Bollywood News, Bollywood Movies, Bollywood Chat

Chapaak and Panga: Future of female-oriented cinema depends on them? - Page 2

mintyblue thumbnail
Anniversary 15 Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 0 Thumbnail + 4

2019 was a bad year for female-centric cinema. Not a single female-oriented script worked at the box-office or was a clean hit( including Manikarnika, which did not recover its budget). EKLDTAL, Sky is Pink, Judgemetal Hai Kya, Khandaani Shafakhana and Mardaani 2 all opened below 5 crores.

In the present scenario, female-oriented cinema isn't working at the box office, and hence 2 upcoming films- Chapaak and Panga- will present a litmus test of sorts, considering they have stars who are among the highest-paid in the industry - Deepika and Kangana. Both these films clash with biggies starring bankable male box-office stars. I don't know whether this will affect the standing of these films, even though they seem like superior products, but we all know the bias of the industry.

Discuss.

Ur-Miserable thumbnail
Anniversary 8 Thumbnail Group Promotion 7 Thumbnail + 4

Chappak from trailer looked so B grade like, while for its subject matter, it deserves success and all attention, but I don't think it will bring any revolution if it is as mediocre like it's trailer. But than again Chichorre didn't looked like a blockbuster either, but it turned out to be a huge hit and one of the best movie of the year.

Paanga can be next decade's English Vinglish, but box office wise, while I hope it grosses more than TWMR, but it doesn't look like a huge grosser, but than again I won't mind being surprised.

Shaitan-Haiwan thumbnail
Anniversary 12 Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 0 Thumbnail + 6

Mardaani 2 is a hit