•  
  • Page of 1 Go
  •  
Posted: 14 years ago

Baichung Bhutia, once nicknamed 'The Sikkimese Snipper', is set to shoot back legally after Mohun Bagan imposed a six month suspension.

Baichung Bhutia is still mum on his suspension issue. But, that things are not in a stalemate situation is aptly proved by Ushanath Bannerjee holding a press conference on Tuesday at the Calcutta Sports Journalist club.

Ushanath is a lawyer by profession and is also the legal adviser of the Football Player's Association (FPAI) of which Baichung is the president. Ushanath is also the lone Indian representative in the five member legal council of International Football Player's Association (FIFRO) recognized by FIFA.

Speaking on the superstar's behalf the lawyer has demanded manfully that Mohun Bagan's suspension decision has no legal validity.

What makes him think so? Ushanath clarified: "There are definitely loopholes in the entire issue. If Baichung wants to move to the court he will have the law on his side. But it will be entirely his decision as to which path he wants to tread."

What makes him so confident? To this question Ushanath would put across the following points:

Clause 22 a(a) of the IFA constitution clearly mentions you cannot take to task any footballer without giving him a proper hearing. This was not done by Mohun Bagan in case of Baichung. Even the letter which was handed over to the footballer doesn't contain the word "showcause". It only mentions a few allegations.

Mohun Bagan has no right to suspend Baichung as he is a free player. He definitely has a contract with the club till 2010 but the 2009-2010 agreement comes in to effect once he becomes registered with IFA. As for the 2008-2009 contract is concerned it has become null-n-void once the season has got over. How can one suspend a free player at the end of a season?