Mishubaa thumbnail
Anniversary 18 Thumbnail Group Promotion 4 Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago
Hussain's blushing bride tells all!

Tina gives her first ever interview to the media.

She can't stop talking about the past decade, 10 years of a steady relationship with television heartthrob Hussain. Tina Darira, a designer by profession, knew Hussain right from college, and romance blossomed in neighbourhood ice cream parlours and classrooms, flourished even after. He became a TV celeb, she chose her own vocation. As of 21 December 2005, Tina and Hussain became man and wife, putting an end to endless rumours about Hussain's romances with co-artistes.

In a heart to heart chat with Riya V Anandwala, Tina talks about how the two first met, how religion proved an obstacle to their marriage and what lies ahead for the couple.Excerpts

Tina and Hussain get cozy on a recent trip to Agra

How did you meet Hussain?
It was in college. Hussain and I were studying in Jai Hind (a south Mumbai collge). We met through common friends. He used to actively participate in all the extra curricular activities and I used to stay away from all that. My friends would force me to participate in activities and that's how we met and became friends.

When exactly did you fall in love?
There was mutual attraction, but both of us were tight lipped for some time. We had a common friend called Satish who played Cupid. He told Hussain about my feelings and me about his, and both of us were thunderstruck! I can never forget the scene. It happened at Natraj ice cream parlour behind our college. That's how our relationship started.

Did Hussain always want to be an actor?
Not really, it happened gradually. It started with commercials. Hussain calls me his lucky charm as he signed his first TV commercial (Thums Up) when I entered his life.

Did Hussain's attitude change after getting into the TV industry?