exactly said whatever was going on in our minds. I have a problem with their peaceful coexistence, and I can already see them going The Gaura way. Gaura didn't share even a pinch of the complexity these two people have.
It's freaking baggage of 10 years. It can drive any man insane and leave him angry.
Adding to it, Dev’s half baked apology; it felt so badly done and unreal!
Originally posted by: raindropsroses
https://www.instagram.com/p/CPX6VS-r30b/?utm_medium=copy_link
Except Gautam, everyone else is hurt 😮
And this is the first show that has realistic looking clothes for a middle class family running just a provisions store 🤣🤣@Makers, it’s okay if they wear better clothes, we promise not to complain 😂
Shiva looks exactly like Suman’s son. Everything about him is like Suman!
The rest of the boys have taken the charm from their father perhaps. 😆
Originally posted by: maanmeet1
can anything be explained in such a true manner....I don't think so....I read in and every word and agree to it.....they are not thinking about how much time has passed, what feelings they harbor for each other for one another.....dynamics have changed totally and they need to give time.....
the scene u explained was beautiful.....
thanks for writing this
Thank you 🤗 Glad it made sense 😆 I really hope they take a step back and reassess the story soon!
Urgh please, this is more than articulate! This is everything I've been feeling and wanting to shout in the writers' faces, thank you for penning it all down so concisely. Do post this in the main forum ❤️
Thank you and I just posted it ❤️ Glad it makes sense! I really hope the writers reassess before it’s too late! It’ll be such a shame since the story has so much potential esp ShiVi
Originally posted by: Transference
Damn! Where is thy Holy Charan!!! 😲
You exactly said whatever was going on in our minds. I have a problem with their peaceful coexistence, and I can already see them going the Gaura way. Laura didn't share even a pinch of the complexity these two people have.
It's freaking baggage of 10 years. It's can drive any man insane and angry.
Adding to it, Dev’s half baked apology; it felt so badly done and unreal!
Haha thank you 🤣 I just laughed so much at the first line. Yes! Exactly!! There is no comparing the two couples!! I’ll be done the day they make it clear that ShiVi is the new GauRa! Cuz that’s insane!!
There is so much to explore and I literally see the writers taking all that material & throwing it down the drain! And then dumping some Draino to make sure it’s gone 😆
Ugh here I want to see Shiva’s intensity and instead they are giving us Dev and his Deewani... that too in a badly executed plot line 😆 I honestly have no idea where the plot is headed!
I clearly see the writers making ShiVi easily fall in love while saving the family & conveniently blaming it on fans for wanting romance 😆
Originally posted by: EmeraldPrincess
maami ki hogi ab pared🤣
P.S. hey by any chance your UN means Shadowhunters??
Yeah indeed... Are you a fan.. I am, of books and TV series both... Right now reading chain of gold.. I cannot get enough of it.. Magnus is my favourite character 🙂🙂
Originally posted by: NephilimByHeart
Yeah indeed... Are you a fan.. I am, of books and TV series both... Right now reading chain of gold.. I cannot get enough of it.. Magnus is my favourite character 🙂🙂
Well since I read books first, so obviously I love jace's character the most.
then I watched movie and I was like it's the same as book, and I didn't like the star cast apart from Magnus.
Then I watched the TV series and I was like yeah!! That's what I was looking for😊😊
In TV I love jace, alec and then magnus. But the cast was amazing yeah
First of all, Esha, this post was absolutely beautiful! You've conveyed all the emotions that have plagued this show for at least the past month!
Originally posted by: Raingoddess
I think one of the biggest issues right now is the timeline. It’s only been a week but watching the show makes it seems like it’s been weeks. Dev & Raavi behaving so normally around each other just seems off. I understand they grew up together but what happened at the mandap was no joke. I even understand Raavi trying to move on but it’s happening too quickly (as per show timeline). I think that is also affecting ShiVi, almost making their love story too easy and convenient (for the sake of family, for the sake of Dhara, etc...)
