sgc68 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Chapter 60

Radha was right. He didn't understand. It wasn't as if a pregnancy could be kept secret for very long. "Radha, I was just excited to know. You looked so tired and you were tired when you had Charu. I thought we should confirm it. I didn't think it would upset you. Why don't you turn in? I'll finish up some work in the study and come." "Why do you want to work in the study? Are you angry with me?" "No sweetheart. I didn't want to disturb you. I really need to get some structure in the lockdown procedure." "Work from here LD. Don't leave me alone." "Okay sweetheart. Now into bed."

Radha obeys him without arguing. He covers her with the duvet and sits with her until she falls asleep. He then starts working. Finally, he feels that he has put enough body into his plans and gets ready to turn in. He removes Radha's pillow gently and rests her head on his arm as she preferred and turned off the lamp.

In the morning, Radha wakes up first. She is snuggled against LD's warm chest and his hand was warm against her womb. A small gesture of protectiveness that she had always received from him even when he had lost his memory. As she gets up to go to the bathroom she sees the kit on the dresser. Suddenly she feels the urge to know also. She takes the kit and does the test. She was about to check for the result and stops. It was only fair that LD saw the result with her. She leaves the kit on the shelf and goes to make tea for LD.

Radha brings the tea and wakes up LD. Demanding his morning hug first, he is happy to see Radha back to normal. He goes to brush and sees the used kit on the shelf. "Radha?" "I did the test in the morning." "And are you..." "You have to tell me. Remember you wanted to savour the excitement of the test being positive? So I didn't look at the result." "I don't know how to read it. I just asked for the best kit." "Does it have one line or two?" "Two." "Congratulations, you are going to be a Papa again." "Oh Radha!" and he reaches out to hug her. "Just a hug is not enough, Mr C."

LD lifts her up and carries her to the room. Lifting the flannel shirt she was wearing, he kissed her womb. "Hi Baby, this is Papa." Radha hugs him tightly. "You are the best husband in the world and the best Papa in the world too." "And you are the best wife and mother in the world." "Your tea must be cold. I'll bring you another cup."

When he finished shaving and was ready for his cup of tea, he sees a rose and a chocolate bar on his bedside table. "What is this?" "When you knew about Charu and the twins you bought me chocolate and roses. So this time I thought it was my turn - only I didn't have the time to buy them. The rose is from the garden and the chocolate I already had..." LD had broken of a piece and popped it into Radha's mouth.

At work, Radha lets Vatsala know and LD shares the news with Mr O'Brien. "We haven't shared the news with our families yet. But you have been like a father to Radha and she wanted you to know." "I am honoured." "During both her earlier pregnancies, she had severe morning sickness and so I wouldn't like to leave her alone but there is that conference that I am supposed to leave for on Friday." "Boy, your wife is more important than any conference. I'll attend the conference and you can attend the fundraising dinner that is being organised by the convent. You seem to have made quite an impression on Sister Mary. Be sure to take Radha along."

On the way home, LD pulls up at the medical store. "Radha come with me." "Here? But..." "Just come." Taking a sweet box in one hand and holding Radha's arm with the other, he goes to the shop. "Bhai Saab, I just wanted you to share in our good news. We are having a baby." "Congratulations," he stammered.

"What was that about?" "You were worried that he would gossip. Now he won't." "But you didn't say anything." "It's a man thing. You won't understand."

Sana_Jannat thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
👏 congrts 🤗
😆 nice tricks 👍🏼
Yagyaseni thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
I understood it! Radha, tera kya hoga! Congratulations!
sgc68 thumbnail
That was super fast reading. I just put up the post!
Yagyaseni thumbnail

Originally posted by: sgc68

That was super fast reading. I just put up the post!

We are fast like LD!
sgc68 thumbnail

yeah and as hotheaded as he is!
Yagyaseni thumbnail

yeah and as hotheaded as he is!

