OVERVIEW

ABOUT

TV SHOWS

NEWS

VIDEOS

DISCUSSION

FANCLUB

Immortal..Ishmeet Singh Sodhi

Our Heartfelt condolences to a Voice who had become India's and World's voice in such a short time, and will always remain in our hearts. May his soul rest in peace.

2nd September 1989-29th July 2008

"Nainam Chidanti shastrane,Naninam Dahti Pawakh:
Na Nainam Claydayntoyapo,Na shoshyati Maruth :"

Weapons cannot cut this self, fire cannot burn it,
water cannot wet this self, wind cannot dry it.

And his Passing Words........

Just a few days ago, I had the chance to speak to Ishmeet Singh Sodhi before

he left for for a stage show. He couldn't contain his excitement as he said that despite his ouster from the reality show Jo Jeeta Wohi Superstar on Star Plus he wasn't disappointed. “When I got eliminated I realized how Harshit must have felt when he lost to me during Voice of India. I could feel his dejection and pain, so I wanted him to win the title this time. But it was not to be”, quipped Ishmeet.

The singer from had also mentioned how he has traveled the length and breadth of with his stage shows. “Performing before a two lakh strong audience is an altogether different high. Woh ek alag hi nasha hota hai. And I am fortunate that winning Voice of India has made most of my dreams come true”, he opined.

On being asked how he felt about the second edition of Voice of India and the thought of giving away his title soon he had said with his characteristic optimism, “Koi baat nahin. Voice of ka pehla winner toh main hi hamesha rahunga na? Newer singers are welcome but the first Indian Idol will always be Abhijit Sawant, the first Sa Re Ga Ma Challenge Champion will always be Debojit Saha and Ishmit Singh, the first Voice of India”, said Ishmeet.

The affable singer was gung ho that he was working on a religious album “a little contribution for my community. It's a big project and if all goes well, I may be singing a devotional song with Lataji. Singing with her would be an honor than any prestigious singing assignment…I am keeping my fingers crossed”, he had signed off.

Little did he know that days later Lata Mangeshkar would instead be paying a tribute to the singer he was and the 'voice' she had appreciated, awarded and welcomed into the Hindi music industry!

As...told to: Kshama Rao

Tributes........

Vishal Dadlani, who's touring with the Bachchans and who recently judged Ishmit in Star Plus' Jo Jeeta Wohi Superstar, messaged his tribute to the ever-smiling Voice of India..

"He was a true talent, a decent human being, a sincere and focused singer. May God grant his family strength to bear this loss, and pride in his accomplishments, He held his head high, always conducted himself with dignity. It's sad to have lost someone with so much potential."

Sumitra Iyer:

We all went to the Concert in Maldives and we all planned to swim after lunch but we were all feeling sleepy so went to sleep and decided that we will meet after one hour. I got a call after an hour to come, but I told them I am feeling sleepy. After few minutes, I got another call that Ishmit has drowned. He doesn't know swimming, but he took the chance and went to the deeper side of the swimming pool and was drowned. The police are now taking down the detail investigation with the authority and also the people of the company. It is very unfortunate that this happened. We are carrying the body with us and we will hand over his body to his family.

Abbhas Joshi:

Actually we all were going for the concert to Maldives, but things did not work out for me and I cancelled my going. Yesterday I got a call from the news channel saying that Ishmit has met with an accident. I told my manager to get the confirmed news and it was shocker to me when I heard about his demise. I do not know whether he knew swimming or not, but I saw his uncle on TV where he said Ishmit did not know to swim. I am now going to Ludhiana to pay my tributes.

Himani Kapoor:

I have no idea what exactly happened, but I feel everything was going bad for him as he had met with three accidents in a span of one month. One was on the Pune highway, another in Malaysia, but he did not survive the third time. This is destiny!! It was a shock for me and if someone comes and tell me that it is joke I will believe that!!

Irfan Ali:

Since I heard this unbelievable news things are going all haywire for me. Initially I thought it would be a joke, a prank or something. But then because of the interviews we gave to different news channels, the bitter truth is now sinking in that Ishmeet has left us. It’s unbelievable i tell u. He was such a nice guy and was very close to me in Voice of India. I still remember we used to play pranks on him and he used to come to me and speak out his heart as he always felt close to me. I have interacted even with his father and he had asked me to always stay beside him. I have too many fond memories of all the times spent with him, and I am getting flashes of all the good times.. It is a big loss personally for me and also to the music industry, I must say.

As told to: Kshama Rao, Ranjini Nair, Barnali

"When good men die their goodness does not perish, But lives though they are gone.... "

(c)Nishtha/Tellybuzz

Your reaction

Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
Fail
Himani Kapoor Thumbnail

Himani Kapoor

Lata Mangeshkar Thumbnail

Lata Mangeshkar

Joshi Thumbnail

Joshi

Vishal Dadlani Thumbnail

Vishal Dadlani

Debojit Saha Thumbnail

Debojit Saha

Comments (86)

RIP
i wonder who was behind is death
god bless

15 years ago

he was such a simple looking guy and an amazing singer ..wenevr he sang it touched the heart becuz he sang from his heart..may his soul rest in peace..he left his name and gave his family lots of pride so sad he died at a young age

15 years ago

May ur soul rest in peace.
JAB TAK CHAAND SITARE RAHENGE TUM HAMESHA YAAD RAHOGE.

15 years ago

this is so shocking
he was only 19 and he is no longer with us
itz so sad
thanx for shaing anyways

15 years ago

Ishmeet u will always remain in our hearts
u were really the voice of india
may ur soul rest in peace

still cant believe dat he is no more
cant control my tears whenever see news about his death in tv channels

15 years ago

oh no wht has happened
feels sa sad
may god bless his soul

15 years ago

wtf yaar.....i can't understand ....getting so much fame nd jus dying lyk dat......shitt yaar.........it's relli sad yaar..........my condolenses to his family

15 years ago

This is so sad. Can't believe that he's died. RIP :( Inshallah Allah will grant you a place in Heaven.

15 years ago

Reading the news on Ishmeet has been very heartbreaking. It's so difficult reading the news without getting emotional.

May you rest in Peace Ishmeet. So deeply missed by all.

15 years ago

can anyone please post the video of Ishmeet's state funeral?......i couldn't see him for the last time.........Will miss u a lot dear brother......May ur soul rest in peace...you will definitely be born again as Ishmeet,the great singer....

15 years ago

Latest Stories