Hindi Movies

Election 2014: Star politicians who stole the show

The poll battle is over and many film celebrities like Hema Malini, Moon Moon Sen and Kirron Kher have emerged victorious to become members of parliament.

Published: Saturday,May 17, 2014 00:32 AM GMT-06:00
facebook twitter whatsapp

The poll battle is over and many film celebrities like have emerged victorious to become members of parliament.

"Dream Girl" Hema Malini, contesting on a Bharatiya Janata Party ticket from Uttar Pradesh's

Mathura, won eaily, while actress Kirron Kher, also BJP, emerged victorious from Chandigarh, defeating not only former railway minister Pawan Kumar Bansal of the Congress as well as actress-turned-politician Gul Panag of the Aam Aadmi Party.

The male BJP star politicians also made it.

Vinod Khanna retained Punjab's Gurdaspur while Shatrughan Sinha was re-elected from Patna Sahib and Paresh Rawal tasted victory on his maiden electoral foray, winning from Gujarat's Ahmedabad East.

Bhojpuri actor Manoj Tiwari, also a BJP candidate, won from Delhi North East constituency while Bollywood singer Babul Supriyo won from West Bengal's Asanol but music director Bappi Lahiri, contesting for the same party, was not as lucky in Sreerampore where he ended up third.

Some celeb politicians contesting as candidates of Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress in West Bengal also made to parliament.

Moon Moon Sen was elected from Bankura, matinee idiol Dev aka Deepak Adhikari from Ghatal, Satabdi Roy from Birbhum constituency, Sandhya Roy from Midnapore and Tapas Pal from Krishnanagar.

Popular Malayalam actor Innocent, an independent candidate supported by the Left, contested from Chalakudy in Kerala and won.

Another unlucky celebrity was southern star Ramya, who lost in Karnataka's Mandya to the Janata Dal-Secular candidate, despite being the sitting MP having won the seat in a by-election last year.

Bappi Lahiri Hema Malini Tapas Pal Kirron Kher Paresh Rawal Vinod Khanna Shatrughan Sinha Gul Panag Sandhya Roy Babul Supriyo Manoj Tiwari Mamata Banerjee Dream Girl 

Comments (1)

View all
up-open TOP