That's true!
sgc68 thumbnail

So what exactly did you understand?
Yagyaseni thumbnail

So what exactly did you understand?

Nothing significant! Just random thing!
sgc68 thumbnail

Chapter 61

On Friday, LD suggested that they take a change of clothes with them for the dinner. "I can book a room at the club and we can change there. Otherwise it will be a little hectic to come home, change and go back all the way." "Okay."

LD is busy with finalising the lockdown procedures. Hopefully he would be able to share a presentation with the staff at the next staff meeting. He needed a few details and asks for the Head Guard to come. Janani comes in and gives LD the details that he needs. He then notices that Janani is very subdued. "Are you okay? Do you feel unwell?" "No Sir. I am fine." And then a teardrop escapes. "Clearly, you are not fine. What happened? Is anybody harassing you?" Sometimes the staff could be quite cranky. "No Sir. It is an issue at home. I can't tell you. My husband works under your wife. It is not fair." "Shall I ask Radha to come here?" Janani doesn't say anything.

LD calls Radha. "Radha, I have a problem and need your help. Could you come by?" "Sure. Just give me five minutes." By the time Radha gets there, Janani is weeping. "LD what did you do?" "Nothing. She has some problems at home." "Janani what happened?" "Sameer's first wife is widowed and his family is pressuring him to leave me and take her back. And I am pregnant. I am so afraid." "Is Sameer behaving differently towards you." "No. But how long will he be able to stand against his family?"

"Janani, he went against his family when he was being pressured to marry his relative and married you. Now he is married to you and is going to be a father. Why do you feel insecure?" "You know the reason that was given for his first wife leaving him. Now they all know that it wasn't true." "Janani I can only speak as one who has been married to a man who takes his vows seriously and as one who has worked with Sameer. Sameer is a man who will take his vows to you seriously. Don't confuse yourself with unfounded fears. He looks easy going but his principles are strong. Talk to him about how you feel and you will find that thoughts of leaving you have never crossed his mind." "Okay Ma'am," says Janani wiping her tears away. As she leaves, LD asks Radha if she is confident about Sameer. "Of course. Did you forget how you stuck by me no matter what your family felt about it? Everything will be alright when the baby is born."

"If you are done for the day, shall we head to the club?" "Sure, I'll lock up and meet you at the car park. Oh dear. Vatsala had asked me to start on calcium and iron supplements and I forgot to pick them up." "We can get them at the medical store." "The one near the school?" asks Radha doubtfully. "Yes we can pick them up and then go to the club." When they reach the store, there was no parking place and so Radha had to go to the store and get the tablets. She returns perplexed. "LD, he seems to be a different man. Usually he is drooling all over any female customer but today he treated me with utmost respect." "Good. He got the message yesterday." "What was the message?" "The message was this is my woman and don't you dare mess around with her if you don't want your face punched in.'" "That was the message from a box of sweets?" "I told you. It's a man thing. You won't understand."

At the room in the club, Radha dresses in the golden lehengha that she wore at their wedding anniversary as well as the ruby necklace and ruby bracelet that she had received that day. "There is something missing," says LD. "Really? What?" "This," says LD taking her kajal and putting a dot behind her ear.

They head to the lawns where the buffet has been set up. LD meets Sr. Mary and introduces Radha to her. "Oh I am so happy to meet you. Your husband looked so woebegone when you were in hospital. I hadn't met a man so devoted that he came to buy nightdresses at the convent before. I hope you enjoy the dinner. Please excuse me. I need to welcome the other guests also."

LD finds a table for them near enough the bonfire so that Radha wouldn't feel cold and suggests that he brings back plates for both of them. "We can't have you tripping can we?" He goes to the buffet and carefully selects the food for Radha. "No. Not the pooris. My wife won't be able to eat anything oily. I'll take the dosas instead. Thanks." "I didn't realise that the formidable Mr C is actually a hen pecked husband."

LD turns to find Ms Balan standing behind him.