Looks like John Abraham is set to.......

canada87 thumbnail
Anniversary 18 Thumbnail Group Promotion 5 Thumbnail + 2
Posted: 18 years ago

Looks like John Abraham is set to break the mould again.

From Priyadarshan''s comedy "Garam Masala" to B.R. Chopra''s family drama "Babul" to Kabir Khan''s intense "Kabul Express" - Hindi cinema''s "cool villain" has his kitty full of varied characters this year.

"I''m constantly looking for challenging scripts... I feel I''m starting anew," John told IANS as he chatted about life and times after his super hit "Dhoom" in an exclusive interview.

Excerpts:

How does life look to you now?

Absolutely cool. I've just started shooting for Priyadarshan's "Garam Masala". It's my first time with Priyan, my first film with Akshay Kumar and Paresh Rawal and also my first comedy.

After "Dhoom" I'm so immersed in my career, I've no time for anything else. I like going into unexplored territory. I like the sense of adventure that my roles seem to offer me now.

How has "Dhoom" changed your life?

Honestly in terms of project, nothing has changed. I had signed three films before "Dhoom" and they're in various stages of completion: Soham Shah's "Kaal", Priyan's "Garam Masala" and a Milan Luthria film that Ramesh Sippy is producing, arguably the best script I've heard.

But yes, after "Dhoom" I did feel more accepted by the film industry. The film fell into the commercial framework, so I was finally looked at as a mainstream actor. But to me, success means getting to work with an 'A' list of directors and producers. From where I stand I can't gauge where I am.

Didn't you get greedy after "Dhoom"?

No. People said I had hiked my price after "Dhoom". But it's a nominal hike. I don't think I'm in the position to demand too much money. At the risk of sounding ignorant I just don't know where I stand.