OVERVIEW

STORY

CAST

FORUM

NEWS

'I live for the moment and don't believe in dreams' - Harshad Chopra

Harshad Chopra, the adorable Prem of Kis Desh Mein Hai Meraa Dil in a candid conversation...

Ekta Kapoor's latest blue-eyed boy, Harshad Chopra has always been famous for the roles he has played on television be it of Ali of Left Right Left, Akshat of Amber Dhara or currently PremKis Desh Mein Hai Meraa Dil. Here's television's latest chocolate boy in a candid conversation with Telly Buzz reporter Ranjini Nair.

How does it feel to be termed as Ekta Kapoor’s new blue-eyed boy?

Blue-Eyed boy??? (Laughs). I have no idea I was termed that. I am just working and doing whatever Ekta asks me to do. In fact, recently I heard a buzz that I am in Mahabharat too. I have no idea about that either. All I know is that I play Prem in Kis Desh Mein Hai Meraa Dil.

You have worked with various production houses before taking up an offer in Balaji. So how do you describe your career graph? What did you learn at every stage?

I started my career with a Shobhna Desai Production, Mamta, after which I worked with Deejay’s in Left Right Left and then Amber Dhara happened. This is the first time I am working with Balaji. If I had to describe my career graph I would say that working with Shobana Desai has thought me the basic technicalities of television and my graph has just been rising ever since.

The serial Kis Desh Mein... has managed to gain an enormous fan following in a very short span. Even the TRPs are getting higher and higher. What do you think are the main attributes for the serial to click from day one?

I wouldn’t say that the show clicked with the audience right from the first day, but it rose slowly. We are doing quite well and I think the biggest attribute is the show’s creativity. The dialogues rendered are outstanding while the scenes shot are exquisite. That is what attracts the audience to the show.

Your on screen chemistry with Aaditi Gupta has been the talk of the town. How do you feel when your fans adore your jodi?

It is always good to know that people like you and appreciate your work. The problem comes when people do not appreciate your work. We both are working hard to be liked by people and it is definitely paying off.

Talking about the recent success Kis Des has got, SPA has proved very lucky for you and Aaditi. Did you believe that you would be amongst the winners this year?

From the moment the character was narrated to me, I was dying to play the role and I knew it was going to be a hit. I was quite stunned that Ekta ma’am offered the role to me but I was very thankful that she did, as I was hoping she would give at least two percent of what she narrated, as the role was great.

How was your experience of the SPA Night? Can u share with us a memorable moment from SPA?

It was the most beautiful experience of my life. I had been craving for the award and I had never been nominated in my 3-year career. It was my birthday and I was nominated for the first time. I was nervous but I still tried to appear normal, and was quite stunned when my name was announced. I could not have asked for a bigger gift on my birthday.

How will you describe yourself as a person and as an actor?

It is too difficult for me to describe myself as a person but as an actor I am a complete workaholic. I will always do everything in capability and ability.

Is there any dream role that you will love to be part of?

I live for the moment. I don't dream, whenever I get a role I just live the role and feel the character.

The big buzz nowadays is the reality shows. Will you be part of any in the near future?

Right now, I am very much focused and concentrated on Kis Desh Mein. I don't want to take up anything.

Do you have your baliye in real life?

I have a baliye since a long time ago. I eat, live and do everything with her. My baliye is my career. At this moment, I am fully concentrating only on my career.

Prem and Heer are going thro a series of problems. Ardent viewers of Kis Desh Mein want to know when exactly they will be united... Can you throw some light on this...?

I can’t answer this question. I think my creative team can answer this question the best. We are working to do something different and our creative are always on their toes to make this show different.

Will you take up anything away from Balaji…?

No, I don't want to do anything apart from Kis Desh Mein. I was craving for this role and I am enjoying every bit of it now.

How good are you in singing and dancing? If given a chance, which kind of reality show will you pick…

I had never thought of doing a reality show. I am doing the serial and am very happy doing it. But then again, it depends on my mood, sometimes I feel like singing and I sing quite well. I was a bad dancer but I am getting better now.

Reporter and Author: Ranjini Nair

Your reaction

Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
Fail
Ekta Kapoor Thumbnail

Ekta Kapoor

Harshad Chopda Thumbnail

Harshad Chopda

A Desai Thumbnail

A Desai

Mamta poster

Mamta

Comments (49)

awesome interview!!
God bless you harshad!!!

11 years ago

Harshad Love You !!!!
God Bless you !!

12 years ago

he is reallly sweeet n nice n truthful. i think 99.5% girlz will agree dat he is the one wich for wich one will stop n think about. i think he will achieve successs in his life. i really like u but not as dat but just as a friend or bro.

14 years ago

well i think this boy has the attitude init and he will really be very successful as his kdmhmd is a superhit tv show on small screen hoping to see him in movies
best of luck for future
aishwarya gayen is really crazy about u

15 years ago

i love this guy,
ekta did a brill job picking him 4 da serial!
u rock!
x

15 years ago

hey harshad..
hru??
luv u yaar..
u r so cool, dashing n handsome..
luv u..
ur acting iz too gud as well..
u rockk a big tyme!!
bubye..

15 years ago

well....i was thinking the same afreen...., Aditi and Harshad have answered same in about every question....very well done...

15 years ago

wow!! duntcha thnk aditi nd his answers ver quite the similar in few questions...thats good..!:)
thankxx

15 years ago

Loved d interview.. loved his baliye answer!

15 years ago

hes soo sweet!! good luck to him!! :) im gld hes gna stay!!:) unlike most actrs !! they are all going!!:0 :(

15 years ago

Latest Stories