NOVEL~*Hiding behind a Stranger*~Thread 10 - Chapter 15 - UPD 11th SEP - Page 60

binduprasad41 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: karkuzhali

<font face="Comic Sans MS, Times, serif" size="3">Good Morning Sahib and Sahiba!</font>

<font face="Comic Sans MS, Times, serif" size="3"> It's Spring time in Australia!</font>

<font size="3" face="Times New Roman, Times, serif">Bahadur. </font><font face="Comic Sans MS, Times, serif" size="3"> </font>Image result for spring in sydney

Good morning aunty
beautiful pic
binduprasad41 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail

<font face="Comic Sans MS, Times, serif" size="3">Good Morning!</font>

<font face="Comic Sans MS, Times, serif" size="3">Australian Brekkie...</font>

<font face="Comic Sans MS, Times, serif" size="3">Weet-Bix ..a product of Australia..</font>

Image result for australian breakfast cereals

<font face="Comic Sans MS, Times, serif" size="3">Toast with Vegemite spread..made in Australia.</font>

<font face="Comic Sans MS, Times, serif" size="3">Kiwi fruit Juice..</font>
<font face="Comic Sans MS, Times, serif" size="3">Devonshire tea...</font>

Image result for devonshire tea

wow aunty
thank you for Australian brekkie
Sandhya.A thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: sashashyam

Let forget for the moment about all these high faluting concepts, Sandhya dear. Let us concentrate on what our Maryada Purushottam actually does.

- First, he lies to his wife, that she is being taken to get the blessings of the rishis and the rishipatnis. So much for this descendant of Maharaja Harishchandra! Did the maryada of the Raghukul not shrivel up when their descendant was lying thru his teeth and defrauding his wife in this manner?

Why does he not have to guts to face her and tell her the truth? She would then, the strong woman that she is, have left him and his precious kingdom on her own and gone back to Mithila.

- What is far, far worse, truly horrible, is that he does not arrange for a safe alternate living place for the wife about his love for whom he babbles so much. Instead, he has her dumped in the middle of a forest, with no shelter and no food and no protection. This would, in 99% of the cases, have been the same as having her killed.

What does this say about our Maryada Purushottam, not just as a husband, but even as a king? Sita is also a subject of his, and an innocent subject. Is she not entitled to his protection?

And what does dumping your pregnant wife in a forest and leaving her to a likely death have to do with the maryada of the Raghukul? If their maryada is dependent on this sort of behaviour, it would have been better that it was destroyed.

- How does he decide on a vanvaas for her, that too not in a safe ashram, like the one in which he started his own vanvaas, but in middle of a forest on her own? She is not his property for him to dispose of her like a piece of unwanted junk or garbage, is she? She is not guilty of anything, so he has no right to punish her. So what gives him the right to treat her the way he does? Why does he not arrange to send her back to her father?

- What does a ruler having a clean moral record have to do with any of this? Why should Rama even let any of his subjects question Sita's purity? If that dhobi had been severely punished for his bloody impertinence in the open court - any other king would have decapitated him on the spot for treason - then the rest would have said that he deserved what he got and that would have been the end of the matter.

It is Rama's unbelievable near collapse in the court that gives that chap ideas, and leads to his haranguing the rest of the populace and getting their at least tacit consent to his line. I have never seen a king so weak that he caves in so easily to such defamatory blackmail, and chooses the line of least resistance: abdicate or abandon his wife.

It does not even occur to him to face the problem and fight for what he knows is right. Instead, he succumbs to what he knows is wrong only because he cannot argue with his ancestors. He is like a thali ka baingan, with no powers of judgement and no convictions of his own. Wah re wah!! What sort of king is this?

Incidentally, what was all that nonsense his ancestors were spouting, that if he gave up the throne, the Raghukul would die out? When Bharata was asked to become the king, no one said that because of Dasharatha's folly, the Raghukul was going to die out. So why can Bharata not rule Ayodhya now if Rama abdicates? And as for giving up the kingship, what did Harishchandra do? He gave it away on a platter to Vishwamitra. Did the foundations of the Raghukul and its maryada not totter then?

To revert, Rama, when he was only a stripling, had the guts to argue with his father, the rajguru and the whole populace of Ayodhya to convince them to set aside a millennial tradition, and agree not to sacrifice the ashwa of the Ashwamedha Yagna. Now, when a much greater issue is at a stake, he is so weak that he runs away without facing the issue and trying to solve it.

