Da vinci Code...Dan Brown - Page 6

Posted: 17 years ago
One more interesting thing I would like to mention here.

In the book it is written that with the passage of the last millennium(2000), we have come past the astrological Age of Pisces( the Fish). The Age when man must be told what to do by the higher powers because man is incapable of thinking himself. And now we are entering the astrological Age of Aquarius(the water bearer). The age when man will learn the truth and be able to think for himself.

Somehow, I am very much stirred by these staements. Don't you think in the last century we have progressed too fast. Why out of twenty centuries, it is the last one? Why waited for the last one? That to the introduction of computers in the last decade has brought about revolution in the society and our thoughts to share as well. Here we can learn, express and share thoughts, we truly have the freedom of speech. Somehow the timing is near the end of the previous millenium.

What do you think? Edited by Pradarshak - 17 years ago

Originally posted by Pradarshak

One more interesting thing I would like to mention here.

In the book it is written that with the passage of the last millennium(2000), we have come past the astrological Age of Pisces( the Fish). The Age when man must be told what to do by the higher powers because man is incapable of thinking himself. And now we are entering the astrological Age of Aquarius(the water bearer). The age when man will learn the truth and be able to think for himself.

Somehow, I am very much stirred by these staements. Don't you think in the last century we have progressed too fast. Why out of twenty centuries, it is the last one? Why waited for the last one? That to the introduction of computers in the last decade has brought about revolution in the society and our thoughts to share as well. Here we can learn, express and share thoughts, we truly have the freedom of speech. Somehow the timing is near the end of the previous millenium.

What do you think?

I was thinking abt this whole thing... i think that i MAY provide a link to this riddle if not the solution (it may look a roughy one.. but try to put them in sequence). To me, we have to look at the big picture..

I will take some guidance from two philosophers.  U said that "The Age when man must be told what to do by the higher powers because man is incapable of thinking himself" Well to explain this i have to look back. One of the philosophers said that man had a very civilized and structured life initially. Look at Mohinjodaro and Harappa civilizations, nearly 5000 years ago, the architecture, the planning and the strategy was something that even astonishes the people of this techno age. The Archeologists even today r not able to read their ancient language. Look at the pyramids of Egypt. we couldn't figure out the exact technique of building them even now. Somehow i see that the passage of this technology wasn't done to the future generations, why? i don;t know... this technology seems to b somewhere lost in the woods and the future generations couldn't get that.. Now we don't have that technique to build pyramids that will last for the next 3000 years!!!  If u see the timelines, we'll find that after this era the greek philosophers did a remarkable job in finding the facts of the hidden truth. There was great work done by Aristotle, Archimedes, Buqrat and many other scientists and mainly philosophers who laid the background of sciences. It was like the man scratching his surroundings and thinking to find the hidden truths...

Then comes the era where Ibn sina, Al-kindi, Al-khawarzami, Ibn-e-batota and many other scientists did a great great job in their work and went into the depth of the facts ... After them comes the era of science ... where we went for technological developments. As a result we have the computers and other scientific advancements today which u have referred.

In the light of these facts, I think that b4 the Age of Pisces, man scratched the surface and found abt himself and the surroundings. Then in the Age of Pisces he was told to only develop the technology as far as he could. In this development I think he lost the Philosophical basis and grounding which he possessed earlier. And he just focused for the technology and might have lost that "philosophical binding" and mental thinking that rose the humanity to a better platform. Though I totally agree that we have technological advancements in this era, but somehow the basics of humanity is lost. e.g. nowadays we people may not have enough time for  ourselves, Spiritual (individual/inner) growth,etc. And  I may not be able to exactly figure out wht the "lost philosophical binding" is, u people put some thinking forward as i said earlier that this may b just a link to solve the riddle given above. And now in the age of aquarius, i think in future man may look back to find his lost spritual and philosophical basics to where he belongs. i.e. The age when man will learn the truth and be able to think for himself. Or Man will go back to find the roots from where he came from, where he belongs and may come out of JUST  the "technological developments" and also satisfy his desires and need for his spiritual and philosophical growth e.g. today most people r preferring the treatment of different herbs and medical techniques like acupuncture from ancient China, Vedas, ancient Greek medical herbs for the treatment of different diseases rather than going for the latest medicines composed of chemicals. Once i read that Japanese doctors tired to cure cancer patients from the combination of just Olive oil and some local herbs and they succeeded!!!.

i have read the book and at first i completely believed the facts,but then i also read a lot of things which opposed what dan brown said in his books so now im not entirely sure what to believe,
actualy a few days back i watched this british movie called Revelation and i was shocked,it was sooo similar to the Da vinci code!! i mean not only about the Mary Magdelene part but also the whole plot itself...the only difference was here everyone is searching for this box,which they discover contained the 2 nails that christ had been crucified with....
But i must say that The Da vinci code was one book that was totally unlike anything ive read before and i thorougly enjoyed it...and i can wait to watch the movie!!
Originally posted by MNMS

I was thinking abt this whole thing... i think that i MAY provide a link to this riddle if not the solution (it may look a roughy one.. but try to put them in sequence). To me, we have to look at the big picture..

