Kangana Ranaut says she will return her Padma Shri if they answer her simple question

Bollywood actress Kangana Ranaut again making headlines with her controversies. The actress took to Instagram to now post some textbook quotes in reference to her controversial statement.

Team India Forums

View Profile
Kangana Ranaut

Kangana Ranaut said today that she will return her Padma Shri and apologise if anyone can answer a question she has about her azadi comment. 

In a recent television interview, the actor stated that India gained its independence in 2014, when Prime Minister Narendra Modi came to power, and that what it received in 1947, after a decades-long struggle by freedom fighters, was "bheekh," or handout. 

“Everything is very clearly mentioned in the same interview 1857 first collective fight for freedom... along with sacrifice of greats like Subhash Chandra Bose, Rani Laxmibai and Veer Savarkar ji. 1857 I know but which war took place in 1947 I am not aware, if someone can bring to my awareness I will give back my Padma Shri and apologise also... please help me with this," she posted earlier today on photo-sharing app Instagram.

Kangana Ranaut, the 34-year-old actress who has been banned from the microblogging platform Twitter for  her Controversial comments , has sparked numerous controversies in the past. 

Today, the actor appeared to imply that she referred to the Congress as a "beggar," citing some select opinions about the party from a history textbook. The textbook was not identified. 

“Just to clear the air...I am not the only one who has referred to Congress as a beggar "she stated, referring to the book 

Soon after her "bheek" comments, several political parties said that the actress should be charged for bringing India's freedom struggle and its fighters into disrepute. 

In reference to her 2019 period film "Manikarnika: The Queen of Jhansi," in which she played freedom fighter Rani Lakshmi Bai, the actor stated that she had done extensive research on the 1857 struggle. 

"... nationalism arose, as did the right wing... but why did it die suddenly? And why did Gandhi let Bhagat Singh die... why was Neta Bose murdered and never received Gandhi ji's support? Why was the line of partition drawn by a white man...? Instead of celebrating freedom, why did Indians kill each other are some of the questions I'm looking for. Please assist me in finding answers (sic) "she inquired, doubling down on her accusation. 

She went on to say that even a "minor fight by the INA" would have resulted in India's independence and Subhas Chandra Bose as Prime Minister. 

Why was freedom placed in the begging bowl of Congress when the right wing was willing to fight for it and take it... Could someone please assist me in understanding, "She penned something. 

The actor also clarified a portion of her statement in which she stated that the country gained "freedom in 2014." 

In terms of Aazadi in 2014, I specifically stated that we may have physical Aazadi, but India's consciousness and conscience were set free in 2014... a dead civilisation came alive, fluttered its wings, and is now roaring and soaring high..." 

Your reaction

Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
Fail
Kangana Ranaut Thumbnail

Kangana Ranaut

Comments (1)

We are with you kangana😊😊