OVERVIEW

STORY

NEWS

VIDEOS

DISCUSSION

Star Plus - The FALLEN Supremacy & How Can They REDEEM Themselves

The old horse seems to be struggling to be consistent.

Kunal Nirmal Kothari Thumbnail

Kunal Nirmal Kothari

View Profile

The position of being numero uno and Star Plus have almost been a synonymous term over all these years, where the first-to-be-launched Hindi GEC (General Entertainment Channel) has been a juggernaut for over 25 long years.

From the Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi to a show like Star Bestsellers, the channel revolutionised entertainment viewing across all ages and in umpteen ways.

However, after an elongated phase of untouched supremacy, the channel has been going through a rough patch lately, which has led the team to start scratching their heads.

And infact, this past week saw the channel's worst fall to the 6th spot in urban ratings, only above Sony Pal, a channel that airs re-runs.

The current line-up of the channel is not the pattern rating-grabber it is expected to be. Apart from the quintessential long runners, it is time they think of the best redemption strategy when it comes to other shows. Here, I analyse the rise, fall and possibilities on how can they come back with a bang.

The Rise & Rise With The 'K' Factor

We continue to attribute Ekta Kapoor with the letter K and the mammoth success stories it produced. And while there cannot be any debate about that, there was another K which became one of the prime reasons for the channel's rise. Before you rack your brain too much, we are talking about Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi, Kahani Ghar Ghar Ki and Kaun Banega Crorepati. While the former was Ekta Kapoor's brainchild, the latter was Mr. Amitabh Bachchan coming on the small screen for the first time and offering a chance for the common man to be a millionaire. It is not that the dawn of millennium did not see competition for Star Plus, but the unprecedented success of these three shows, in particular, made it the most watched channel of those times.

The Balance Of Quality and Quantity

While these potboiler soap dramas and game shows were ruling the masses, we had content blooming at its best, where Star became one of the first ones to showcase 'bold concepts.' Star Bestsellers had the most amazing stories as an anthology series and while it raised several eyebrows, it was widely applauded too. The channel was doing everything right and catering to both, quality and quantity lovers.

What Followed Was Untouched Supremacy

The next thing we know, Star Plus continued to hold its position inspite of a barrage of GECs coming in and trying to topple the leader. The only flicker came in with Colors being launched back in 2008 and since then the up and down battle between both the channels has been a common phenomenon.

The Numbers Are Dwindling

Star Plus, as a channel is not really used to be looking at the 3rd or 4th spot, let alone the 6th spot when it comes to rankings of channels every week. But, the same has now become a recurring instance, as the current lot of shows don't fetch the desired numbers apart from a couple of them truly shining. A re-branded channel like Star Bharat has gone on to beat Star Plus multiple times in recent history. Why is that so?

When Experiments Were Overdone

The channel is known to take bold and unconventional steps and it has always worked out for them too. However, in recent times, the same has become frequent thus leading the viewers to resort to other channels for wholesome entertainment. While shows like Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai and Yeh Hai Mohabbatein continue to have a decent 2+ rating every week, other mega shows like Ishqbaaaz and Naamkarann have lost the plot except one or two instances. And, experiments like Rishton Ka Chakravyuh, Ikyawann or Meri Durga haven't been successful per se. 

The Debacle Of Star Plus Dopahar

One of the biggest reasons for the show's GRP taking a toll has been the failure of the re-introduction of Star Dopahar. It seemed like the idea would work, as it was a roaring success years ago, but nothing went according to the plan. 

The result was 4 shows getting shut and Tu Sooraj Main Saanjh Piyaji managing to escape the curse, where the shift to evening slot worked wonders for the show.

The Lack Of Rural Connect

We see Colors having shows like Shakti... Astitva Ke Ehsaas Kii and Udaan working immensely well owing to its rural connect despite having popular actors as protagonists. While, Yeh Rishta.., Yeh Hai Mohabbatein and Ishqbaaaz depict the urban flavour with precision, a raw and rustic show is what the channel might need to re-generate the eyeballs.

The Serious Need Of QUALITY Reality Shows

One point which I strongly believe in is that the channel is in desperate need of genuinely good reality shows now. A try like The Great Indian Laughter Challenge or a cliche like India's Next Superstars is NOT going to work out for them. Dance Plus franchise has been the channel's only saviour, but the implementation of a sure-shot formula is the need of the day. We have a channel like Sony TV, who is currently pretty much surviving on the success of Super Dancer Chapter 2.