@bold, very, very, very much agree with this point. The slowed timeline, paired with fluctuating character traits (Raavi being mad at Shiva and not letting him come near, Raavi yelling at Dhara, and Raavi shyly staring at Shiva all within a span of 24 hours is crazy ). Even if the timeline was slowed, I wish each character was consistent with what they did/how they feel. If Raavi doesn't want to accept Shiva, then fine, make her angry. Make him and the rest of the family work for her acceptance. She was betrayed at the wedding, and none of them have the right to force her to feign any sort of happiness, least of all Dhara who knew the entire events surrounding Raavi's lack of knowledge of Rishita to her near suicide.
Originally posted by: Raingoddess But in the case of PS, Raavi has had feelings for Dev for 10 years. Yes we may call it infatuation, mild obsession, etc... but for her it was strong enough where she wanted to marry him. And strong enough where she completely overlooked the sparks between her & Shiva all these years. In the pre-wedding scenes, we see only Shiva being affected (mostly). All this was very real for Raavi. Therefore, the moving on process will take time. Healing will take time. And I’m sure even on the show, she has a long way to go. They just wanted to snap her out of her pity which is understandable. The problem is her and Dev not coming face to face & the scenes following her realization. I wish they showed Raavi faltering at times and trying to catch herself. For her to feel awkward and to recall old memories. There was the brief ointment scene but that’s it. Instead the two are present in family scenes & are expected to behave normally. The days are dragging on and by the time they address all this, will it even matter? The tension post the wedding & kidnap drama is coming down. And it’s only been a week in their time. The more they normalize their relationship, the less impactful a future confrontation or even conversation will be.
The conversation between Raavi and Dev is very much overdue. However, I am wondering if the PS staff/Akshay can give proper justice. The apology scene between Dev and Shiva was half-hearted at best for me. The words were spoken, but the feelings were not adequately displayed. It also didn't help that Shiva brushed his apology aside by saying, "You're my brother. Why the apology?" I wish he took some more time to say those words as Dev's one decision changed Shiva's life forever. Because we know this is a happy show, we know that ShiVi will find happiness and a happily ever after with each other, but what if, post-fight, Raavi actually decides it's better to divorce? Or what if 1 year from now, she decides she really doesn't want to live with Shiva as he fails to bring her the adequate amount of happiness? Or what if Shiva decides he doesn't like Raavi as a wife?
What I didn't like post-apology was how everything returned business as usual for the brothers. I know if I impacted my sister's life with a decision like Dev's, I would feel horrible (even after the apology), and I would do everything in my power to fix things, whether it be to give ShiVi the space they need, speak to Raavi and Shiva independently to figure out their feelings and see if I could help in any way.
Originally posted by: Raingoddess Coming to ShiVi, there are a few external factors that add complexity to their relationship. One being Raavi’s feelings for Dev. By making it appear as if it was never that important in the first place, they are stripping a layer & discarding it when it could have added so much substance & emotion to the story. Like that small scene of Shiva looking at the gift meant for Dev. It was so so beautiful Timing is super important and if they keep dragging, by the time they bring all this back, it really won’t matter as much (at least to us).
One scene that I really loved in the Telugu version was a scene where Raavi's friend comes over to their house to visit. She doesn't know Raavi and Shiva married (just knows Raavi is married and thinks it's with Dev), so she blurts out some facts about Raavi's past, including how Raavi ended up getting a tattoo of Dev's initials on her wrist (the actress playing Raavi actually had a tattoo). Rishita, who heard this, became pissed and was about to lash out, but then Raavi notices that Shiva was there, behind her, hearing the entire conversation about the tattoo. He leaves from there abruptly, and Raavi becomes disheartened because at this point in the show, she actually really likes Shiva and respects his opinions.