Agree in toto.👍🏼

- And after the wife, about whose indispensability for his existence he used to rave so much, has been disposed of to suit his convenience of the moment, he weeps like a four inch pipe in full flow. I felt like clouting him, Maryada Purushottam or no Maryada Purushottam.

🤣 much like our Jalal. I've also seen an earlier version, a LavKush movie, where NTR played Shri Ram. He was equally weepy after dumping her in the forest. May be not this much, but a 2 inch pipe in full flow. But the boys were gems. They lashed out at the Ayodhya-pati in no uncertain terms. Used every argument they could and called the Raghuvanshi Raja worse than Raavan.

I do not think you have taken into account the extent of damage this one god-who-was-a-man's conduct, and the example he sets here have done to Indian women down the ages. They became the gold standard for assessing and treating women right till the last century. Perhaps even now, depending on the place.

Sita Maiyya ko bhi agnipariksha deni padi thi, so tum kya ho?
Sita Maiyya ko bhi vanvaas jaana pada tha, so tum kya ho? Nikalo is ghar se! Yahan tum jaisi kulita ke liye koyi jagah nahin hai!

Again and again and again and again, and all because what Rama did here gave religious sanction to the worst kind of male autocracy, oppression and brutal treatment of women for millennia.

This was the worst outcome of his decision. How did he not forsee it?

Why, in Raj Kapoor's Awaara, his father kicks out his expectant wife for exactly the same reason, that she was kidnapped by a dacoit and then rescued.

So, Sandhya, I have left you in no doubt as to where I stand in this matter. I am sorry if I sound positively violent, but this passage has always made me see red, even when I was a teenager. In fact I am glad to have this opportunity to bring out all that bottled up anger.

One more thing. One cannot cite "the times" to excuse Rama's conduct. He is supposed to be a pattern card of perfection for all time to come. He belongs not just to his age but to all ages, and his behaviour should have fitted in with that. But we make him a God even when he was pointedly a man - all my critiques of him above are about the king and the man - and thus place him permanently above criticism.

🤔

If I were Sita, I would be looking around for ways to get out of marrying this man again for the other six janmas. I cheered when she refuses to undergo another agnipariksha at the end of the Uttara Kanda and goes back to her mother Bhoodevi. If I had been Lava or Kusha, I would never have forgiven my father for what he had done to my mother, and I would never have gone back with him to Ayodhya.

Lastly, I believe those who assert that the Uttara Kanda was never part of the original Adikavya of Valmiki, but was a later insertion at a period when the status of women in Bharatavarsha had deteriorated badly from what it was during the times of Gargi. It is an ugly annexure that we could have very well done without. Even if you compare Valmiki's Sita and Tulsidas' Sita. you can make out the same difference, the same change for the worse in how Sita's stature is perceived.

Shyamala Aunty

This is what my Grandmom also used to say. That Uttar Ramayan was thrust by the chauvinists and can never be true. The Ram of Ramayan could NEVER be the Ram of Uttar Ramayan. I have always adored Ram and have always felt highly uncomfortable about his Uttar Ramayan conduct.😕

Kuki715 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Let forget for the moment about all these high faluting concepts, Sandhya dear. Let us concentrate on what our Maryada Purushottam actually does.

- First, he lies to his wife, that she is being taken to get the blessings of the rishis and the rishipatnis. So much for this descendant of Maharaja Harishchandra! Did the maryada of the Raghukul not shrivel up when their descendant was lying thru his teeth and defrauding his wife in this manner?

Why does he not have to guts to face her and tell her the truth? She would then, the strong woman that she is, have left him and his precious kingdom on her own and gone back to Mithila.

- What is far, far worse, truly horrible, is that he does not arrange for a safe alternate living place for the wife about his love for whom he babbles so much. Instead, he has her dumped in the middle of a forest, with no shelter and no food and no protection. This would, in 99% of the cases, have been the same as having her killed.

What does this say about our Maryada Purushottam, not just as a husband, but even as a king? Sita is also a subject of his, and an innocent subject. Is she not entitled to his protection?

And what does dumping your pregnant wife in a forest and leaving her to a likely death have to do with the maryada of the Raghukul? If their maryada is dependent on this sort of behaviour, it would have been better that it was destroyed.

