18th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago
ayeeyo rama idli ji heheh

pink or blue?
Xx..£uvñëët..xX thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: sensation87

umm well i dont know how to explain it😕 luvneet would be able to explain it better.....

haha.. ok bunbuttwa saab suno phir.. basically when chak de phatte is said, its used as words of encouragement or enthusiasm.. like if u say it to someone it means "U go get em! Cmon!" or "go wild!" like that kinda thing..

Literally speakin tho, chak de phatte means lift the wooden planks.. or raise the floorboards.. chak de means lift/raise and phatte are the floorboard thingos. Ok i looked up where it originated from, jus for my own curiousity too, and i found out that in the old city of Lahore ppl played caramboard 😃 and they called it a phatta.. and whenever someone won they would say "assi phatte chak ditte".. so now its used in that sense whenever u win or achieve somethin, u say "phatte chak ditte"..or if ur telling one to go achieve somethin n all that u say "chak de phatte" or even jus "chak de".. same thing 😃

Oh and this is some except i found on some site.. pretty interesting.. check it out:

Chak De Phatte -though loosely translated as pick up the floorboards is more of a war cry than a housekeeping call. The origins of the phrase lie in the times when the Khalsa i.e. the original warrior Sikhs were formed, they would cross canals and attack Mughal camps in a blitzkrieg attack and then just as they came would retreat leaving the enemy helpless. The sport of tent pegging also evolved from this camp raiding where the riders would remove the pegs of the tents trapping the occupants under, what then used to b a very heavy fabric. While escaping back to their base the Khalsa warriors would dismantle any temporary bridges constructed by them (made out of "Phatte") to prevent the Mughals from chasing them and sometimes to prevent the enemy from escaping, hence the cry "Chak De Phatte". The phrase then acquired the meaning: to complete the route. And is now used as in the figure of "Bring the house down!".

-Luvneet

Originally posted by: sensation87

luvneet u gave the same option once b4 as well?rite?? 😆 😆

lolz nah that was permanent marker or whiteboard marker hehe

and i chooose blue!

Next: Chak de phatte or assi phatte chak ditte 😆😉

bunbutt_too thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Originally posted by: luvneet

lolz nah that was permanent marker or whiteboard marker hehe

and i chooose blue!

Next: Chak de phatte or assi phatte chak ditte 😆😉

Inna soo mutlub chey?

Originally posted by: bunbutt_too

Inna soo mutlub chey?

was that gujrati 😕 well.. read my post about what chak de phatte means.. i wrote it allll out for u.. and ur tellin me u haven't read it 😲 go read it now!

archangel thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
its too long luvneet could you shorten it I'm LAZY
66567 thumbnail

was that gujrati 😕 well.. read my post about what chak de phatte means.. i wrote it allll out for u.. and ur tellin me u haven't read it 😲 go read it now!

I understand it..😆
66567 thumbnail

Originally posted by: archangel

its too long luvneet could you shorten it I'm LAZY

Simple transaltion.. just means to "bring down the house".. or "lets go get em"..as Luvneet said.. words of encrougement..
bunbutt_too thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Thank you ji. Now I understand the meaning. I am sorry I did not look up before asking the meaning. Galti seh mistake hoh gayela tha. Woh gujarati nahi who bhel puri jaban hai, a little this, a little that and all of everything else😉

raj5000 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: bunbutt_too

Inna soo mutlub chey?

omg omg.. that was too funny...

assi phatte chak ditte keeps anyday...

gud naal ishq mitta or kali teri chotti si, parada tera?