Current Scenario & Upcoming Line-Up

With only two shows constantly making it to the Top 10 list every week, rumours about the channel deciding to pull down the curtains on multiple shows have been doing the rounds. While, Rishton Ka Chakravyuh and Meri Durga have already faced the axe, the fate of others has been a juggle. The satirical comedy, Har Shaakh Par Ullu Baitha Hai may just be the rural connect show that the channel has been lacking so far, but again, it won't be grabbing humongous numbers. On the other hand, there is actor Mohit Malik's comeback show, Kullfi Kumarr Bajewala co-produced by Gul Khan, which seems an interesting prospect to look at.

But, will these shows be the fate turners one would expect them to be? We can only wait to see!

What do you think? Leave in your comments below..

Your reaction

Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
Fail
Amitabh Bachchan Thumbnail

Amitabh Bachchan

Divyanka Tripathi Thumbnail

Divyanka Tripathi

Mohit Malik Thumbnail

Mohit Malik

Nakuul Mehta Thumbnail

Nakuul Mehta

Surbhi Chandna Thumbnail

Surbhi Chandna

Gul Khan Thumbnail

Gul Khan

Kaun Banega Crorepati poster

Kaun Banega Crorepati

Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi poster

Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi

Kahaani Ghar Ghar Ki poster

Kahaani Ghar Ghar Ki

Dance Plus poster

Dance Plus

The Great Indian Laughter Challenge poster

The Great Indian Laughter Challenge

India's Next Superstars poster

India's Next Superstars

Rishton Ka Chakravyuh poster

Rishton Ka Chakravyuh

Meri Durga poster

Meri Durga

Super Dance Chapter 2 poster

Super Dance Chapter 2

Naamkarann poster

Naamkarann

Tu Sooraj Main Saanjh Piyaji poster

Tu Sooraj Main Saanjh Piyaji

Ikyawann poster

Ikyawann

Udaan poster

Udaan

Kullfi Kumarr Bajewala poster

Kullfi Kumarr Bajewala

Shakti... Astitva Ke Ehsaas Kii poster

Shakti... Astitva Ke Ehsaas Kii

Ishqbaaaz poster

Ishqbaaaz

Star Plus thumbnail

Star Plus

Sony TV thumbnail

Sony TV

Colors thumbnail

Colors

Sony Pal thumbnail

Sony Pal

Star Bharat thumbnail

Star Bharat

Comments (53)

Star Plus needs to know that what worked 10-20 years back will not work now!! Specially at the age of internet!! Zee and Sony shows at least are of substance, but all SP shows are the same in new packet, barring Naamkaran (which I have not watched for quite a few months, and believe it still has substance). First of all IB, YHM and YRKKH should be pulled of!! These shows are complete eye sore, but I believe they are the only shows with 1+ TRPS, so expecting them to shut down is way too much!!! But every time I watch IB I fell like banging my head on the wall, NO logic, No flow, No character consistency...that show is a mess!! Yet the channel does not intervene!! As some one has mentioned Gul Khan, Rashmi and to some extent Ekta are responsible for ruining TV and SP has been promoting these producers. It is high time SP takes new producers with new shows!! But SP still needs to go down further for it to come back to senses!!

6 years ago

well well well..

Lets see SP in the name of Nayi Soch have given only purani soch shows. I have never understood what YRKKH is. From the start when ever I tune in, its always functions, festivals. I wonder if the show had anything more to offer than these celebrations going on year on.

When they experiment, they experiment too much hoping audience say "WOW" & watch it.

Male leads are simply useless in nearly all the Star Plus shows. Either they are the Devils in disguise or they are total fools. Female leads are Devis & Mahadevis always saving their families & so forth. I despise myself when I watch YHM these days until the show was at 11pm slot, it had a strong male lead, when it came to 7:30, male lead turned into an monster - who has probably more harmonal issues than an pregnant lady. Female lead is genius who can run corporate company successfully with in few days, people who go on a strike will listen to her baashan & start working. A dog (few episodes wonder) with no minimal police training can spot bombs - yes you heard it right, it spotted "Bombs" with just sniffing around cartons. If a non-regular SP viewer tune into these scenes, they'll be furious with themselves for watching this stupidity & would never tune into these dumb shows.