- How does he decide on a vanvaas for her, that too not in a safe ashram, like the one in which he started his own vanvaas, but in middle of a forest on her own? She is not his property for him to dispose of her like a piece of unwanted junk or garbage, is she? She is not guilty of anything, so he has no right to punish her. So what gives him the right to treat her the way he does? Why does he not arrange to send her back to her father?

- What does a ruler having a clean moral record have to do with any of this? Why should Rama even let any of his subjects question Sita's purity? If that dhobi had been severely punished for his bloody impertinence in the open court - any other king would have decapitated him on the spot for treason - then the rest would have said that he deserved what he got and that would have been the end of the matter.

It is Rama's unbelievable near collapse in the court that gives that chap ideas, and leads to his haranguing the rest of the populace and getting their at least tacit consent to his line. I have never seen a king so weak that he caves in so easily to such defamatory blackmail, and chooses the line of least resistance: abdicate or abandon his wife.

It does not even occur to him to face the problem and fight for what he knows is right. Instead, he succumbs to what he knows is wrong only because he cannot argue with his ancestors. He is like a thali ka baingan, with no powers of judgement and no convictions of his own. Wah re wah!! What sort of king is this?

Incidentally, what was all that nonsense his ancestors were spouting, that if he gave up the throne, the Raghukul would die out? When Bharata was asked to become the king, no one said that because of Dasharatha's folly, the Raghukul was going to die out. So why can Bharata not rule Ayodhya now if Rama abdicates? And as for giving up the kingship, what did Harishchandra do? He gave it away on a platter to Vishwamitra. Did the foundations of the Raghukul and its maryada not totter then?

To revert, Rama, when he was only a stripling, had the guts to argue with his father, the rajguru and the whole populace of Ayodhya to convince them to set aside a millennial tradition, and agree not to sacrifice the ashwa of the Ashwamedha Yagna. Now, when a much greater issue is at a stake, he is so weak that he runs away without facing the issue and trying to solve it.

- And after the wife, about whose indispensability for his existence he used to rave so much, has been disposed of to suit his convenience of the moment, he weeps like a four inch pipe in full flow. I felt like clouting him, Maryada Purushottam or no Maryada Purushottam.

I do not think you have taken into account the extent of damage this one god-who-was-a-man's conduct, and the example he sets here have done to Indian women down the ages. They became the gold standard for assessing and treating women right till the last century. Perhaps even now, depending on the place.

Sita Maiyya ko bhi vanvaas jaana pada tha, so tum kya ho? Nikalo is ghar se! Yahan tum jaisi kulita ke liye koyi jagah nahin hai!

Again and again and again and again, and all because what Rama did here gave religious sanction to the worst kind of male autocracy, oppression and brutal treatment of women for millennia.

Why, in Raj Kapoor's Awaara, his father kicks out his expectant wife for exactly the same reason, that she was kidnapped by a dacoit and then rescued.

So, Sandhya, I have left you in no doubt as to where I stand in this matter. I am sorry if I sound positively violent, but this passage has always made me see red, even when I was a teenager. In fact I am glad to have this opportunity to bring out all that bottled up anger.

One more thing. One cannot cite "the times" to excuse Rama's conduct. He is supposed to be a pattern card of perfection for all time to come. He belongs not just to his age but to all ages, and his behaviour should have fitted in with that. But we make him a God even when he was pointedly a man - all my critiques of him above are about the king and the man - and thus place him permanently above criticism.

If I were Sita, I would be looking around for ways to get out of marrying this man again for the other six janmas. I cheered when she refuses to undergo another agnipariksha at the end of the Uttara Kanda and goes back to her mother Bhoodevi. If I had been Lava or Kusha, I would never have forgiven my father for what he had done to my mother, and I would never have gone back with him to Ayodhya.

Lastly, I believe those who assert that the Uttara Kanda was never part of the original Adikavya of Valmiki, but was a later insertion at a period when the status of women in Bharatavarsha had deteriorated badly from what it was during the times of Gargi. It is an ugly annexure that we could have very well done without. Even if you compare Valmiki's Sita and Tulsidas' Sita. you can make out the same difference, the same change for the worse in how Sita's stature is perceived.

Shyamala Aunty

👏👏 Fantastic post aunty...
I remember during initial epis,when it came to that horse he kept on blathering about not killing it,but when it came to sita not a WORD.So much for Maryada Purushottam Ram😡
Kuki715 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Good Morning!

Australian Brekkie...

Weet-Bix ..a product of Australia..

Toast with Vegemite spread..made in Australia.

Kiwi fruit Juice..
Devonshire tea...

