Nisha0604 thumbnail
Anniversary 9 Thumbnail Group Promotion 6 Thumbnail Engager 1 Thumbnail
Originally posted by: blue5sky

Hello everyone!

Managed to get back on the thread today what an explosive update!

II's map of the world ... We all have our own. II has it really stark.
Everything is aaar or paar for her. All or nothing. Quick to love and quick to distrust 😲 .
Rajan has his reputation preceding him everywhere but we don't ever know him to a lecher, sly or even a starer. His affection for chachu comes essentially from acceptance - him being a sibling although I'm not sure if they ever connect for anything reason other than habit.

All those people who missed me thanks for asking and caring. Much better now

😊

GREAT TO SEE YOU ASMA
Were you sick?😭
II will always be nervous about loving or liking Ranjan because she knows her husband will never share that feeling. Its a horrible place to start your marriage in, plus they dont live overseas or away, she lives in the same house with Ranjan. Being who she is its impossible for her to hate him, though according to her husband that what he feels for his Dad😭
PriteeMisra thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 0 Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 0 Thumbnail + 5
SVM, totally agree with you post about arranged marriages, influence of culture, people where we are bought up.

Excellently put by you.
EnVee thumbnail
Anniversary 11 Thumbnail Group Promotion 3 Thumbnail
Hello. I have found a nice way to use power cut. Whenever possible, I walk out and do a brisk walk in the apartment in the dark. Serves many purposes. ðŸ˜›

I hope everyone is doing good. All those celebrating karva chauth.. I was thinking of you guys. While walking I could not see the moon at all
Errantnomad thumbnail
Originally posted by: moonwearer

<font size="3">I think in today's context the horoscope matching or parents choosing Maapillai custom is slowly falling apart...
An iyer boy /girl brought up in Delhi one brought up in Mylapore Madaveethi, Srirangam and Bangalore may have some common aspects but a lot of differences.
I see that all around. . As it is a sardar family residing in chennai whit 2 girls one with a circle of friends who were Tam brams so she was keen only on finding an iyer groom. She argues she cannot adapt to a Punjabi household...A marati speaking student of mine argues i find nothing in common with a pune based professional other than the community...how will i spend my entire life that way?

Being born and brought up in Bangalore their preferences of cuisine seems different. bearing the influences of the place they grew up or lived in.
I find this the case with a lot of the nephews and nieces raised in different parts of the world.

Home plays a major role in shaping our beliefs in our childhood, in young adulthood it becomes friends and the circle we move in and later the work place if we stay long enough and the new relationships we forge has a bearing on how we operate.

In our system where the girl marries and moves in with the husband and his family in most cases you need to find acceptance and mentoring in the customs and practices.
A dysfunctional home can be confounding to someone like II who is all the time seeking acceptance and validation from those around and bends backwards to do what would make others around happy.
The two are temperamentally different in many aspects. If they communicate and realise the space if affords it can be a harmonious symphony...if that doesn't happen it will be quite an uphill climb...the dude is accustomed to it she is a novice in trekking teamed up with a high altitude trekker. He needs to see how the pace can be matched...she has not even got acclimatized expecting her to move to a summit attempt is trying.

When parents choose your spouse you have someone to blame when you make the choice you are accountable...in both you need to work to make it succeed

</font>

Perfect, well put Sri... I think with every decade that passes, there's a little shift in attitude and tolerance too. And it's the balance between the parents and the children and their influences/ exposure which makes it that bit easier to work on marriages , arranged and love . Cos I believe that all marraiges are work in progress in our life span.
Errantnomad thumbnail
Festivals which ought to bring joy at times become a hard bone to chew .
Golu, it's how many steps or who has for the best figurines...and whose should we attend in terms of prioriy .
Diwali, the gifts we exchange, a pkt of sonpapdi is just discarded...
KC, who has got the best thaali around ...whose MIL, DIL is great. We are constantly and relentlessly judgemental
Kanjak... , chachi did not even give an opportunity to get invited. It's endless.

No offence meant towards any one particular. Where's the simple joy of distribution of homemade sweets or attending golu, eating sundal and happily singing without the pressures of being judged upon .
It's just a thought .

And sadly it's us women who end up being cruel to each other with our attitudes and wordsEdited by Errantnomad - 8 years ago
putti77 thumbnail
Anniversary 9 Thumbnail Group Promotion 5 Thumbnail
Envee

Even I can't see moon in Bangalore..
sonalgupta2004 thumbnail
Anniversary 9 Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 0 Thumbnail + 3
Ok guys Chand nikal Gaya got to go 😃
putti77 thumbnail
Anniversary 9 Thumbnail Group Promotion 5 Thumbnail
Originally posted by: sonalgupta2004

Ok guys Chand nikal Gaya got to go 😃

Run Run...
Before it plays hide n seek..
moonwearer thumbnail
Anniversary 9 Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 0 Thumbnail + 3
Originally posted by: Errantnomad

Festivals which ought to bring joy at times become a hard bone to chew .
Golu, it's how many steps or who has for the best figurines...and whose should we attend in terms of prioriy .
Diwali, the gifts we exchange, a pkt of sonpapdi is just discarded...
KC, who has got the best thaali around ...whose MIL, DIL is great. We are constantly and relentlessly judgemental
Kanjak... , chachi did not even give an opportunity to get invited. It's endless.