Ego is an big issue with nearly all SP PH's as well. Gul Khan should be the flag bearer on this regard. IPK3 was an disaster, no idea why they had to choose a lead who didn't want to do anything to do with TV's when he quit IPK - despite channel offering him all sort of favors back then. Had this hppd to say Sony or Zee, they might have never given a second chance to the actor who didn't pay heed to their requests.

Now compare this to a another low TRP grabber channel Sony - they give more importance to male leads. The thing with Sony is they listen to their audience, like when the brought the second season Kuch Rang serial after it ran its ...

6 years ago

Star plus had there best shows during 2013. IpKKND, EHMMBH, PKDH, Arjun, Mahabharath, EHT, Sarswathichandra, DABH, TMLS. After these shows there were only very few shows which had good content like Dahleez, POW, Tamanna, TMH all these show had ended only because of TRP issues. Content wise these shows were excellent but alas channel didn't give a chance to PH & show to tell the story. I would say the hunger for trp lead to down fall otherwise channel do have the guts to come up with quality shows but doesn't take the risk to continue these shows only because of TRP race. And as many people said shutting channel V, Life ok & star dophar were foolish movement by star as these channel had content wise good shows.

6 years ago

Guys watch Tu Sooraj Main Saanj Piyaaji ... rocking show

6 years ago

IF, you should include IPK3 in the list since it was SP's biggest flop show of 2017 despite all the brouhaha and the grand promos on social media. Either you forgot to include that or you purposely left it out. But nevertheless, Karma has served SP what it deserved...same thing said for Gulshit Khan.

6 years ago

The Downfall started with IPK 3 .After that Star never recovered.The viewers who left Star never came back.
There is no NAYI SOCH.
Karan Johar Judging a talent show for Bollywood !!! what a joke. He is the face for support of NEPOTISM.He will never let any real talent through.Bollywood always promotes mediocre talent.I feel so sorry for all those youngsters who have come with so much hope.
Star never allowed any other producers except Gul,Ekata and Rashmi .Why? In a country of more than a Billion people there can only be three PH making programmes.
In any big corporation THEY WILL SACK THE MANAGEMENT .That is what is needed at Star for a long time.That is what needs to happen if the fortunes of the channel are to change.

6 years ago

@Amulya I totally side with you about shutting down channels like star one, V and Life ok. These three gave me few beautiful serials like MJHT, GHSP, Sadda haq season 1, D series, panch, harhar mahadev and BHRK.
I miss them thought Starbharth is ok but still old is gold for me. If only SP makes the balance for kids and adults it may raise its supremacy one more time.

6 years ago

Maybe that's why they thought of RE-telecasting IPK season 1 on star utsav after 6 yrs.

6 years ago

Star Plus and Sony are two channels which seem to be on a spee of trying to bring fresh content but fail in garnering trp's and then they once again go in search for some more fresh content only to fail again. Both these channels have likely the same fate.

I think any channel has both good and bad shows, I keep waiting for colors to bring out another show like RR, BH but they keep bringing only regressive shows and they ended a good show like ESS on having some petty dispute with makers of the show. Zee seems to be interesting these days with so many new shows but only time can decide as almost all shows are good at the start.

PS - I especially miss Star One, V and Life Ok, those were the channels which always had something too good to watch.

6 years ago

i still prefer star over zee(kkb kdb mehak etc.) colors(mockery of kinnars shakti, superregressive dilsediltak udaan)
star plus downfall starts after mahabharat end. during mahabharat(2013-14) they tops chart with highest ever grp they achieved (850 grp) soon after mahabharat they slowly starts declining. Till end of 2017 they tops charts but with lesser grp nd low margin but after shutting dopahar slot theu lose their top position but star plus is the only channel which gave us new content and better quality show like everest ,pow,dahleez,manmarzian,mahabharat,badtameez dil,ek hasina thi,NAUC ,ipkknd,tamanna,navya,tere liye,dabh no other channel takes risk of creating better quality and substancial shows iknw at start colors takes risk of creating social shows like balika bt balika vadhu uttran naagin all those shows r superregressive
i will always choose star bcoz star gave me childhood memories with their shows like shararat,shakalaka,sonpari,karmA,khichdi,karishma ka karishma,vikral gabral etc
i hope they will rise again like never before

6 years ago

Latest Stories