Good morning aunty😊.
Other day Sri Lankan today Australian,so now we going international😆
sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
My dear Pallavi,

And I love it that you young folk have the same bent of mind that I have, of questioning and analysing before one accepts or approves of anything. Here of course there is no question of ifs and buts and kintu, paranthu. It was horrible, period. That too in an epic that was and is accepted as the template for human conduct for millennia in India. That is why I do NOT believe that the original Ramayana had this intolerable addendum,

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: al_pal

Hello Aunty , hope you are doing good. This is the very quality of yours which I love . Analyzing things, be it serial, be it tradition . You analyze them with knowledge you have got all these years and then form a opinion , I only respect such people . Because this quality of people helps us evolve such a person or community & then we can act towards the betterment of human kind.your other quality is do not takes things or words just because they are being told for centuries but question them and then from opinion. About question I am on the same page with you. 👏

<font face="Georgia, Times New Roman, Times, serif">Let forget for the moment about all these high faluting concepts, Sandhya dear. Let us concentrate on what our Maryada Purushottam actually does.

Shyamala Aunty

</font>

Shinning_Stuti thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Just went through some discussions on Mariyaada Purusottam Ram while scrolling aimlessly. May I share my views here too which I posted in SKR forum at last night also? 😳
Uttarakhand, the very controversial part of Ramayan, always have given the same pain from the days of childhood- from the day I have learnt the very basics of this great epic, has again made me stand in front of the same question... how did Ram protect his dharma by committing such an adhamra with Sita and his unborn children?
Ram was helpless! But this helplessness is the most tragic and painful part... if he would not be helpless, Sita's life would not have filled with the flow of tragedy and humiliation!
I cannot find the answer of a single question- how did an extra-ordinary personality like Ram, designated as God, become helpless in front of some distasteful gossips of some worthless common people? Were the gibberish reasons of the washer-man, who does not hold the 1/4th of the knowledge, humanity, deep study of life and sociology that Ram has, so important and logical that it moved the concrete base of belief and principles of Ram, it became more important than the struggles of Sita, their love and understanding towards each-other and the fire of Agniparikksha? A mean-minded, half-educated washer-man who is mostly skeptical and tortuous towards his wife, says that he would never have accepted his wife if he would be in Ram's place, and also commented that Ram should banish his wife to save his honour, and the king, following his pedestal, gives banishment to his extremely devoted wife forever, that too when she was pregnant with his children... why this helplessness to keep intact his 'mariyaada'? Was that so much important to keep than his patidharm and pitadharm?
He did it to follow his Rajdharm... like an ideal king should do- as we were told from childhood. What is the duty of a king towards his subjects? To take care of their livelihood and happiness, to protect them from the adversities like a father... does it imply that he is to entertain the spicy gossips of the lanes regarding his family-life and his wife's character? Does it mean that the subjects will decide her wife's character and eligibility to be a queen? Are the gossips even more evident than the proof of Agniparikksha, and his own belief on his wife? Then what was the strange power in those people's words, that set Ramchandra in dilemma- that whether he was right to accept his wife or not, and he ended up with the easiest solution to abandon Sita, to welcome a storm in his own life and destroy his personal life along with Sita forever... how did it help in his Rajdharma? What would have changed in the daily lives of Ayoddha if Ram would not send Sita away, and Lav-Kush to get a normal childhood like every prince? As a sensible person Ram should have known that he will never be able to stop these spicy gossips in market by carrying out their wishes... then why this helplessness of Rajdharm- when he himself knows what is right and what is wrong?
Think about the countless women like that washer-man's wife... They did not have the last place to get justice against the tortures of their husbands. Ram had given the verdict to the washer-man to accept his wife but he denied; and moreover his insulting words to the queen resulted greatly, and the respectable queen was banished from the palace under the same injustice. Ram did the same sin like the washer-man, set an example for all the men by doing this... now who would be there for those women whose respects always goes at stake? If a respectable woman like Sita, evidently as pure as fire can be thrown out from her house with the allegation of being an unchaste, what can be happened to the common women? What Rajdharma did Ram save by putting the future of all those women in uncertainty and unknown fear? Why did he chose such a way of 'mariyaada' where none will get any benefit?
Ram was helpless in front of the society. He knew that his actions will be questioned one day... so he chose the easiest path among all- to send Sita for exile- despite knowing she is purest of the pure, despite knowing she is the ray of his life, despite knowing he is going grave sin towards his wife and unborn children, he did it... he literally cheated Sita, he broke her belief! Sita did not lose faith and that was her greatness, but Ram did cheat Sita! He was indeed helpless... standing beside Sita, going against the whole society to keep intact her respect and honour, fighting against the conservative mentalities against women and to break the stereotypes, welcoming the change of society where males would respect women keeping the image of Sita in front... all would be a very very tough job from the throne of a king. So the easiest solution to keep up his reputation as Mariyaada Purushottam, to increase the honour of his great clan, to prove himself as a selfless king was to sacrifice the greatest blessing of his life! Ram had to do it for keeping his 'mariyaada' intact, to increase his popularity in his subjects, to secure his throne from any kind of rebellion from the spark of society, like a shrewd politician does, if we see the whole thing from the glass of 21st century! Helpless he was... helpless in front of his status, the weight of his heavy crown, the fame that he and his clan has gathered by the long sacrifices in life!
I know it is an impossible task to justify Ram from the filtered mindset of 21st century, so won't try anymore... But it gives immense pain when I think about how this helplessness of Ram, his utter injustice towards his Sita has been elevated and worshiped in the society of that time! I sometimes think that the flow of excellence qualities of Ram's character, which had once elevated him to divine, suddenly had got restricted in the stagnant rules of the society after he stepped into the shoe of a king, making him helpless to do such things that he himself could never justify! I never can find any greatness in Ram's sacrificing Sita, where in this particular part Sita beams extra-ordinarily with her strength, her positive vibe and her firm determination; her struggles as a single mother with Lav-Kush becomes exploratory that how a mother can raise her children on her own without any single help from her husband, and at last she wins against the society, by finishing her entity as a human being she proved her divinity in front of the whole hypocrite society who once had humiliated her...
Edited by Shinning_Stuti - 9 years ago
Shinning_Stuti thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Shyamala Aunty