No offence meant towards any one particular. Where's the simple joy of distribution of homemade sweets or attending golu, eating sundal and happily singing without the pressures of being judged upon .
It's just a thought .

And sadly it's us women who end up being cruel to each other with our attitudes and words

Agree with you on all points except the last...i find today the cruelty has permeated to kids...Festivals were meant for socialising  dining together exchanging pleasant tidings...today you find consumerism, aloofness and flaunting of wealth has become the norm...i was appalled to hear one 7 year old put down another saying the brand you have is inferior to mine the criterion being in costed an additional 0.
We find people sitting clued to the TV...others have cocktail gatherings for whatever be the festival...Bangalore schools are having Halloween parties and You have Thanksgiving dinners...Who ever heard of observing Ganesh Chaturthy with item numbers blaring and TV shows with debates if traditions are being preserved by X generation or Y?
I was nostalgic of Chennai Navrathri...Didn't savor it the way i used to...simplicity and warmth have become passe.
You have Amazon, Flipcarn, Cyncart, Snap deal...etc etc etc unleasing a consumeristic festival time folks end up buying unwanted stuff...
The AkshayaThritya and Dhantheras jewellery madness is scary to say the least
Nisha0604 thumbnail
Anniversary 9 Thumbnail Group Promotion 6 Thumbnail Engager 1 Thumbnail
Down the same path

Ranjan came looking for her around 9 when she was rearranging the things in the second floor living room,
"Ghar ki safai?" Puttar?" he asked

"I was just bored Dad" she mumbled not looking up at him
"Arey theek hai neeche aa ja, I will give you a bunch of audit reports from Excelsior" he chuckled

She looked up and smiled at him
He noticed she was upset

"Sab theek?"

She nodded

"Aap kab aaye?"

"4 ghante ho gaye" he chuckled

"U must be like a breeze, very quiet" she smiled

"Khaana kha chuki beta?" he asked
She nodded

She had left her phone downstairs, he brought it up

"Kisi ne call kiya?" she asked eagerly

"I didnt see betaji" he said  thoughtfully

"Achha Monday ko, I spoke to your Dad, he said around 4 hai discharge, I know Safdarjung, 6 baj jaayenge,
main  Dhyan ko kehta hoon 4 baje pahunch jaayega, saath mein Mahavir ko le lega, maine Assisting Angels se baat ki aaj, do nurse ghar par aa jaayenge" he said

II stared dumbfounded, she knew he was an exceptionally busy man who worked 18 hours straight some days, he met with Ministers and CEOs of companies
The Maruti parts suppliers and Maruti execs waited for days to touch base with him, he sold the most of what they made and he was able to influence manufacturing decisions for them
Excelsior was now a "Delhi pride"

Here he was arranging for Periappa's visit

"Dad Periappa has nurses already"

"Oh yes yes, I spoke with that company, had Assisting Angels speak with them too, they can come up with a plan for load sharing. Maine agle hafte 3 din Punjab showrooms mein hoon" he said making a face

"We will be fine"

"Appa ko kaha nahi maine" he said fearfully

"You are afraid of him?" II asked innocently

"Tey aur ki? Dar to lagega mainnu... aadmi inna sakhat haiga" Ranjan chuckled

"R&B is not afraid" she said smugly

"Usko kisi ka dar nahi" Ranjan sighed walking away

She visualized R&B walking in that evening to propose to her and then tell Appa "I want to get married"

Her heart skipped a achy painful beat, PLOPPP

Rakshasan!!!!
Tall, in neatly ironed formal pant suit, holding the brown paper bag she had left at Sam's
That famous glint in those eyes

She leaned on the chest of drawers so she could reminisce some more...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
He threw his book down and went to his phone to check if she had called

He visualized how she looked in the half saree the late afternoon he went in to return her books and bookmarks
Like a goddess... those saucer like kohl lined eyes, the long braid with the Iyer parandi
She smarted when he opened her door, like he had touched her... every pore senstive

The room suddenly losing all its oxygen
She stumbled off the divan... tall elegant... feminine...
He could still feel her body beneath his by the Godrej
She had looked at the French note many times... it was worn out and loved
Just like how she felt to him after love making

He shut his eyes and walked down the path some more...
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~