I will take some guidance from two philosophers.  U said that "The Age when man must be told what to do by the higher powers because man is incapable of thinking himself" Well to explain this i have to look back. One of the philosophers said that man had a very civilized and structured life initially. Look at Mohinjodaro and Harappa civilizations, nearly 5000 years ago, the architecture, the planning and the strategy was something that even astonishes the people of this techno age. The Archeologists even today r not able to read their ancient language. Look at the pyramids of Egypt. we couldn't figure out the exact technique of building them even now. Somehow i see that the passage of this technology wasn't done to the future generations, why? i don;t know... this technology seems to b somewhere lost in the woods and the future generations couldn't get that.. Now we don't have that technique to build pyramids that will last for the next 3000 years!!!  If u see the timelines, we'll find that after this era the greek philosophers did a remarkable job in finding the facts of the hidden truth. There was great work done by Aristotle, Archimedes, Buqrat and many other scientists and mainly philosophers who laid the background of sciences. It was like the man scratching his surroundings and thinking to find the hidden truths...

Then comes the era where Ibn sina, Al-kindi, Al-khawarzami, Ibn-e-batota and many other scientists did a great great job in their work and went into the depth of the facts ... After them comes the era of science ... where we went for technological developments. As a result we have the computers and other scientific advancements today which u have referred.

In the light of these facts, I think that b4 the Age of Pisces, man scratched the surface and found abt himself and the surroundings. Then in the Age of Pisces he was told to only develop the technology as far as he could. In this development I think he lost the Philosophical basis and grounding which he possessed earlier. And he just focused for the technology and might have lost that "philosophical binding" and mental thinking that rose the humanity to a better platform. Though I totally agree that we have technological advancements in this era, but somehow the basics of humanity is lost. e.g. nowadays we people may not have enough time for  ourselves, Spiritual (individual/inner) growth,etc. And  I may not be able to exactly figure out wht the "lost philosophical binding" is, u people put some thinking forward as i said earlier that this may b just a link to solve the riddle given above. And now in the age of aquarius, i think in future man may look back to find his lost spritual and philosophical basics to where he belongs. i.e. The age when man will learn the truth and be able to think for himself. Or Man will go back to find the roots from where he came from, where he belongs and may come out of JUST  the "technological developments" and also satisfy his desires and need for his spiritual and philosophical growth e.g. today most people r preferring the treatment of different herbs and medical techniques like acupuncture from ancient China, Vedas, ancient Greek medical herbs for the treatment of different diseases rather than going for the latest medicines composed of chemicals. Once i read that Japanese doctors tired to cure cancer patients from the combination of just Olive oil and some local herbs and they succeeded!!!.

I know u people might think that im going a bit too high over this issue😕... but its something that during a  discussion i was able to link this with that discussion and this topic...  i thought that  the "age of pisces or aqurius" was just a fiction mentioned in the book.. but the discussion let me to think over it again....

Well back to the point... wht the philosophers said was that "humans possess  a kind of " collective maturity level" during an era... and that maturity level brings some of the greatest human beings ever".. now relating to my post i think that the maturity level b4 the age of pisces was extremely high... but due to some reasons that maturity level wasnt passed to the coming generations... so it got a slump... after that.. may be... in the near future i think that the "Age of aqurius" may refer to the regain of that "peak maturity level" so that the man may b able learn the truth and b able to think abt himself...

Moreover... i noticed one thing... the word "truth" is used... and this is very crucial to understand wht stands for the word "truth" to get the whole essence of the sentence... At least at the moment im unable to get complete meaning of this word "truth"....

Originally posted by MNMS

I know u people might think that im going a bit too high over this issue😕... but its something that during a  discussion i was able to link this with that discussion and this topic...  i thought that  the "age of pisces or aqurius" was just a fiction mentioned in the book.. but the discussion let me to think over it again....

Well back to the point... wht the philosophers said was that "humans possess  a kind of " collective maturity level" during an era... and that maturity level brings some of the greatest human beings ever".. now relating to my post i think that the maturity level b4 the age of pisces was extremely high... but due to some reasons that maturity level wasnt passed to the coming generations... so it got a slump... after that.. may be... in the near future i think that the "Age of aqurius" may refer to the regain of that "peak maturity level" so that the man may b able learn the truth and b able to think abt himself...

Moreover... i noticed one thing... the word "truth" is used... and this is very crucial to understand wht stands for the word "truth" to get the whole essence of the sentence... At least at the moment im unable to get complete meaning of this word "truth"....

Thanks. That was some nice thoughts you put in words.

To me the whole thing looks like an ENIGMA. There is a saying " Believe nothing of what you hear, and only half of what you see." Par kya karey, ummeed ki tarha biswas pe bhi duniya kayam hai.

I am currently reading the book, and am about halfway through. I hard to tell whether what he is saying is fact or faction. Either way, his writing style is fantastic and the book is so captivating! The way he writes the book makes it seem that everything in the book is true.
actually there's the film out for it in the US and coming to UK called the Da Vinci Code but has actors lie tom hanks in it. They've Hollywoodised it
Hi...I havent read the book yet....but frm what I understand its a novel, its fiction...Brown has woven his imagination and facts together and created a compelling saga..which misleads us to believe it, just as a good book always does..coz there's a lot of historical facts in the book n in btw he throws in his imagination...So why is this whole controversy..whether its true or not..isnt it a piece of literature?

And another doubt..is what relationship does Da Vinci's picture have to Christ? Da Vinci's "The last supper" is a painting by him..using his imagination...so what if there is a woman in the picture..how does that in any way prove that Christ and Mary Magdalene were married..Da VInci drew it..for his whims..

I dont know much abt the book and things..so if I said some blunder 😆 ..plz correct me..but this is a genuine doubt!