Aunty!!🤗 🤗 You have expressed all the thoughts and questions that always arises in my mind in such a beautiful way that I was unable to do!! 👏👏⭐️

The definition of the very word 'Mariyaada' was much different in that time I suppose. In the patriarchal society of that time Ram's immense injustice to his wife and sons- rather sin against them was elevated as a exemplary act of Dharma which every king should follow, all the male-chauvinists of that time hailed to Ram's great sacrifice for sake of entertaining the distasteful thoughts of his subjects against his respectable queen, and he became an example of a great king of justice after doing such a grave injustice to his wife and all the women of the state... In this particular part Ram fails- not only as a husband or father, but also as a king!! I cannot see any way around!
harshu27 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

Good Morning!

Australian Brekkie...

Weet-Bix ..a product of Australia..

Toast with Vegemite spread..made in Australia.

Kiwi fruit Juice..
Devonshire tea...

good morng aunty with yummulicious australian breakfast...😃
Priyaadarshini thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

<font face="Georgia, Times New Roman, Times, serif">Let forget for the moment about all these high faluting concepts, Sandhya dear. Let us concentrate on what our Maryada Purushottam actually does.

</font><font face="Georgia, Times New Roman, Times, serif"><font face="Georgia, Times New Roman, Times, serif">Sita Maiyya ko bhi vanvaas jaana pada tha, so tum kya ho? Nikalo is ghar se! Yahan tum jaisi kulita ke liye koyi jagah nahin hai!

Why, </font>in Raj Kapoor's Awaara, his father kicks out his expectant wife for exactly the same reason, that she was kidnapped by a dacoit and then rescued.

Shyamala Aunty

</font>

Yes , ram was wrong in sending sita in forest .yes , he was wrong in not informing her beforehand that he was leaving her forever. Rama's deed became curse to entire womemkind. But for ram, his praja came first. Their happiness was utmost for him. Not even a single soul was unhappy. Not even a stupid dhobi who doubted his pativrata wife's character. In today's world, it is not possible but in ramrajya everybody was happy. As a husband, yes he was worst. But, as a king , he was is and always will be best. Things were different in ramrajya.
But again, he was bounded by certain rules like yudhishtra to follow his pratidnya. He wasn't perfect. And he wasn't complete god as well. We can't follow ram today. Where as we can always follow krishna even today. Because he was free .dharma could never stop Krishna from doing anything. And that's why despite having 16000 wives, krishna was brahmachari , complete nirmohi as aunty had once said.

Beautiful post , aunty. I am speechless