Shiva goes to his normal thinking spot to reflect on his marriage. Up until this point, Raavi's feelings for Dev have been brushed aside with occasional reminders every now and then (also in the Telugu show, Raavi and Dev had an actual confrontation on the night of their respective weddings where Raavi lashed Dev out for being a two-timing cheater that didn't deserve her), but this was when they truly "buried" Raavi's past and Shiva's insecurities because he realizes that he doesn't care for who Raavi loved/what Raavi did in the past. Because the Raavi he loves and cherishes is the woman he married, and as such, he will always hold her close and dear to his heart.
That tattoo scene was the final nail and coffin in their relationship as after this, their love story truly began. Up until then, they were skirting around each other with their feelings, but after this scene, they became more confident in their approach to each other. It was a beautiful arc, and I thought the writers did absolute justice in pushing forward the story while letting the audience know that the past shouldn't matter if the person truly changed.
When rejecting Dev in Pandya Store, Raavi actually said something along the lines of "The second I found out about the other girl, I knew I wasn't going to get married to Dev!" It's clear Raavi wants to marry a man who loves her and only her, which Shiva can provide her with as he loved/was infatuated with no one else in his life. But, I wish she also reflects on the past and thinks about how it may affect/not affect her relationship with Shiva moving forward. Unlike Shiva, she spent almost an entire childhood dreaming of becoming Dev Pandya's wife. And Shiva knows all of this (we even see him getting impacted by all of this when he looks at her gifts). I hope they actually address this instead of just pushing all of this under the bus. Just as Raavi deserves the best, even Shiva deserves the best.
Originally posted by: Raingoddess Of course the meatiest part of their story is their childhood and I strongly believe Shiva has had feelings for Raavi since a very long time. If they settle for the two falling in love just because they are married with little or no reference to the past, the writers will be losing one hell of a story, one with immense potential.
The benefit of watching a regional show that is miles ahead is that I was able to get a glimpse into the "future." I think this is a deviation from the original, but Shiva, in the Telugu version, eventually confesses that he had feelings for Raavi during her childhood (they actually showed the child actors for 2-3 episodes in this version). It wasn't full blown love, but it was a crush that he couldn't ignore. That crush caused him to displace all his anger for Maami onto her as he just wanted to see her become "evil" so he could brush aside his feelings. But she never was evil or vile. She was nice, and those feelings never disappeared. The only reason he didn't dare think of pursuing his feelings is because he knew just how infatuated she was with "smart, charming, handsome Dev" and he didn't think he was any of that. Plus, he was quite sure she would've rejected him, so he just tried to ignore those feelings as best he could.
Out of everything, ShiVi's childhood is a point of fascination for me. I want them to reflect on all the little things they've done in their childhood and see how it impacts their relationship. Easy love, love at first sight... they all bore me. I love stories where two characters have a tough time at relationships. Where there is a lot of complexity/layers they need to address before falling in love. Marriage by no means should be the precedent for their love story. Instead, they should've used the ShiVi marriage as a way to force them to communicate as they are forced to be in the same confines of the room. Their nightly scenes should transition from nok-jhoks to them discussing what happened during the day.
I would've loved to see Raavi lost in her thoughts about how terrifying Dhara is, and Shiva noticing the change in her expressions. Or, I would've loved to see/hear Raavi mindlessly pull Shiva to the bed and say, "Look Shiva, I know we hate each other, and I know you have a lot of choice words, so put that mouth of yours to good use and insult the person I am just about to gossip about."
I'll stop this long post here, but I totally agree... so much potential which is quickly fading away...
Originally posted by: EmeraldPrincess
Well since I read books first, so obviously I love jace's character the most.
then I watched movie and I was like it's the same as book, and I didn't like the star cast apart from Magnus.
Then I watched the TV series and I was like yeah!! That's what I was looking for😊😊
In TV I love jace, alec and then magnus. But the cast was amazing yeah
I watched TV series first and then watched movie (didn't like it at all). Series, everyone was wonderfully cast. Jace, Alec, magnus, izzy, Simon, clary even Sebastian.. and books are a delight to read...
I think in books will herondale and julian blackthorn are well written character. I am waiting for wicked powers series so I can read more about ty and kit. 🙂🙂
comment:
p_commentcount